We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay near Roma termini” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Court to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marghera 51, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #293 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Portland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay near Roma termini”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Convenient location easy walk from the train station (Termini)..Just 2/3 blocks down
the street..Metro stop also right across from the train station ..easy to access...walking
distance also from hotel/train station to The Colosseum...Staff friendly especially nite
hostess named Ruby..Only drawback was when we checked in we found the hotel to
be overbooked but they put us up at another hotel just around the corner and they
did carry our luggage over and brought it back the next morning..Wi-fi worked great
out in their courtyard...would stay again for sure....
Thanks....

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalcourt19, Receptionist at Hotel Royal Court, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Greeting from Royal Court,

Thank you very much for your kind comment! It is always a pleasure for us to accommodate families like yours .
We are glad that you have selected our property for your break in Rome and to be part of your good memories of Italy.
Guest satisfaction is our first aim and there is nothing better than achieving that. We would love to have the pleasure to welcome you again and show more of our improvement.

Merry Christmas !!!

Best Regards
Ruby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    144
    55
    20
    10
See reviews for
62
144
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in Oct for a long weekend. The hotel is 5 mins walk from the main train station.

We travelled as a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 children (18 months and 6 months).

The hotel were very friendly and help wherever possible with the pushchair, extra requirements etc. As is with most hotels in Rome it seems, you are only allowed one cot in a room, this meant that one child had to sleep in the bed with us. This was not an ideal situation but the double bed was large enough to accommodate this.

The room was compact but ok for city break. Bathroom had a bath with shower over.

Breakfast was continental with eggs and bacon. Always seemed to be enough and was constantly being refreshed.

We preferred to walk around the city as with a double pushchair getting on and off public transport can be a hassle. It was fine to walk around, Rome is not a flat city though. We walked to Vatican city which took about 1,5 hours.

There are also plenty of local restaurants nearby, so we could eat at a different restaurant each night without having to walk more than 5 mins.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalcourt19, Receptionist at Hotel Royal Court, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Greeting from Royal Court,

Thank you for considering our property for your break in Rome! We have been delighted you enjoyed your stay with us .
Our guests' wellbeing is our main concern and receiving positive feedback like yours definitely warms our heart.

Grazie mille and we are all looking forward to welcome you back at the Eternal City very soon again.

Happy Holidays
Ruby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Conveniently located for the university. Clean with comfortable bed and good shower. Nice, friendly staff who all spoke English. Breakfast was okay but not much hot food on offer. I will definitely stay here again next time I am in Rome.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalcourt19, Receptionist at Hotel Royal Court, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Greetings from Royal Court,

on behalf of the whole team, thank you very much for the kind words spent on Tripadvisor! All of our staffs are selected with the aim of providing our guests the best possible experience.
please do come back soon! We will prepare another perfect stay for you

Happy Holidays

Ruby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights, arrived late afternoon. The guy at the desk sent us to Room 404.

This room, to me didn't seem part of the hotel. it was on the roof! A stand alone room built on the roof top. We had to get out the lift on the 3rd floor and walk up to the room, around 2-3 flight of stairs before we got to the roof, open and cold and had to walk round to our Room...did feel abit strange when we got in the room, and i shut the door, knowing on the other side it lead to an open roof top! weird concept.

Room was clean, and AC gave out hot air, which is what we needed considering it was cold in the evenings.

Shower didn't work properly, hot and cold, constantly. On check-out the lovely girl on reception told us that we should have said something....couldn't be bothered by this point!

Good points:

-4 min walk from the Termini station.
-Terravision bus stop to airport 3min walk from hotel.
-Alot of cafes and places to eat round there and in the station where you will find 3 McDonalds, if thats your thing!

Bad Points:

-No coffee/Tea facilities in room
-Room 404 - it would be nice during the summer but not when its cold and raining and having to walk outdoors to your room.
WIFI Connect very random and being on room, away from all other rooms so weak at times!

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the lower floor which is right next to reception. OR the roof top room 404 - un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel in Rome.

The location is very convenient for getting in and out of the city as it is right next to Rome Termini (train station). However, it is not a short walk from any of the main attractions with about a 20 minute walk to the colosseum and I wouldn't even consider the Vatican! The metro is very close by though, beware that the metro at Termini can be extremely busy - especially on a weekend!

The room was as expected as we booked the standard room. You get enough space in the room, a wardrobe, safe, mini fridge and good bathroom (with bath). Found the pillows a bit soft but not really a problem because we just collapsed after a full day of sightseeing.

The breakfast is plentiful with bacon and eggs, pastries and cakes, meat and cheeses and fruit to choose from. Some variation in choices would have been nice to keep us guessing but it kept us going until lunch!

The staff in general were fine, as others have said Ruby is a delight but some can seem a little less enthusiastic. The young man that serves breakfast is also great, always smiling and very attentive.

Overall quite satisfied with our stay at the Royal Court.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalcourt19, Receptionist at Hotel Royal Court, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for selecting our property for your recent stay in Rome! It is with great pleasure that we notice that your stay at the Hotel Royal Court met and overcame your expectations.
Please do come back soon! We will prepare another perfect stay for you .

Best Regards
Ruby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a lovely 4 night stay at the royal court hotel, myself and my partner wanted to visit Rome to explore and we found this Hotel suited us perfectly for what we needed. Only booked a standard room but was clean, comfy, traditionally decorated and had a nice big bathroom plus wardrobe space and a safe. The location was perfect for us being central and very close to the main station. The female on reception was very sweet and helpful and made us feel at home. We did not have breakfast as we felt it was overpriced for what we would have eaten but overall we enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to go again. Nice quiet hotel with lots nearby.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalcourt19, Receptionist at Hotel Royal Court, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us .
We are so glad that you have enjoyed your staying at Royal Court Hotel.
The whole staff is always more than happy to do everything possible to make our guests feeling “at home” when away from home.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Rome.
Warmest Regards
Ruby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Court Hotel for 4 nights from 30 October for a city break to explore the sites of Rome.

We found the hotel on the British Airways web page and checked Tripadvisor for comments, which were mostly positive.

We were given Room 316, which was at the back of the hotel, away from any traffic noise and overlooking the small courtyard, which we used one evening to have a glass of wine before dinner. Although it was the end of October we had 4 days superb weather with daytime temperatures around 22c but cooler in the evening.

The Royal Court is very close to the rail Termini; just a few minutes walk away. The Termini has lots of shops and we used a very good supermarket in the basement of the station to buy wine and water. The area around the hotel is quiet and we felt safe to walk around at all times. There are lots of good value restaurants nearby; we would recommend Mama Angela’s Kitchen, which I have already reviewed. One bonus here was that we could sit outside, as there were heaters to keep us warm; it was very busy after about 8.00pm so go earlier if you can or book in advance.

This restaurant (and others) was recommended by Ruby who is the very friendly and helpful receptionist at the hotel. She was only on duty for 2 of our 4 nights stay but it is clear from other reviews that Ruby is an excellent member of staff and a credit to the hotel. Her colleagues were equally friendly and efficient.

We were surprised to be told that we had to pay 6 euros per day per person tax at the hotel, obviously this applies to all hotel stays but we had to pay in cash. If we had known this in advance we would have taken more euros with us.

We had forgotten that we had paid for breakfast, which was excellent value with bacon and eggs plus all the usual things you expect in a continental breakfast. The breakfast room was small but relaxing and we think it could be used later in the day for drinks but no other meals are served in the hotel, which is very small.

Our bed was firm and comfortable, shower hot and powerful; the only slight criticism was the height of the mirrors in the room which were placed too high in our opinion, certainly too high for children.

We walked everywhere during our stay and it took only about 15 minutes to walk fro the hotel to the Forum and Coliseum.

When we return to Rome we will definitely consider staying at the Royal Court again.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalcourt19, Receptionist at Hotel Royal Court, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such an enthusiastic and warm review.
It is a real pleasure learning that our services met all your expectations. Our staff, our central location and our comfortable rooms are certainly key points for an unforgettable stay.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Rome

Kind regards,
Ruby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Court

Address: Via Marghera 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#201 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Court 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Royal Court is a charming boutique Hotel located in the city centre between Termini railway station and La Sapienza University. The location is strategic: from the main train station you can easily reach every tourist attraction and both airports with a train or a bus. Within walking distance you will find Via Nazionale, with its shops and the Exhibition Palace, the Coliseum and the Ruins of the Roman Forum, the Trevi Fountain. The service in the Hotel is attentive and dedicated; the Team is at entire disposal of the Guest starting from the reservation with suggestions, restaurant bookings and any kind of assistance. The Client at the Hotel Royal Court will enjoy a special familiar treatment, and will feel as at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgana Royal Court Rome
Hotel Morgana Royal Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.