We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean nice quite good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal Court to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marghera 51, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #253 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
“clean nice quite good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

i stayed for two nights. the room was big and clean. it is five to seven min walking distance from termini which is perfect because if its too close from termini it was loud.. if u want somewhere close from termini and quite royal court hotel is perfect for you!what i really loved about this hotel is beautiful small garden that makes me feel like i am really in Rome!! breakfast was also good and service was fantastic !! i really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    137
    52
    19
    10
See reviews for
60
139
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed one night in the Royal Court on our way back to Ireland. It was very convenient in terms of proximity to Termini Station. Just a short walk! It was very nice not to have to take a cab after a long day of travel. We had two rooms and both were quite nice and clean. Beds were very comfortable. The highlight was Dimitri, the gentleman who worked the front desk. He was very welcoming and helpful! A wealth of info about where to go and what to see - and where to eat! He recommended an Italian place called Mamma Angela's, also a short walk away, that was wonderful! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I booked two rooms for one night through Hotwire for this hotel. We dragged our luggage from the train station in the heat to the hotel. We were then told to wait in another area while the group in front of us registered. When we were finally called to register we were told they could not accommodate our reservation. Although they had my e-mail address and telephone number they had made no attempt to contact me. We were moved to another hotel, which was not one I would have chosen. Somehow the group behind us were able to register. We were told it was because a guest with an illness couldn't be moved, but somehow the other guests were able to register. Do not trust this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimitris0, reception at Hotel Royal Court, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear madam,

I am very sorry that you were so disappointed.

I am not here to find excuses or whatsoever. The fact is that in every work (in our or in yours)
there are problems that we are called to find a solution. I think you do the same thing. The ideal would be a work without any problem.

In our case we had to resolve it as better as we could do. In fact we found a hotel in the vicinity (300 meters), a 4 STAR HOTEL as ours, WE PAID A TAXI to bring you there and in addition WE PAID BREAKFAST FOR ALL 4 OF YOU as a sign of trying to resolve the situation as better as we can.

Why we didn’t call you? When the problems are coming they don’t ask before if we have time.

Why you and not other guests? I think in our position you would make the same taking in consideration that you were only for one night.

I am sorry again for what happened.
Kind regards
Dimitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Booked this hotel via Hotwire as it was listed 4 star. Quite frankly Hotel is more like 3.5 star which for a short stay in my book is acceptable. Employees (Rene bell hop and Dimitri at front desk) were incredibly friendly and polite. The room itself had all I needed with a twin bed, nice size shower, safe and most of all had no carpeting which is a plus. Hotel also offers breakfast option which is pretty decent. Being of Italian descent a croissant, Cappuccino and glass of OJ are all I need in the morning. Hotel is situated near Termini Station in Castro Pretorio. Nevermind what you hear, area is safe so long your in your room by midnight which is pretty much the same in all large cities. Go eat at Mamma Angela Trattoria which is just around the corner for great Roman cuisine.

Room Tip: Stay on 1st or 2nd floor are both fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambuslang, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is ideally situated for travelling in and out as it is a short walk to Termini. The breakfast is decent and always well stocked. Coffee was tasty and very welcome. The rooms are clean and although firm, the beds are fine. The evening staff are delightful and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Reading the reviews, perhaps we were a little unlucky with our room allocation but as the hotel was, according to the staff, full we didn't see the point in causing a fuss for a 4 night stay…..

Good points:
Location - close to the Termini. We simply caught the train from the airport (14 Euros pp) and the hotel was a few mins walk down the road opposite one of the exits. Buses and metro depart regularly from the area and you can walk to centre in about 15/20 mins. Restaurants in the area not that great but we tended to stay out all day, eat elsewhere then return.

If you like to pop back to your hotel and change before dinner you might prefer to stay closer to the centre.

Breakfast - perfectly adequate for a few days stay and the coffee was good. Nice croissants with a sort of custard style filling - yum!

Staff - very helpful and friendly.

Not so good:
Room (116, ground floor overlooking small courtyard) - a quiet room but dated, bathroom like you would expect in a basic B&B back home (shower plopped in the corner, not great and a sink which sloped so you couldn't put anything on it like a took brush as it just slid into the sink), small cupboard in the bathroom smelt damp so I didn't put anything in it. Not much cupboard space and the wardrobe had an odd hanging arrangement but adequate for a short stay.

Beds are hard but I didn't find this too much of a problem.

It was clean but had an air of not being - if that makes sense!

Not a room I would want to spend time in but then we didn't intend to spend time in our room so it was fine for our needs.

All in all if you are looking for a budget hotel in a reasonable location then this is fine and it sound as though other rooms were better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Excellent hotel with friendly, welcoming and quietly efficient staff who were always available with useful advice if requested. Rooms are relatively spacious with all the facilities you'd expect at a 4* hotel. Extra bonus was we had a jacuzzi arrangement in the bath. Booked via Avios (UK)website and got a really good deal. Breakfast is substantial and what you need to set you up for a day braving the tourist hoardes in the city. Convenient for the Metro (Castro Pretorio, blue line), main line trains and the metro (red & blue) at Roma Termini , the main bus station and lots of local eateries. Not on a main thoroughfare so surrounding area is pretty quiet at night. Unusual feature is there is no wallpaper; all walls are covered in fabric and padded. Agree with comments about the bed and pillows but didn't detract in any way from the overall quality of the hotel. When we return to Rome, we'll stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Court

Address: Via Marghera 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#163 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#179 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Court 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Royal Court is a charming boutique Hotel located in the city centre between Termini railway station and La Sapienza University. The location is strategic: from the main train station you can easily reach every tourist attraction and both airports with a train or a bus. Within walking distance you will find Via Nazionale, with its shops and the Exhibition Palace, the Coliseum and the Ruins of the Roman Forum, the Trevi Fountain. The service in the Hotel is attentive and dedicated; the Team is at entire disposal of the Guest starting from the reservation with suggestions, restaurant bookings and any kind of assistance. The Client at the Hotel Royal Court will enjoy a special familiar treatment, and will feel as at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgana Royal Court Rome
Hotel Morgana Royal Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.