We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mocenigo, 7, 00192 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #209 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in November, 2012. I picked this hotel because of its location which is very close to the Vatican. We had no issues during our stay. Check in was easy. Our room was on an upper floor with a balcony. Small view of the Vatican wall. Really the only problem, we had....was the small size of the shower. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was very nice buffet, with lots of variety. Coffee was also more to the liking of Americans. You could order any style of coffee. The front desk personnel were friendly and very helpful. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was tasty and quick. We didn't have a computer, so we can't comment on the wi-fi service. There are many nearby restaurants, so eating should be no problem. There is a small supermarket next door, which we used for bottled water and soda for the cruise. Our room included a small minibar, which was free. I had not encountered a free minibar at any other hotels that I have stayed. This was a really nice amenity. Getting back late or waking up during the night, there was always something cold to drink.
The location of this hotel, near the Vatican, is convenient for sightseeing all over Rome. There is a Metro stop, 3 blocks away. We also thought that the location was quiet at night, so one should not have problems sleeping at night.
But, the shower is small. For many people, this should not be a problem. Anyone who is on the thinner side will be ok. But heavier set people will not fit into the shower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    339
    89
    22
    18
See reviews for
295
218
48
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We reserved what we thought would be one room with two beds for ourselves, the two kids, and the baby, at a really great price. It turned out to be two really luxurious looking interconnecting rooms, very spacious for Europe, each with its own bathroom. The set up a little bed especially for the baby. We were very pleasantly surprised! The rooms have fridges with mini-bars too, with things in them at a very reasonable price. The breakfast was included, and it was great. We all slept really soundly here; it's quiet and the beds are comfy. There is even a pillow menu. The location is fabulous, just a 5 minute walk to the Vatican and to the metro, which allows easy access to such sites as the Colosseum. There are many restaurants, boutiques, and convenience stores within blocks. It was cold outside, and the hotel is always nice and cozy. The staff is wonderful; always polite and helpful. We would definitely return here if we come to Rome again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very helpful staff, and good cleanliness.

My colleague double room was very large, but my single one quite small but priced adequately. The wireless is free but you have login true the hotel homepage which can be a little bit annoying.

It really was a smooth stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for telling us your experience in our Hotel.
It 's very important for us to get feedback because it helps us to focus on our strengths and our weaknesses and to understand if our efforts were successful. I understand that with you our goals have been reached.
I'm sorry to hear that for you the room was not big enough. The reception is open 24 hours for all your needs. If you have notified, we would have given you a larger room of different type.not always all type of rooms are available but whenever there are it is always a pleasure for us to do a small upgrade.
We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was really surprised with Hotel Spring House. Very nice and friendly staff, good clean room and perfect location....only 2 minutes from Vatican museum.
There was a problem with the bed, it consists of two parts that are driving around in different directions :-))) because of the small wheels underneath. But I believe that I was just unlucky with the bed. Everything else was great especially if you consider that this is a three-star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
let me thank you for choosing us!
We are very happy for your positive comment. Certainly our position, close to the Vatican and ten minutes from the city center will permit you to not lose the beauty of a city rich in history as Rome.
Your appreciation to the staff so attentive to all the needs of our guests makes us very happy. We never lose the opportunity to wish our guests an happy birthday with a small gift. Our job is to transform a simple vacation into an unforgettable experience and it's good for us to know that we have made you happy on the day of your birthday. We hope to be your choice in your next visit to Rome!

Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachse, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked this hotel for a Pre-Cruise stay in Rome November of 2012. We stayed three nights at the Hotel Spring House and found it to be comfortable, convenient, and the staff went above and beyond to cater to our every need. Our standard room was very clean and we had plenty of room (compared to many European hotels). Breakfast was included and they had a varied selection of cereals, pasteries, eggs, meats & cheeses, etc. The breakfast was very fresh every morning and the staff in the breakfast room was friendly and accomodating. The hotel is located a very short walk from the entrance to the Vatican Museum (different entrance from the main entrance to Vatican City), and also close to the Metro stop. The front desk staff was exceptional (helped us to contact our transportation company when we had some trouble getting in touch with them) and so friendly. They are eager to help reccomend a place to eat, help with directions, or just have a casual conversation. Very nice! Don't be afraid to try the little "restaraunt" in the hotel if you are tired from a long day's journey. Our friends enjoyed a delicious meal here, and we had a snack here as well, thankful we could grab a quick bite before getting some rest. Two bottles of water in the mini-bar fridge are included at no additional charge. Great location and value. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travelers on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate very much your approval.
As you underlined the location of our hotel close to Vatican Museums and Cipro Metro station is ideal and makes sightseeing even easier and enjoyable.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that our staff made it pleasant: delighted to note that you found exceptional and friendly.

Waiting for your return in our property
Best Regards
Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The staff at this hotel really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and care for our needs and wants. The rooms were a good size and very clean. The bathroom was smaller and the standup shower may be a tight fit for a larger person. No air conditioning but the open windows provided a gentle breeze at night. We were treated each morning to a wonderful array of fresh breakfast foods. The dining room staff were so pleasant and polite.
The hotel is conveniently located near many restaurants and shopping opportunities. A large market containing a wide variety of foods, wine and other items is just around the corner. It is also a short walk to the Vatican. A walk of about half an hour will get you to attractions such as the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain.
The front desk clerk was more than friendly and helpful. He went above and beyond the call of duty!!! We felt like we knew him as a friend. If ever in Rome, this is a perfect place to stay. We will definitely book there when we return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing the Best Western Hotel Spring House.
we appreciate the fact that you write this kind review on Tripadvisor for us sharing your experience also with the other customers.
we are glad that you enjoy your stay in our hotel and that our staff make it be pleasant.
we try to make fill our guest at home striving to make it be an unforgettable stay; is part of our character our friendliness, hospitality . The smile makes the day more pleasant and makes you feel at home and reading this review we are sure that with our efforts centered our objectives.
Undoubtedly be a hotel near the Vatican to enable our guests do not miss one of the most beautiful attractions of our city: St. Peter Basilica and the Vatican Museum with the Sistine Chappel and I hope that you have enjoyed it. Moreover all became more comfortable in our area with the presence of numerous restaurants, shops,supermarket and pharmacies that meet every need.

We want to thank you again for this positive post and we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I chose this hotel on the basis of its location (right next to the Vatican), the excellent Tripadvisor reviews & the reasonable price. The location really is good if you want be in the vatican area. There are loads of shops nearby, good restaurants & it is about 10 mins walk to a Metro station. The hotel is basic with no frills which is what you would expect of a Best Western. We had one of the split level rooms which was very nice. The bathroom was excellent with a massive bath tub. A friend who came with us had a room with a double bed & an en suite that was adequate in every way. The staff are excellent & were very helpful with everything we needed. The breakfast is fine with something for everybody & we set ourselves up for a day's tramping each day on the bacon & eggs!! The Tripadvisor reviews I read highly recommended a local restaurant called La Rusticha which was just round the corner about 10 mins easy walk. We went there 3 times & it was excellent & very reasonable in cost. What we saw was that a lot of locals particularly family groups used it which has to be a good sign. The food was great & the staff were brilliant, so helpful. Loads of other restaurants close by but none better than this.
I have no criticisms as the hotel was exactly what we expected. Read up your Tripadvisor reviews & don't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

we appreciate the fact that you write this kind review on Tripadvisor for us sharing your experience also with the other customers.We are glad that you enjoy your stay in our hotel and that our staff make it be pleasant.we try to make fill our guest at home striving to make it be an unforgettable stay.
The goal of our work, each one in its role, is turn a stay in the “eternal city” into an unforgettable time and a desire come true; for that reason we are very proud to know that with you our goal was reached.Kindness and professionalism of our staff combined with good products used are elements on which we work to improve our quality and make it every day better.
I'm glad you had the opportunity to get an upgrade in the Junior Suite room.
Undoubtedly be a hotel near the Vatican to enable our guests do not miss one of the most beautiful attractions of our city: St. Peter Basilica and the Vatican Museum with the Sistine Chappel and I hope that you have enjoyed it.Moreover the proximity to the metro line has allowed you to reach the hystorical city center in a few minutes and a lot of very good and cheeper restaurant, a lot of shop pharmacies etc. around our hotel make this area very served.

Hoping to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House

Address: Via Mocenigo, 7, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#106 Family Hotel in Rome
#228 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location in the center of Rome, walking distance to the Vatican, Saint Peter's Basilica, Sistine Chapel and much more of historical Rome,international standard of quality and Italian hospitality are what make up an unforgettable stay in Rome. The Best Western Spring House's recently renewed and renovated style give you the ultimate "home away from home" experience, whether visiting for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Spring House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.