We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good hotel. Elevators were a pain.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #290 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Good hotel. Elevators were a pain.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is a bit off the city center. There is a public bus stop in front of the hotel, which will bring you to the subway station in about 10 minutes.
The hotel proposes a shuttle which leaves the hotel on regular basis and brings you to the Vatican before noon and further in the city in the afternoon.
During my stay, there was a parking at the hotel which seems not crowded (april) and the barriers remained open, making me feel it was free. In front of the hotel, there were some taxis too.

The room was clean, not very big but all the comfort was there. A safe and fridge (minibar) in the closet. The WIFI worked good but was not free of charge (30min free). I think i paid something like 25€ for a week. The bathroom was clean but too small, don't think about being two inside. The ceiling was damaged, not very professional. The walls of the room were a bit thin so if some people talk in the corridor, you will hear it. Some of my colleagues wanted to open the window during the night since the air conditionning was not working, they told me there was a kind of noisy compressor which was making too much noise.

The breakfast was very good. You have the choice between continental (so called Viennoiseries) and the full breakfast (eggs, sausages, cheese, bread etc). The lunches were presented as buffet and were very good/tasty.

The bar was not crowded and not very affordable i have to admit. There was a pianist every night, competent one.

The pool was big and clean. There was a "corridor" reserved for those who wanted to swim instead of floating in the sun.

The first day of my stay, one elevator was out of service. The third day, it was repaired but the two other elevators were out of service. It was very long to get an elevator.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear loulou_be,

Thank you very much for your review, in which you drew our attention to your experience while guest at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's.

We are glad to know that you found our hotel very good, with clean room, very good breakfast, big and clean pool. As you mentioned in the review the parking is free to all our guests.

On the other hand we apologize for the problem encountered with elevators during your stay. We can assure that we try to do our utmost to recover immediately any inconvenience with the lifts as we know the importance. We apologize once again if in this occasion the reparation was longer than expected.

Regarding the ceiling damaged, we have discussed the points you have raised with our Chief Engineering and as a result they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconvenience will not be repeated in the future and they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services.

Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and I hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

With Best Regards, Davide Grilli – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    686
    292
    112
    33
See reviews for
479
585
63
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
poole
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Sayed here early April 2013 and found it to be a lovely hotel on a par with Hilton hotels in the UK. The rooms were spotlessly clean with tea, coffee etc. Plenty of room,flat screen tv, balcony (overlooking pool and gardens), small but nice bathroom, hairdryer, iron facilities, excellent room service and helpful staff. Breakfast was also excellent, juices, good choice of coffee, tea and hot chocolate, hot buffet, hams and cheeses, pastries, cereals, cakes etc.

Try to arrange sightseeing to tie in to the shuttle bus as it is brilliant, latest bus back to hotel was 9.15 pm when we were there. Driver pointed varios sights out to us. However the metro was only 15 minute walk away, beware that it shut at 8.00pm one of the evenings that we used it! Taxi from Termini to hotel cost 24 euros.

Wifi is free for priority club members otherwise they only give you a 30 minute log on for the duration of your stay and the cost for more than that was very expensive. The spa was lovely.

Only fault was a mix up with the receptionist over some celebratory wine, never mind! All in all an excellent visit.

Room Tip: ask for a garden view room and become a priority club member for wifi facilities Use the shuttle bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear awishes,

Thank you for your review of Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

It was a real pleasure to read that you found our hotel good, with spotlessly rooms, excellent breakfast, helpful staff (I apologize for the mix up with the receptionist), lovely spa.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

Best regards, Davide Grilli - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

After a 9-day tour of historic Rome and the Amalfi coast, and staying in European-style 4-star hotels, it was refreshing to have a night in something so comfortable and familiar. Big, very comfortable queen-size beds with six (6!!) pillows, easy chair, safe, balcony (looking at the garden and parking lot - not as nice as the ocean, but still. . . ). Very clean, REAL hairdryers (as opposed to the 900-watt versions in the other hotels), quiet. Great bar and bartender - it was our last night with a tour group of 40, and most of us showed up at the bar for a farewell drink. Fabio, the bartender, was indeed fabulous. I'm sure it's a hotel more for business travelers, but you could see the dome of St. Peter's from the entry, and it was a very nice hotel in which to end our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Linda W,

Thank you for your wonderful review and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter at the end of your trip in Italy!

I am delighted to read such a gleaming report about our Hotel, staff and facilities.

I have shared your review with my whole team. We are very much grateful for your compliments!

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome, very soon hopefully.

With best regards,
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

hotel located at downtown,quite and nice place, shuttle service is useful and free, hotel stuff polite and helpfull, rooms are clean,large and confortable. garden side rooms are absolutely quite, and of the the day u can have a cup of italian coffee at your balcony with very nice garden view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear egitimgezer,

Thank you for leaving your positive feedback following your recent stay with us at The Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s.

We are glad to learn that you found our hotel nice, quiet, clean, with large and comfortable room, staff polite.

Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and I hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

With best regards
Davide Grilli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is about a 10 minute bus ride from the Vatican/ St Peter's square etc. For us, this was ideal as we wanted to experience the hustle and bustle of Rome with all its amazing sights, but at the same time wanted a nice quiet place to rest and sleep. There is a shuttle bus that takes hotel guests to the Vatican city and returns to collect you later in the day/ evening. We decided to eat dinner in Rome and catch a public bus back as there is a bus stop right outside the hotel. Only 1.5 euro for the trip from the centre of Rome back to the hotel and great to experience real Rome. Felt safe all the time.

Hotel staff were more than helpful, the breakfast was plentiful with hot food as well as continental. Rooms clean and spacious.

The pool looked lovely, but as we were there over Easter it was a little cool to be swimming outside!

Would definitely stay again as this was an ideal mix for us of quietness yet convenience to Rome sights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool - as these are quiet as away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear PrincessJaz,

Thank you for your review of Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

I am delighted to read your satisfaction about our location, staff , breakfast, cleanliness.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter's.

With best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 3 nights.
The location is a little bit out of town but you could use the shuttle bus or public transport. We caught a taxi back from central Roma twice. Average cost about 15 euros
The buffet breakfast was rather good on Italian standards but not like in major hotels in other countries.
Nice lobby and entry and smooth check in and check out.
We had a double room with two double beds. Room was decent size. Bathroom clean etc
The hotel only gets 3 out of 5 for the following reasons:
Only two bath towels when there was four people
On of the bathroom fixtures fell off the wall when u used it
The toilet wouldn't flush properly
On one day we returned from sightseeing at 4pm and the room hadn't been made up
No free wifi and 1.50 charge for shuttle bus
Room service and restaurant prices are prohibitively expensive
One of the three lifts wash working.

Never a five star to start with, gets a point loss for the small inconveniences mentioned above.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Mark D,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay!

We are glad to learn that you overall found our Hotel not bad and first of all we wish to apologize for the small inconveniences occurred while being our guests.

We have discussed the points you raised with our Executive Housekeeping and Engineering and as a result we are confident they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconvenience will not be repeated in the future and they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services.

Regarding prices, allow me to put on record that they are comparable with to all the Restaurants in Rome and Continental Europe.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

Best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

First impressions of the hotel was ok, nice drive way leading to the entrance, the lobby and bar area is fresh and modern. We arrived around 11:00 and was looking forward to dumping our bags and heading out to explore Rome. As check in was 10:00 onwards we believed this wouldn't be an issue. Unfortunately our room wasn't ready and we were told to wait. An hour passed and I approached the reception to chase our room. The receptionist that dealt with me before was no longer there and I had to enquire again with someone different. Again I was told it would be ready shortly and to wait. By 12:45 I was at the desk again. They made a phone call and our room was ready to use.
The room was modern and clean but unfortunately the air vent in the bathroom was extremely dirty and hanging off it was thick dust.
The TV in the room had a £23 a night charge if you wanted to watch English tv or films. Obviously we didn't pay this and were stuck with on English speaking news channel. This wasn't a major issue as the real reason we were there was to explore Rome. Unfortunately the hotel is no where near the centre and you have no other choice but to use the shuttle bus or public transport.
Would definitely come back to Rome but not to this hotel. Reasonable price but awful service and location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear KeyboardWarrior2013,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay!

We are very sorry to read that your stay was not as positive as the ones of other guests who reported their comments on this site, especially with cleanliness of the bathroom (we will discussed the point with the Housekeeping) and the staff that judging by the many glowing reviews is always very helpful and efficient.

We try to do our best to assign the rooms upon arrival despite to our policy (check-in 3pm/check out 12pm) and even if we are fully booked the night before it is our aim to give assistance with luggage to the new guests arriving and allocate the room reserved as soon as we can.

The cost of € 23,00 is referred to the movie on demand special offer, which includes a big variety of films. In alternative, with our Premium Offer we have one channel with no stop English movies for free and other channels available in different languages.

Regarding the location, allow me to put on record that getting to the touristic area of Rome is very easy with the hotel’s shuttle bus (1,5€ per person each way), greatly appreciated from all our guests. The bus runs on a regular basis to St. Peter's Basilica in the morning and to the heart of the city center (Trastevere or Venice square) in the afternoon and evening. Moreover 2 different public busses are available just at the doorstep of the hotel (only at 1,5 euro cost to reach downtown which is only 5 km far from our Hotel), or reach the nearest metro station and in 20 minutes discover all the main attractions of Rome. This is the cheapest way to explore Rome. Taxi station onsite is also available and fares are reasonable.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

With kind regards, Davide Grilli – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Rome
#102 Business Hotel in Rome
#124 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#214 Family Hotel in Rome
#228 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the relaxing Crowne Plaza Rome-St Peter's hotel, home to a luxurious spa minutes from Rome's historic city centre. Treat yourself to an in-room dining experience at Crowne Plaza Rome-St Peter's & relax on your balcony overlooking the hotel's outdoor pool, tennis courts or gardens. Come to the St Peter's Spa to let off steam in our sauna & Turkish baths, or rest on the loungers around our heated indoor pool. For the tranquility of the spa guests, access is granted to 16 & above only. Crowne Plaza Rome-St Peter's is only 20 minutes' drive from Fiumicino Airport. Check out the timetable of our scheduled airport shuttle which will allow you to easily reach the hotel at a very special price. Use our scheduled shuttle bus to/from the city centre to discover the beauties of the Eternal City. (Eur 1.50 per person each way). The Vatican's incomparable St Peter's Basilica & Michelangelo's dramatic Renaissance ceiling at the Sistine Chapel are both 3km away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout the hotel, allowing you to stay in touch with friends, family & colleagues at any time. Hold your meetings in one of our 13 naturally lit meeting rooms able to host up to 600 delegates. Our chef's pasta at the Papillon Restaurant brings a taste of traditional Italy to the hotel's modern interior & you can sip drinks to the sound of a live piano every night in the Lumiere bar.Unravel your mind during a stay worth celebrating at Crowne Plaza Rome-St Peter's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza St Peters

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.