We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mike and Jo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Court

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marghera 51, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #298 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mike and Jo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The room was plenty large enough, and the bed, though hard, was comfortable. En-suite quite satisfactory. Air con was very efficient. The hotel was clean and "quaint" in some ways. Position was central and near enough to the station Termini for walking with cases. Taxi not needed. Breakfast was extensive and plentiful. Dimitri the concierge was outstandingly helpful with recommendations for places to visit and gave superb advice on the local eateries. He made the holiday for us and we would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: 116 opened onto a pretty little courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    133
    51
    19
    10
See reviews for
59
132
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

The room was very well appointed, We were worried about the bed being hard but slept well. If I had a moan it was the lack of tea and coffee facility's but that's just my preference. The room was small and compacted but had a very nice bathroom and shower. TV had only English news channel but we were not in Rome to watch TV. Breakfast was fresh and well presented if your fussy about your eggs go down early. The choice on the buffet was very generous. The service throughout was faultless. For a city break two to three days perfect


Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in June and were pleasantly surprised with the facilities, staff friendliness and overall feeling of the hotel. We had room 404 which was a lone room on the very roof of the hotel. It had it's own little roof garden area with little lemon trees and although the views were not stunning, it was very serene.
The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the Termini train/bus station, which is very handy for getting to and from the airport, and also most guided tour buses have a stop here. It is within walking distance of Pantheon and Trevi fountain (about 20 minutes in the busy Rome heat).

Breakfast was a nice mix of fruit, pastries, juice and the usual European meat and cheese selection, with tea and coffee available on request.

The standard of the room was very good, a little rough around the edges in places, but perfectly clean and tidy.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome!

Room Tip: Room 404 is the roof room if you require a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is located in a quiet area, close to the main railway station(Termini). The rooms were nice and clean. The people in the reception was extremly helpfull and booked restaurants, taxis, stored our luggage and lent us a bathroom in the afternoon after we have checked out. I can warmly recorment this hotel.
B.R John H

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

i stayed for two nights. the room was big and clean. it is five to seven min walking distance from termini which is perfect because if its too close from termini it was loud.. if u want somewhere close from termini and quite royal court hotel is perfect for you!what i really loved about this hotel is beautiful small garden that makes me feel like i am really in Rome!! breakfast was also good and service was fantastic !! i really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed one night in the Royal Court on our way back to Ireland. It was very convenient in terms of proximity to Termini Station. Just a short walk! It was very nice not to have to take a cab after a long day of travel. We had two rooms and both were quite nice and clean. Beds were very comfortable. The highlight was Dimitri, the gentleman who worked the front desk. He was very welcoming and helpful! A wealth of info about where to go and what to see - and where to eat! He recommended an Italian place called Mamma Angela's, also a short walk away, that was wonderful! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I booked two rooms for one night through Hotwire for this hotel. We dragged our luggage from the train station in the heat to the hotel. We were then told to wait in another area while the group in front of us registered. When we were finally called to register we were told they could not accommodate our reservation. Although they had my e-mail address and telephone number they had made no attempt to contact me. We were moved to another hotel, which was not one I would have chosen. Somehow the group behind us were able to register. We were told it was because a guest with an illness couldn't be moved, but somehow the other guests were able to register. Do not trust this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimitris0, reception at Hotel Royal Court, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear madam,

I am very sorry that you were so disappointed.

I am not here to find excuses or whatsoever. The fact is that in every work (in our or in yours)
there are problems that we are called to find a solution. I think you do the same thing. The ideal would be a work without any problem.

In our case we had to resolve it as better as we could do. In fact we found a hotel in the vicinity (300 meters), a 4 STAR HOTEL as ours, WE PAID A TAXI to bring you there and in addition WE PAID BREAKFAST FOR ALL 4 OF YOU as a sign of trying to resolve the situation as better as we can.

Why we didn’t call you? When the problems are coming they don’t ask before if we have time.

Why you and not other guests? I think in our position you would make the same taking in consideration that you were only for one night.

I am sorry again for what happened.
Kind regards
Dimitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Court

Address: Via Marghera 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#181 Business Hotel in Rome
#200 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Court 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Royal Court is a charming boutique Hotel located in the city centre between Termini railway station and La Sapienza University. The location is strategic: from the main train station you can easily reach every tourist attraction and both airports with a train or a bus. Within walking distance you will find Via Nazionale, with its shops and the Exhibition Palace, the Coliseum and the Ruins of the Roman Forum, the Trevi Fountain. The service in the Hotel is attentive and dedicated; the Team is at entire disposal of the Guest starting from the reservation with suggestions, restaurant bookings and any kind of assistance. The Client at the Hotel Royal Court will enjoy a special familiar treatment, and will feel as at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Royal Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgana Royal Court Rome
Hotel Morgana Royal Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.