We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location & hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colosseum B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Colosseum B to your Saves list
Colosseum B
Via Capo D'Africa 59, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€110 (EUR)
Ranked #101 of 3,092 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fishers, IN
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Awesome location & hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

First, the Colosseum B&B is in a great location and the name is truly reflective of the fact that the Colosseum is just a few blocks away from the B&B. The surrounding neighborhood is great, there are nice restaurants, places for gelato, a grocery store, wine shop and local residences. The B&B itself was a very nice place to stay. The room was very spacious with a connected private bathroom. There was a flat screen satellite TV in our room and an easy to use safe. The owners, Daniella and Valter, provide coupons to use at one of two local places for breakfast, which are literally right around the corner. The B&B itself has a kitchen that is shared among the guests and it is stocked with coffee and cakes. Valter sat down with my wife and I at the kitchen table and chatted with us several times, making us feel right at home. Daniella was able to quickly arrange transportation from the central train station in Rome to the B&B due to a local transportation strike, which had she not done this for us, we would have been looking for a taxi for quite a while. We stayed four nights in Rome and each night my wife and I were thankful to be staying in such an amazing place close to the local attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    31
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
92
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was a truly amazing place to stay! We were welcomed warmly, the room was clean and pleasant and the availability of kitchen facilities was an added bonus. The hosts, Daniela and Valter, (and their son Francesco) were more than helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a really pleasant and memorable experience. (We also enjoyed having access to some tv programs that were in English.)
The location was fantastic. The Colosseum, Forum and Palatine Hill were literally a few minutes away as were the metro, trams and buses.There were numerous restaurants within a few minutes walk and the local supermarket was one block away. A coin-operated laundromat was an easy walk away (very handy for longer stays). This B&B offers great value for money and is in a very safe-feeling part of the city. We think we were very fortunate to have "discovered" such a great place to stay! We would love to return again some day. Adele and Steve June 2013

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My family of 4 (21 & 24 year old children) planned to be in Rome for a precious 2 days and wanted a place to stay that did not require cabs or buses to see the sights of Rome. We found the Colosseum B&B on Tripadvisor and booked it right away.

There was a mix up in the booking (my fault) but Daniella saved the day and allowed us to squeeze into her only room left. She fit a bunk bed in the room with the double bed and we were fine.

The B&B is an apartment on the first floor of a building just a few blocks away from the Colosseum. You can see the Colosseum when you walk out the front door. It is also around the corner from the Cathedral of St. Clemente. A MUST SEE when you are in Rome. They've excavated three levels of Roman life from more than 2000 years ago. It's amazing!

Anyway, Daniella was able to arrange a ride from the airport with Dario, who was waiting for us when we arrived in the evening. He brought us right to the B&B where Daniella was waiting to greet us. Her English is very good and she was able to give us some excellent suggestions for dinner.

The only thing I didn't love was the breakfast. If you pay for the Breakfast part of the B&B you get coupons to eat at a little establishment around the corner. We had just come from Ireland where breakfast is a very big deal. I guess it is not such a big deal in Rome. At this restaurant, you get a cup of Cappuccino, a glass of tang style OJ and a croissant of your choice. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't special. I would rather have eaten another pizza or pasta for breakfast. The food in Rome is Sooooooo good.

We walked everywhere from our B&B. We only took cabs when we were either in a rush or too tired to walk.
So if you are looking for a great place, in a great location, give Daniella and Valter a call.

Room Tip: I didn't get to see other rooms. Our room was at street level but I was never worried about my s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

That was a fantastic stay with Colosseo B. The owners Daniela and Valter did their best to make our stay incredibly warm and to make us feel at home! We were lucky to meet them and to stay in their b&b. I would highly recommend to stay here. The room is great, has everything you need: tv, safe, air conditioning. Much appreciated is the kitchen where you can have tea or coffee any moment you like. The location is perfect: 5 minute walk to the Colosseum, 10 minutes to the Metro. Plenty of good restaurants and pubs to visit around.
Helpful and responsive Daniela and Valter provided us with all the necessary information, pieces of advice and even more!
Would love to come back here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San gimignano
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed for four nights and were delighted with the extra help given by Daniela and Valter. The suggestions for attractions in the area ere excellent and well appreciated. The location was ideal for short walks to the Colosseum and longer walks to other attractions. The room was small but had everything we needed. The in room safe was an extra bonus

Room Tip: No wifi on room 3. Had to go to kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corlette, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Colosseum B&B had been recommended to us by friends because of the great location and great price. We weren't disappointed. We only spent one night there before flying home to Australia. It was a great location to see The Colosseum by night and by day which is what we intended for our last day in Italy. The assistance provided by Daniela was outstanding - she even brought her own scales in from home so we could weigh our luggage before we got onto our international flight. She even rang for the opening times of the Post Office in case we needed to post any excess luggage home. We really appreciated being able to make a cup of tea or coffee in the kitchen - there were even cakes there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at the Colosseum b&b for four nights and loved it. It is a great location for sightseeing - only a few minutes walk from the Colosseum, metro station and the palantine hill. Daniela emailed us to see if we wanted her to organize a pick up from airport. The room was large and very clean and it was nice having a kitchen to make tea and coffee. Don't miss st clementine church just around the corner where you can literally climb back in time underneath the church. There is also a supermarket just down the road and we took a picnic into the nearby gardens overlooking the colosseum

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colosseum B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colosseum B

Address: Via Capo D'Africa 59, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 3,092 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colosseum Bed & breakfast is located in one of the most beautiful parts of Rome, Colloseum is only a five minute walk away.We welcome you to enjoy a relaxing stay in our place, that's ideally situated near Basilica of SANTISSIMI QUATTRO and SAN CLEMENTE (1 minute), Imperial Forum, (10 minutes) Vatican Museums, Navona Square, Spanish Steps, Veneto Street, Trevi Fountain, and the most beautiful churches and museums are located all around.So your holiday begins upon your arrival and not a minute later!The Colosseum b&b is located in a quiet but central location on the ground floor of an ancient building with an independent entrance. Colosseum b&b has been offering guests comfortable beds and excellent accommodation for over 10 years.Sleeping in a Bed and Breakfast in this Historical city is a must to travelers wishing to stay overnight in a traditional Roman Guest House and in the morning enjoy a continental breakfast. Upon arrivalCheck in time is from 09:00 AM to 05.00PM. You are welcome to check in any time before 01.00PM, but if your room is not ready before 01:00PM then we can at least store your luggage for you. Check out time is 10:00AM and late check outs are €30 plus charge per room and you can stay until 03:00PM.During your check-in we will answer any questions you may have. We are always ready and willing to help you with your dining requirements, to arrange taxis, book theatre tickets ect...List of Facilities In your Room:Flat screen TVCable TVFree Wi-Fi InternetHair dryersNearest Underground• Line B, line A, a 5-minute walk.Overground stationCOLOSSEO (linea B); MANZONI (lineaA) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Colosseum B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colosseum Hotel Rome
Colosseum Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colosseum B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.