We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the Centre of Rome close to Termini” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Court to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marghera 51, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #293 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in the Centre of Rome close to Termini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Another Excellent-value-for-money Hotel..... Spacious Hotel rooms with the Theatre feel. Comfortable beds and fast internet. I have stayed in Rome quite a few times in 2012 and would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    144
    55
    20
    10
See reviews for
62
144
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Hotel Royal Court for 3 nights in early March, 2013. There were a number of positive features of the hotel - it is 2.5 blocks from Rome Termini station; it is relatively quiet; and the staff were attentive and helpful. However, this hotel does not match up to my expectations of a 4 star hotel. For example, the beds were excessively firm leaving me with low back pain at the end of my stay; the breakfast room is in the cellar and the breakfast can only be described as barely adequate (no frills to be found); the rooms are very small (there were approximately 3 feet on either side of a queen-sized bed and one foot at the end of the bed to traverse. In fact, the bathroom had the most room in which to turn although it could in no way be viewed as spacious. As I have no idea what constitutes a 4 star hotel in Rome I do not want to pass judgement, but the overall experience felt more like a 3 star. There are advantages and disadvantages of being near the main train station. The advantages are substantial: the Fumicino airport train leaves from Rome Termini; the Metro (subway) crosses at Rome Termini and is a useful method for traversing the city; and the high speed trains and many local trains leave from this station. The disadvantage is that the area around the train station has seen better days and although it did not feel unsafe for 2 males, I can imagine a young woman might feel differently. Overall this hotel met our needs for this short visit, but it is difficult to give it a robust recommendation.

Room Tip: Our room was on the east side and was generally quiet. Inquire about the dimensions of the room; our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked this hotel 3 days before arriving in Rome after our other hotel fell through. We wanted a hotel that was close to the terminal since we were only staying one night. Because of the conveinence of being close to the terminal, the location is somewhat seedy. There are a lot of interesting people that hang out near the terminal, so walking through them was colorful.
The hotel itself is great! Friendly staff and very nice rooms! You felt like you were staying in a true Rome hotel with cool artwork and decor. The bathrooms were wonderful and the shower was huge! There is free breakfast with the room, as well as Wi-Fi! We stayed on a Saturday and usually they do not serve breakfast in their breakfast room on Sunday. So instead, they gave us complimentary room service the next morning. They even brought us our food earlier than they usually do because we had a train to catch.
Overall, very accommodating. The location is a small inconvenience to the overall appeal of this hotel. Would stay again. At the beginning of our trip, we rented an apartment in Rome. After staying in this hotel for only one night, we would have reconsidered to stay in this hotel instead for 4 days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute deal for substantially less then what they claim their tariff is. It is an easy 5 minute walk from the Roma Termini station. We were given a twin room on the ground floor. Staff were friendly, and the hotel was well presented. Room was small but comfortable. Ok for someone who just wants somewhere to sleep the night and head out in the morning. Bathroom was well appointed with shower in bath setup as well as spa bath. Overall for the price we paid we were very happy with the result. If we had paid the full rate however I expect we would have been disappointed with what we got for our money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed one night before leaving next morning to the Port of Civitavecchia. The room was small and not very confortable to walk around there was table where you could sit down and work on your laptop however it too close to the bed. The bathroom was nice decorated. Took notice to the marble floors. Free internet in room which was nice. Breakfast was included in the price. It had scrambled eggs, ham, cheese, bread, cereal, orange and apple juice, coffee. The breakfast was good enough to get you started for the day. Knowing that I was to take a train to the Port of Civitavecchia I loaded up on the breakfast before leaving the hotel. If you need to buy something for the night there is Conrad supermarket on the lower level of Ternini where you can purchase snacks and refresments for the night. Depending on how long you stay take a unlocked phone and get a Pre-paid Sim card that come loaded with internet for free. I used TIM they are on the second floor. If you take the Metro hang on tight to your belonging and do become a victim just as it happen to me. My I-phone was snatch out of my pockets before I was even aware that it got taken. Luckily for me it was not my I-phone 5. I would visit Italy again I would probably not stay here again. I would try my luck elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed on the ground level -- three rooms for our party of eight travelers. It is an easy walk from the station, but far enough away to not have a lot of street noise. The rooms are classically decorated, but small. The bathrooms are nicely appointed.
We did not buy breakfast with our rooms, so I cannot comment on the breakfast buffet.

All in all, I think it was a good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We used Priceline to book a "4-star hotel" in central Rome, and ended up with the Royal Court, and the reviews weren't great. We walked to the hotel from the train station---3 blocks, and were pretty leery as the neighborhood looked a little rough. The lobby is very small with only a desk clerk who showed us to a small, pretty shabby room----naturally, the "last room" available. It wasn't even close to 4-star quality. It was late so we were stuck, but I remembered that one reviewer recommended Room 314, so I told the clerk we would stay if we were moved there the next day and if it were acceptable. We went sightseeing the next day and returned to find our stuff moved to 316. It was great, good bed, marble bath, window overlooking the courtyard. So, it all turned out well for the next 5 days---real easy access to the subway and trains and buses, several out of the way neighborhood cafes, and easy walking to many sites. The price was right (for Rome) at 120 euros per night, but the clerk said they usually charged much more. Anyway, we ended up liking it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Court

Address: Via Marghera 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#201 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Court 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Royal Court is a charming boutique Hotel located in the city centre between Termini railway station and La Sapienza University. The location is strategic: from the main train station you can easily reach every tourist attraction and both airports with a train or a bus. Within walking distance you will find Via Nazionale, with its shops and the Exhibition Palace, the Coliseum and the Ruins of the Roman Forum, the Trevi Fountain. The service in the Hotel is attentive and dedicated; the Team is at entire disposal of the Guest starting from the reservation with suggestions, restaurant bookings and any kind of assistance. The Client at the Hotel Royal Court will enjoy a special familiar treatment, and will feel as at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgana Royal Court Rome
Hotel Morgana Royal Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.