We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loacation (Near Vatican), service, breakfast, all great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mocenigo, 7, 00192 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #209 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Loacation (Near Vatican), service, breakfast, all great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

This is a very fine facility 2 blocks from the Vatican city walls and the Vatican museum entrance. Fairly quiet by Roman standards. Our 5th floor room was nicely decorated and supplied including balcony with table, chairs and a view of the dome of St. Peter's. In room safes were very helpful for stashing our passports and laptop. One adventure was our "attacking shower"- actually it was just unusual and surpised w all the different angles that water could come at you from. The hotel provides an excellent full HOT breakfast; the hostess was gracious and attentive. Staff was helpful all-around. TIP: We took a taxi from the Rome train station to the hotel (priced a couple of drivers, found one for 15 euros), however the subway 'metro' trains would have cost about 2 euros and taken us about 2 blocks from the hotel. Walking Rome appears very safe. We discovered that the metro subways close early (after 10pm) so we walked from the Pantheon back about 2 or 3 miles back to Vatican city in the dark, thankfully with a map. We had no trouble and had a great walk. TIP: The restaurants around the Pantheon are great. Our best dinner in Italy was in a cafe cluster 1 block from the Pantheon. We recommend avoiding the Mexican restaurant acoss the street - we know, we kmow, who would go for Mexicanfood in Rome,but it was late and was the only place we found open near the Hotel. See our pictures attached to get a feel for this highly recommended hotel.


  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    339
    89
    22
    18
See reviews for
295
218
48
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2006

BW Hotel Spring House in Rome is more than adequate for a nice stay without breaking the bank. The hotel is 2 blocks from the Vatican, appears to have just been remodeled, has air conditioning, a great buffet breakfast, courteous English-speaking staff. We stayed for 2 nights in late June and had no big problems there. It was easy to find from the AutoStrada (it's not walking distance from the train station) and there is metered parking on the street (1 euro per hour from 800-1900) and the hotel can make arrangements for other parking. Initially, we had a room where the AC was not working well. We talked to the reception desk and was switched to another room that was much cooler. We tried a restaurant recommended by the hotel (Cul de Sac) which was ok, but found a much better one near the Colesseum called Imperiali. The only drawback is a very small shower. It's a bit of a hike to other attractions such as Spanish Steps, Roman Forum, Palatine Hill, but the metro and bus are close by (just beware the metro closes at 2100) Overall a very pleasant stay, we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2006

We stayed in Rome for 3 night on May 27-30, 2006 the Best western Spring house. The hotel room was small which is typical for European hotels, but the rooms were extremilly clean. They put fresh white linens everyday. The staff in the front desk was great and very helpful. Even though, I spoke Italian thay were very nice and explained everything in English so my husband could understand as well. The hotel is literally 1 block away from the Vatican musem. The Metro and the bus are a 5 minute walk. The area is very quiet, and there are some very nice mom and pop type of restaurant that are cheaper then Via Veneto, but serve great food. This hotel was a great location if Vatican is in your priority list, especially since the lines to get into the Vatican are very long, and they start ealy in the morning. One great thing was that the hotel made a great hot breakfast. They also had great cappuccino and espresso but remember to ask the waitress fron them since the machine is inside their kitchen. I would definitelly recomand staying here. I had never been in a best western hotel, since we are normally Marriot or Swiss hotel type of people, but as I found out later, in Europe Best Western is considered as a Nice Category Hotel Chain. Rome is so large and there is so much walking involved due to sightseeing that I considered staying here since the room was the place when we crashed to sleep afrer each exchausting days. So great staff, very clean, great breakfast, and greatly priced for Rome. Have a great stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusseldorf
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2006

The Spring House is a very clean hotel with nice quad rooms for families. The location is very close to the Metro station and Vatican. Reasonable restaurants are nearby the hotel. We tried many of the restaurant listed in previous reviews of the hotel and all turned out to be great. The breakfast is minimal, but good enough to get you through the morning. Overall I would recommend this as a clean hotel with reasonable rates and good location.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House

Address: Via Mocenigo, 7, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#106 Family Hotel in Rome
#228 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location in the center of Rome, walking distance to the Vatican, Saint Peter's Basilica, Sistine Chapel and much more of historical Rome,international standard of quality and Italian hospitality are what make up an unforgettable stay in Rome. The Best Western Spring House's recently renewed and renovated style give you the ultimate "home away from home" experience, whether visiting for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.