We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mocenigo, 7, 00192 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #230 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed on april 8th for three nights. Thought for the price it would be not so nice. It was clean , yes clean, and the location is very close to the vatican. the room was small, by american standards, but nicely arranged and the lobby too. But i would recommend this place to everyone. the staff was great and the room clean, location, location. the free breakfast was good , too. We even tried the restaurant in the hotel, it was better than some of the places we ate in town and much more affordable. in all worth booking. we chose this hotel because the location to the vatican, which you need to get there early. Only a five minute walk. Will book again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review and for the compliments that we all have appreciated and we are pleased to read that you also enjoyed the hotel position being so close to the Vatican and Sistine Chapel.
It is a pleasure to read that you also liked our american bar and its service and cuisine.
Our aim is to transform a simple vacation into an unforgettable experience.
Thank you for referring that you would stay with us once again and you would recommend our hotel to your friends. We would be more than Happy to Welcome you again for your next trip to Rome.
Best Regads
Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    376
    93
    24
    20
See reviews for
322
236
48
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights, on my Rome / Vatican trip. I've chosen the Spring House mainly for its price (and the good reviews I've read).

The hotel was really good. Nothing fancy, but it was very clean, the room was normal-sized (not small, not big). The breakfast was quite good, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

It's very close to the Vatican (5 minutes walking from the Vatican museum), and there are lots of restaurants, cafes, markets, stores next to it, even though the hotel is in a very calm street.

There's also a metro station nearby (although I didn't use it - I walked a lot), and the taxi ride from the Coliseum to the hotel is around 10 euros.

If one is staying in Rome for the first time, maybe a hotel on the other side of the river is better (it's closer to all the main touristic places), but as my 2nd trip to Rome (which was mainly to visit the Vatican), the Spring House was a very nice find and I'd surely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comment.
We are glad to read you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel.
It really would be great to have another occasion to see you and we do hope it'll be very soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is small but charming. It is a wonderful location for visiting the Vatican. We were a few steps away from the entrance to the Vatican Museum. The staff is very friendly and accomodating to families. We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were small, especially the bathrooms and the street where the hotel is located is not the best looking, but we still enjoyed our stay at Spring House and would recommend it. It is also close to the metro station if you want to visit other parts of Rome.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, Thank you for taking some of you time to write a comment about your experience in our hotel.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the fact you found the room not big enough but just want to remind you that if you would noticed to the front desk staff, they certainly would have shown a bigger one.
We are also very pleased that our location close to Saint Peter basilica has been an important plus to make your vacation even more agreeable.
We really wish there will be soon a chance to see you again.
Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two nights in March a Saturday and Sunday which happened to be Palm Sunday. When we arrived early the front desk personnell was courteous and friendly. They offered to put our luggage in the storage room and even offered me a beverage. Until check in time which was later in the afternoon. Our room was for a party of 4. Two adults and two teenagers. It consisted of a queen bed and two twin beds. It was spacious, clean and modern. Truly a gem. I stayed in Room 105. When we arrived late night at the hotel on Saturday evening we decided to order from room service our dinner. Weordered several pasta dishes but my favorite that the cook made was pasta carbonara. The hotel is at a perfect location close to the Vatican Museum. You can see the walls of the Vatican from down the street of the hotel. You simply walk down the street, turn left , up the steps and there is the entrance to the Vatican Museum. Then you simply walk around the walls and you are entering the main street to the Vatican. So I was able to see Pope Francis for Palm Sunday. The breakfast is a real treat with a variety if items that include pastries, eggs, and bacon etc. The servers are also very pleasant and friendly. I would not hesitate on staying here again. The staff is the best and they will make you feel like part of the family. Thank you for a great stay on my first trip to Rome. I will definetely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your lovely review and complments.
We are glad that you appreciated and enjoyed our breakfast and its variety and our american bar and its service: Sergio and Benny will be glad to know that they are good cooks too: are pleased of delighting our guests with the best service offer in order to make their visit to Rome not just nice, but worth being remembered and repeated
Being so close to the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel makes the vacation even better. We are happy that you enjoyed our location too and you had the possibility to see Papa Francesco.
We are very very happy to read that we will be your choice again for your next trip to Rome.
Looking forward to Welcoming you again
Kind Regards and “ A presto”
Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvidTraveler57
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Planned our trip wanting to visit Rome, and lucky us, it was during the week of the Conclave. Absolutely fantastic location of a short walk to Vatican to be a part of the large crowd when the new Pope was introduced.

We reserved one of the two rooms that are set up similar to a townhouse, called a fashion room.

Pretty neat--the bed is in an open area on the second floor and with a switch, you can open the ceiling, similar to a sun roof in a car. Bathroom huge walk shower and hot tub with dark brown shiny tile. Had two televisions, a small leather sofa, walkin closet, and safe. Large area with huge tropical plants growing almost up to the ceiling.

The problem we had constantly was the internet would go in and out in the room. Very unreliable. Staff did their best to try to fix the issue.

Breakfast was a nice spread and all staff members we encountered were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your lovely review and for the compliments spent toward our hotel and the staff.
We are proud of our two Junior Suites called Fashion Rooms, especially 107 which is the winner in 2012 for the “most unique room” for Best Western Fan Award and you had the opportunity during you stay to enjoy it.
I am sorry to hear about the little issue with internet connection but as you wrote I am sure our staff tried their best to sort it out soon. Our staff commitment is a good reason of pride for us and all comments are important for us to focus on what services need improving
Warmest Regards,
Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is very good hotel. The staff is hospitable and helps in unusual situations. I wanted tp extend my stay and had to change the rooms - I didn't have to check-out at 11AM and then check-in again at 3 PM, but could change the room exactly at 11AM and everything was done. I've witnessed also couple of other people had different problems but staff was always ready to help, not lazy as in some other Rome hotels.

Rooms are clean although very tiny (standard in Rome). Showers are tiny as well but you can manage. Breakfast is rich and diversed (they serve special Sicilian cheese - delicious) although there is not enough space in dining room when there are many guests trying to have breakfast at the same time. Internet is working well (not usual in Rome) although you have to log in every time.

Hotel is very well located, very close to Vatican museum and 15 minutes walk from San Pietro. 5-7 mins walk in other direction, there is Cipro subway station so in fact center of Rome is reachable.

You have to be patient in term of elevator. It's small and very busy so if your room in on the lower level (1st & 2nd floor) it's better to take the stairs than wait.

Room Tip: If you're travelling as single, it's better to take double room for single use. Single rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your opinion with the all trip advisor community.
We are very happy to read that your experience with us was very positive.
Our staff is very attentive to all needs of our guests and ready to solve any problems and I am glad you did experience it directly and indirectly.
As you underlined, the location of our hotel close to the Vatican and metro station is ideal and makes sightseeing really easy.
If you we not completely satisfied with the room during your stay you could have asked the Front Desk staff to upgrade you, with a small difference and according to availability , in a double single use. Our Receptionists are always willing to help and make our guest happy
It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest and we do hope there will be another chance soon.
Kind Regards

Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was part of a team in Rome for the Conclave - we stayed here for five nights.

Disappointed when I was shown a room right next to the elevator, fearing noise, but the room was quieter than I anticipated. Like many hotels in Rome, the walls are thin and noisy neighbors can be an issue.

Room 116 was actually fairly large for a Rome hotel, and very very clean. The very small box shower worked well - hot water on demand.

The bed. Ugh. Easily the most uncomfortable hotel bed I've every encountered. But - there was a 'divan' in the corner that folded out into a single bed so I slept on that, and actually slept well.

Hotel breakfast was excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and in appreciation I bumped up my overall rating from three stars to four.

This hotel may seem a little off the beaten path, but I came to enjoy its location. It's near the via Candia shopping district, which caters to locals - and unlike some reviewers, I found plenty of decent restaurants nearby. There's a crazy pub up on via Andrea Doria that serves great bar food, and the tonier Cola di Rienzo shopping district is just a short stroll away. If you are traveling with kids, they might appreciate the Mexican restaurant across from the hotel. If not, a Subway, Burger King, and McDonalds are all located nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

is always a pleasure for us to meet the wishes of our guests so we are pleased that this happened with you. We are very happy to know that the room that we have assigned you was quite .
We always try to achieve this and one of the ways we can achieve is to have a choice in every field so we offer several products on the breakfast buffet, different types of rooms to choose from a choice of many different types of pillows. All with the aim of ensuring the best stay to every customer.
for this we are truly sorry to know only now that the bed was uncomfortable for you. All rooms are monitored periodically in all of their parts and we never noticed the discomfort of the beds nor does there has ever been reported by other guests saw the degree of acceptance that you can see in the comments.
It 'a huge disappointment for us not having met your problem because the' customer care is our daily work. During your stay you never complaint about noise, we would have been pleased to show other rooms.
We hope to welcome you again to have the possibility to show you our quality.
Kind regards,

Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House

Address: Via Mocenigo, 7, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#111 Family Hotel in Rome
#267 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location in the center of Rome, walking distance to the Vatican, Saint Peter's Basilica, Sistine Chapel and much more of historical Rome,international standard of quality and Italian hospitality are what make up an unforgettable stay in Rome. The Best Western Spring House's recently renewed and renovated style give you the ultimate "home away from home" experience, whether visiting for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.