We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and superkind staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commodore Roma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commodore Roma to your Saves list
Hotel Commodore Roma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Torino, 1, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #661 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great location and superkind staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A nice 4star hotel with a great location just next to the magnificent Santa Maria Maggiore, and the Termini station. Very easy to reach all the main sights, either by Metro or by walking as i did.
My single room was very spacious and quiet during the nights. Comfy bed and very clean and nice in every way.
Only downside was the short shower curtain which lead to the water running out on the floor while showering. I also missed having a hand shower.
Breakfast a bit limited but okay.
I was happy as a singel traveller to get a nice room on the top floor.
All in all a nice experience with really kind, funny and helpful staff at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo B, Direttore generale at Hotel Commodore Roma, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience with the others travellers.

We are very grateful and happy for your awesome comment!

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again in Rome.

My warmest regards,
Angelo Battistini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    107
    72
    21
    20
See reviews for
43
80
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here in late June 2013. The hotel staff was very gracious, eagerly answering my questions, giving directions, and making my stay very pleasant. As other guests have mentioned the breakfast buffet was generous, the room was clean, and well appointed. I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel staff were very friendly and recommended good local restaurants and attractions. Breakfast was a filling continental, better than what we expected! Rooms although slightly dated, were clean and well maintained. Everything that you would need on a sight seeing stay over. Overall good value and service in a great location that has served us well!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

First of all the good points:

Most of the staff at reception are lovely, sweet and friendly except one really grumpy old man who usually works in the mornings.

Really close to termini station which is great if you want to take the fast train to other cities in Italy. I went to ta total of 5 cities around the country so it was a huge help for me.

All the main attractions are really close to you.

Some great restaurants and shops nearby - especially where the opera house is which is literally down the road from the hotel to the left - ask the reception people.

Now the bad points:

Breakfast wasn't great. The croissant was drenched in sweet syrup - way too sweet. The orange juice was from concentrate and it was horrible, had to go for either tea or water every morning. Overall not a 4* hotel standard.

The shower cubicle was terribly small! and the shower curtain keeps sticking to your behind as you try and clean yourself. The hair dryer doesn't dry your hair properly and after a while your hand starts burning where the handle is (plus there is no on and off switch - I had to keep unplugging and replugging which is not safe to say the least)

The wifi is NOT free and it is ridiculously expensive. I paid for 3 days and the network barely reached the first floor where my room was, so it was a total waste of money. Ridiculous! relied on my 3G instead.

In conclusion this hotel should definitely be classed a 3* hotel. I probably wouldn't have been so annoyed and bothered if they gave it the right rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very close to the Termini station, a little walk to the Colloseum, places to eat around, courteous staff... overall a great hotel. We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. The staff was great. They gave us a room with a view of the church, and a nice balcony. We had free wifi throughout our stay. The neighbourhood is pretty quiet, just the hotel is in a bylane close to the road, so little noise of the traffic, still which isnt too much. Very relaxing.
The manager at the front desk, who sits during the afternoon and evening time was very helpful, explaining you everything very properly. The breakfast was great. The rooms and the hotel was very clean an dtidy, though the room size was a little small, but it was just the 2 of us, so didn't really bother us.
We started our Italy trip with Rome and our stay here was a pleasant start to it. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: One with a view of the church. Isn't a very great view, but better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just got back from 4 nights here overall a decent experience!

The rooms are standard Italian size which to be fair was fine, beds comfy with a bathroom leading off the bedroom, the only let down here was the shower cubicle it was tiny so I struggled a bit but managed.

Yes it was a bit dated but you can,t have everything new, staff were helpful friendly and efficient.

Breakfast was really good usual fair these days but plenty of it!

Sleep quality for 2 nights was excellent then the downside the next 2 nights spent time trying to get one of the hotels workers to take her high heals off as she was clomping round late night early morning what a pain in the butt.......

Shame really overall £75.00 per night for 2 was good value..

Excellent little cafe / restaurant left out of hotel and first right 50 yards up great food and staff!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good location, good breakfasts, We were there in april and it was very warm, air conditionning on 1st June only, we had to keep windows open and it was very noisy, WiFI NOT FREE. Daily rate is expensive. Close to Termini Train Station, less than 10 minutes away. Staff ok. NOT a 4* Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commodore Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commodore Roma

Address: Via Torino, 1, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#264 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Commodore Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Commodore Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Roma Hotel
Commodore Roma Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commodore Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.