We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view of the Colosseum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colosseum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colosseum to your Saves list
Hotel Colosseum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sforza,n.10, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #224 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Trenton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing view of the Colosseum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for five nights. Our room was amazing we had a small room with a sofa type bed and a larger room with a double bed. We had a large balcony joining both rooms and an amazing view of part of the Colosseum. The train statiion and all major attractions other than the Vatican City were no more than a 20 minute walk. We took the metro, which is less than a five minute walt from the hotel to the Vatican. I believe the metro ride was less than 20 minutes and two metro tickets which you could use as many times in a day were approximately 10 Euro for both.

Breakfast was not bad needed some fresh fruit. The WIFI internet is excellent just ensure you do not install it on a portable device if you are planning on using a laptop. You are given one free access code which can only be used on one device so save it for your laptop.

The staff during the day did not seem as friendly as the night shift, however all staff members were polite and assisted.

There is a grocery store a few minutes from the hotel towards the main train station. There are lots of great restaurants in the area.

Note there were three rooms in our wing of the hotel and ours was the largest and the other two seemed very small, contact the hotel staff prior to booking to ensure you are going to get a large room.

Almost forgot about the roof top terrance. It is a beautiful sight during the day and in the evening you can bring your own drinks up or they will deliver them from the bar.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    301
    81
    23
    11
See reviews for
114
317
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Sum up:

Location: Good
Rooms: OK
Breakfast: Not that great...
Service: Grumpy

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed here 4 days in Feb. Place was in nice secluded street, handy for station and very central. Staff were ok but not helpful (seemed uninterested) breakfast was awful (worst coffee in the world). room was v clean and shower was good. Very quiet, apart from noisy guests returning late but that's not the hotels fault. Roof terrace view was wonderful, and lovely to sit up there with a drink (bring your own, there's no bar.) All in all a nice quiet place but don't expect luxury. PS if you want a great steak try the Argentinian steak house down town from hotel on via cavour, best food we eat in Rome !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

The hotel was great! Warm reception area. Friendly people. Not far from the Metro. The hotel is off the backside of the main street which makes it quiet and very enjoyable. There are two markets ( one across the street from the metro which is like a grocery store and one up the hill on the main street which is just a small market) and MANY restaurants to chose from. The breakfast is the same every day but, with that said, you don't have to eat the same thing. To drink they had water (gassed and tap), milk, coffees, hot chocolates, juices, milk, and teas. To eat they had cold cereals, different types of pastries, two types of yogurt, rolls, cold cheeses and meats. If you want oatmeal then slide a couple of packs in your bag since they have a hot water spout. If you are going to be sight seeing make sure you grab a couple of the Campiello Frollinos from the breakfast. They are sweet cookies and a nice pick me up while out and about! The rooms were simple but comfy. There was a tv, a nice built in closet and a (large for Europe) bathroom. There was internet in the hotel but you must get the sign in information from the front desk. They had the typical European beds... a little on the hard side but you get use to it! They cleaned every day and it felt very safe and like home. I could not have asked for more! Make sure you grab a bottle of vino from one of the two markets down the street and enjoy a night on the roof top terrace. It was an amazing time for our last night. ps- you can get free wifi from the roof :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Overall I am pleased about this hotel. It's easier to say what wasn't so good. The location was ok, in the very center, but a little bit on a sideway street. The breakfast was the same during 3 days, which was ok, because you could still vary. Else, everything was perfect: reception - helpfull, even before coming, clean (everyday the room was checked), quiet.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Booked through Expedia, no problem. When we arrived after a long Mediterranean cruise at about 11:00 a.m., our room wasn't ready. It happens, and I understand that. We had two heavy suitcases and no one even thought about helping us with them. We asked if we could store them and were pointed to the luggage storage room.

Got to the room, the "king" bed was two twins pushed together. Had paid for Internet access, but could only use one hour of battery on the laptop because they had no adaptor for the electricity. So we got maybe one hour of use out of the Internet with no offer to give us our money back because THEY didn't have the right adaptor (but maybe I should have known to bring my own, granted).

Went to check out the next morning, the man at the desk was very unhelpful. I asked if I could get a receipt, said I had to get it through Expedia, but said I had no additional charges. At 7:00 a.m., the wife could smell the coffee brewing and asked if she could have some, was told "no, not until 7:30. When I asked if he could call to cancel the prearranged cab I had set up, he said "I will dial it, but you have to talk to him." Fine.

We get in the cab and get several miles away from the hotel when the cab driver got a call. The operator told him that we had left without paying the hotel tax and that we had to turn around and bring them four Euros. We gave the money to the cab driver to take back. This was after we were told we had no additional charges.....? We were panicking, thinking we had left something important at the hotel.

We noticed SEVERAL nice hotels in that area and had friends staying at others. Theirs were MUCH better at comparable rates.

I am taking language and customs barriers into account when I write this review.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Nice little hotel, a little hard to find. Not on a major road, which was good as it was quiet. Parking is limited, luckily we didn;t need it. The rooms are adequate. A little small but bed was comfortable, bathroom was small, and the shower was okay. Complimentary breakfast was mostly cereals, bread, yogurt, cheese and sliced meats. It was okay. Wi-Fi is available at $15 Euros for 24 hours, it didn't always work in your room but did in the lobby/bar area. The rooms are a little pricey but no different from anywhere in Rome. What makes the place a good place to stay is it is within 10-15 walk of the train station and 10-15 walk to the Colosseum, Forum and Circus Maximus. Several interesting cafes in the neighborhood and several churches,including the church Peter in Chains. It is not the Ritz but a nice hotel, clean and within easy walking distance of several churches and the Colosseum.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colosseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colosseum

Address: Via Sforza,n.10, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#135 Family Hotel in Rome
#171 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colosseum 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colosseum, a magnificent terrace overlooking Rome... Welcome to Hotel Colosseum. You are in the characteristic Rione Monti, one of the oldest and most picturesque neighbourhoods of the "Eternal City", in the peaceful and quiet Via Sforza, at n°10. Thanks to our exclusive location, in the centre of Monumental Rome, you will have the opportunity to visit the main tourist attractions on foot. In the immediate vicinity of the hotel, you will find the Basilica of S. Maria Maggiore, the Colosseum and the Domus Aurea. Crossing Via Cavour will take you to Via Urbana. Called "Vicus Patricius" in antiquity, it is remembered above all for the visits, which tradition claims were made by St. Peter to the house of a Christian senator here. A short, scenic walk along the streets of Rome will also take you to the Imperial Fora and the Church of S. Pietro in Vincoli, which houses Michelangelo's famous statue of Moses. Hotel Colosseum is located at one of the highest points of Esquiline Hill and provides a 360° panoramic view of Rome and its surroundings from a splendid, furnished terrace on the eighth floor of the building, where the guests can enjoy the view while savouring a drink from our bar. All the rooms and common areas of the hotel have Wi-Fi coverage. An internet point is also available for use. At the reception, you can get information about all means of travelling through the city (taxi and bus services, car, scooter and bicycle rentals) and about guided tours. The stops of numerous city buses are a few meters from Hotel Colosseum and the "Cavour" (Line B) metro stop is about 3 minutes away on foot. The Termini railway station is 700 meters away. The hotel is situated in the historical centre of Rome, outside the limited traffic zone (ZTL); therefore, it is possible to get to us by car and park in the nearby partner garage. Otherwise, it is possible to book our fixed-price transfer and airport pick-up/drop-off service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Colosseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colosseum Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colosseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.