We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spa, Wonderful People, Service beyond the call” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #310 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Spa, Wonderful People, Service beyond the call”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I went to this Hotel on my 3rd business visit to Rome and was extremely impressed with this hotel, its installations, surroundings and most of all, the service beyond the call.

Besides of having a superb SPA with indoor heated pool, sauna, cold pool and steam room, the Hotel has an outdoor pool for Summer and there is nothing that your body will thank you more than having a run, walk or afternoon stride on the incredible park near the Hotel where there are some rest of the VIA APPIA.

During my visit, I left my phone on the Hotel after continuing my trip in Europe, for this have expressed my personal and sincere gratitude for all the support, honesty and call to service beyond the regular that all the personnel in the Front Desk and Concierge office of the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter´s had to ensure that I received my phone back in Miami.

Beyond the honesty of all the persons involved, the incredible dedication to service for the guests needs to be recognized.

I have travelled a lot and have stayed in many, many hotels, but what the personnel of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Rome St. Peter´s did, is a wonderful and well received surprise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear itoydani,

Thank you very much for you review in which you drew our attention about your experience during your recent stay.

I’m very glad to learn that you had a good stay in our hotel and learn your appreciation about our wonderful staff and service.

I have shared your comment with my whole team (especially Front Desk & Concierge) as you have mentioned their excellent service. We are very much grateful for your compliments!

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our excellent service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

With Best regards
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    729
    310
    120
    37
See reviews for
505
625
63
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed in this hotel for an overnight stay in Rome prior to a cruise. Hotel itself was okay, but was ill-equipped to handle large number of guests at one time. This is a hotel used by cruise lines for pre-cruise stays. We spent so much time getting into the city by the hotel shuttle which dropped us off at a random location in Rome. The shuttle operated only 3 hours and was not complimentary. Would not stay at this hotel again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Sondra44,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's.

Regarding the location, as you mentioned, I would like to underline that the Hotel offers a regular courtesy bus (1,50€ one way, 3€ return), greatly appreciated from all our guest staying with us. The bus runs on a regular basis to St. Peter's Basilica in the morning (9-10-11-12) and to the heart of the city center (Trastevere) in the afternoon (16-17-19-20-21, from November to February not at 20-21) and evening. Moreover 2 different public busses are available just at the doorstep of the hotel (only at 1,5 euro cost to reach downtown which is only 3 km far from our Hotel), or reach the nearest metro station and in 20 minutes discover all the main attractions in the heart of Rome. In addition Taxis are always readily available (taxi stand on site in our car park) and cost only 12 euros to get in to the city center.

Allow me to put on record that our hotel is an urban resort featuring facilities that of course you won’t be able to find in a more central location such as gardens, 25m length swimming pool, pool bar, Spa, tennis courts, large comfortable bedrooms and extensive free parking facilities.

Once again we apologize if your stay did not live up to expectations and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Crowne Plaza in the future and to restore your faith in the hotel and us.

Kind regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just returned from a four day trip to Rome and after my partner booked us in here and reading the reviews I was slightly nervous. How wrong I was , where as it may not be the most modern hotel the staff more than made our stay great, it was a very busy place but all of the staff had time for us. The bar, restaurant and breakfast restaurant had good menus , and the staff were so helpful , going out of their way to make sure we were looked after. The restaurant manager and all of his staff had a great way of making us welcome , the cocktail bar manager had us entertained and the spa was very accommodating , well done all at Crowne Plaza St Peters !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Gavin E,

Thank you for your review and to have chosen for Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

I am delighted to read such a gleaming report of our staff and service.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

I have passed on your kind words to all the team here at the hotel and I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our excellent service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

With Best regards
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton,ga
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed for two days after a cruise. Staff was good, but most of hotel is badly dated and in need of substantial upgrade. Looks like something from the early 1970's, and had the dimmest hallways we have ever experienced. Would not stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear LovetoeatCanton_ga,

Thank you for your review and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

We are glad to learn your appreciation about our staff.

We are very sorry to read that you missed completely to mention the last renovation and refurbishment in a new contemporary style of the lobby, reception, restaurant, relaxing area and the bar.

Once again we apologize if your stay did not live up to expectations and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Crowne Plaza in the future and to restore your faith in the hotel and us.

Kind regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Far from the core, showing it's age, this hotel caters to large groups of packaged cruise lines and conferences. Wifi is expensive, slow and spotty. Food was repetitive and poorly executed. Room was clean, fairly large, but again had a tired shabbiness about the furnishings - broken drapes and lamp shades, mini-bar was never quite cold. Plumbing squealed. Hotel shuttles to city were infrequent, but public bus is available outside the front gate for transit to the subway. A large park borders the hotel to the east making for a green park-like setting. Reception staff were helpful, but restaurant servers were brisk and somewhat callus. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are quieter and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Paul W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's.

First and foremost, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize to you for any inconvenience occurred while being our guest.

I have forwarded your comments to our Restaurant Manager, Housekeeping, Engineering. I know they share our vision of providing the best guest experience possible, and am confident they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services.

We very much regret that the Duty Manager was not informed at the time, as he would have made every effort to solve all points you raised.

Once again we apologize if your stay did not live up to expectations and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Crowne Plaza in the future and to restore your faith in the hotel and us.

Kind regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The room was huge and had two comfortable beds in it with plenty of pillows. There was an ashtray, but the room did not have a smoked-in smell to it. There was a small balcony with a couple of seats that was a pleasant spot to sit, though my view on the front of the hotel was only overlooking an often overcrowded parking lot.

The bathroom had plenty of counter space to spread out in. Some of the fixtures around the bathroom were showing their age and looked very warn but otherwise worked OK. The toilet though took a bit of luck and effort to clear since I had to pump its button a half dozen times to (hopefully) get one usable flush.

The paid WiFi in the room was inoperable for a number of hours during my stay here, but unfortunately it went down only after I had already purchased access. It worked fine outside of the outage.

It's not a very well-located property. The narrow road it is on does have small sidewalks but it's very walled-in and not a type of area that encourages walking in my opinion. I've read the comments from the General Manager of the hotel which indicate there are some stores and restaurants nearby the hotel; I love exploring on foot, but the neighborhood I observed on the ride in did not have any pleasant character to it which invited me to go out and walk around. Hopefully you're visiting this hotel on a bus tour that will chauffeur you closer to the city, or yes, you can take the hotel shuttle, a public bus, or a taxi to some place in Rome that you'd actually want to walk around in.

The hotel restaurant was OK, and a bit of a necessity given I had determined exploration on foot from the hotel was out of my comfort zone. The bar area was very pleasant in the evening with tunes from a piano filling it and the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear ElJay001,

Thank you for your review and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s.

We appreciate the fact that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you loved our huge room, restaurant and bar.

We are sorry to read the problem encountered with the WI-FI. We have discussed the points you have raised with our Engineering. We know they share our vision of providing the best guest experience possible, and we are confident they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services and they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconvenience will not be repeated in the future

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

With kind regards,
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We booked this hotel for our visit for a family of 4 during October school holidays, children 8 & 6. The weather was sunny all week around 25 degrees. We arrived to find the outdoor pool closed and the indoor pool not accessible to under 16s “under any circumstances”. We wanted a base to explore the city and relax round the pool.

The traffic outside the hotel was relentless with narrow pavements. We found the buses were very good which arrived every 5 minutes. We found a park with rides for kids, bouncy castles etc at Via Dei Capasso in Bravetta which was a 5 minute bus ride, also ZaZa restaurant next door.

There is a public park with swings at the top of Via de Torre Rossa which we visited every time we headed to Cornelia Metro.

The hotel itself was good, clean, friendly and helpful staff, just nothing for the kids to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Cranny_on_Tour,

thank you very much for your feedback, in which you drew our attention to your experience
at the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's.

We are happy to learn that you found our hotel good, clean with friendly and helpful staff.

I do wish to address one specific point made which concerns the use of the indoor pool. The reason why children under 16 years of age are not permitted in the indoor pool, is because this pool forms part of the relaxing environment of the Roman spa, where visitors are able to relax and de-stress in the tranquil and quiet setting. Anyway, I can ensure you children are here more than welcomed. The hotel provides family rooms, outside kids pool (open from May to September), playground, restaurant with kids menu. Information including operation, restrictions are clearly and fully stated on our and any other reservation websites. We heartily recommend our guests to read it carefully to avoid unpleasant surprises!

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza St. Peter’s.

Kind regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Rome
#122 Business Hotel in Rome
#144 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#228 Family Hotel in Rome
#239 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the relaxing Crowne Plaza Rome-St Peter's hotel, home to a luxurious spa minutes from Rome's historic city centre. Treat yourself to an in-room dining experience at Crowne Plaza Rome-St Peter's & relax on your balcony overlooking the hotel's outdoor pool, tennis courts or gardens. Come to the St Peter's Spa to let off steam in our sauna & Turkish baths, or rest on the loungers around our heated indoor pool. For the tranquility of the spa guests, access is granted to 16 & above only. Crowne Plaza Rome-St Peter's is only 20 minutes' drive from Fiumicino Airport. Check out the timetable of our scheduled airport shuttle which will allow you to easily reach the hotel at a very special price. Use our scheduled shuttle bus to/from the city centre to discover the beauties of the Eternal City. (Eur 1.50 per person each way). The Vatican's incomparable St Peter's Basilica & Michelangelo's dramatic Renaissance ceiling at the Sistine Chapel are both 3km away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout the hotel, allowing you to stay in touch with friends, family & colleagues at any time. Hold your meetings in one of our 13 naturally lit meeting rooms able to host up to 600 delegates. Our chef's pasta at the Papillon Restaurant brings a taste of traditional Italy to the hotel's modern interior & you can sip drinks to the sound of a live piano every night in the Lumiere bar.Unravel your mind during a stay worth celebrating at Crowne Plaza Rome-St Peter's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza St Peters

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.