We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #266 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We picked this hotel as it had a good reputation and was located a little way from the centre - we thought it would be quieter. Very easy access vai the bus services and a Eur 1.5 bus fare get you anywhere you may want to go. The hotel also operate a shuttle bus which we also found useful. The room was very nice and overlooked the tennis courts. In fact we got upgraded when we arrived so that was most welcome. The room was clean and tidy with a very nice bathroom. The spa was very welcome after a hard days walking round the sites. One thing about this hotel is the staff wherever we went nothing was too much trouble and we were always treated kindly and efficiently. Nothing was too much trouble. There was a very good restaurant within 50m of the main entrance which we used on two occasions. To be visited again when we go back to Rome.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the tennis courts. We had room 472
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Familylark,

Thank you for taking the time to write such great feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted that we met your expectations and will choose to stay with us again in the near future.

I have passed on your kind words to the team here.

With best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    575
    571
    254
    96
    28
See reviews for
384
497
58
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were with a tour group and stayed at this hotel our first night in Italy. The airlines had lost my wifes luggage and the hotel staff was very helpful in trying to get it recovered before our group left Rome for Tuscany. Room was clean and well appointed with all the ammenities that you expect when staying at a Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Rushmidwest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us!

I’m very glad to know that you found our staff very helpful, the room clean and well appointed.

I have shared your comment with my whole team as you have mentioned their excellent service. We are very much grateful for your compliments!

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome, very soon hopefully.

Best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've stayed in the hotel for 5 nights from 13th Oct. 2012. The reception is good, the room is not so big as other Crowne Plaza in China but it's acceptable. It's very interesting that the decoration is Chinese style. The bathroom is a little bit old. The room is very quiet and we can have a perfect sleep. It's really important for travelers. The breakfast is excellent. Veronica, the break staff, is very nice and always has smile. Her service is perfect. I wish to be back to Roma and I'll stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Richard W,

Thank you very much for positive feedback and for your nice review!

I'm very glad to know that you had a perfect sleep at the Crowne Plaza St. Peter’s.

I was pleased that you liked the service we provided you with (especially Veronica) and I have passed on your kind words.

t is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter's.

Best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Four of us were stuck in Rome when Hurricane Sandy hit the East coast. We managed to get reservations at the Crown Plaza. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the lobby's were comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful and the attached restaurant offered excellent meals; though the buffet was much too pricey. We had to move for one night to an awful place across the street, where there wasn't any internet or restaurant service. The Crown staff gave us internet access and let us take the shuttle to the airport and to the city. Big kudos to the Crown Plaza in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Jeanne H,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations.

I was pleased that you liked the service we provided you with and I have passed on your kind words to my fantastic team.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Davide Grilli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The location is more than an easy walk to central Rome or even to St Peter's (4.5 Kms to cross the Tevere; taxi €10) but we knew that and there is an hourly (or so) friendly driver hotel shuttle bus and a public bus stops outside the hotel with buses upto midnight. So strolling at night out of the hotel is not appropriate but a few restaurants are a short bus or a 12 minute (900m) walk away.

The cheapest way to arrive from Fiumicino is to San Pietro train station changing at Trastevere. Then a short walk for the 881 bus from San Pietro station to outside the Crowne plaza hotel

The free parking would make the hotel excellent for those on a tour with a coach or car hire. or for before and after a cruise as the Civitavecchia to Rome train stops at San Pietro station.

I used the excellent and large Sauna and Turkish steam bath. The indoor swimming pool looked good.

The restaurant (including breakfast) was expensive - understandable because of the location and captive tour market.

Free wifi worked well.

So excellent hotel but 3.5 km from St Peter's. The name would have been misleading in the days before Google maps. At a stretch "Crowne Plaza Vatican" would be more accurate.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor / quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear wedwardes,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s and for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay!

We are glad to know that you found our Hotel excellent and convenient.

Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location, connections and our facilities.

Regarding prices in our restaurant, as you already mentioned, allow me to put on record that they are comparable to all the Restaurant in Rome of the same level.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome, very soon hopefully.

With best regards
Davide Grilli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Crown Plaza St Peters has rooms that are quite large especially by Italian standards. Its biggest negative aspect is its location as there are practically no nearby amenities-stores or restaurants. A 3-5 minute taxi ride though will take you to the local community. The biggest positive aspect of this hotel is its location set in beautifully landscaped grounds, a bucolic retreat from the noise and crowding and pushing of the mobs of people at the principal tourist sights of Rome. Take refuge in a comfortable, quiet room. Enjoy the outdoor swimming pool in a beautiful formal type garden landscape. Enjoy the beautiful indoor pool and first class spa complex. The Breakfast Buffet is very nice with lots of selections. The Hotel's Restaurant was acceptable with prices that are a little high but comparable to many hotel restaurants. Its outdoor area was pleasant. The front desk staff is quite helpful when they are not pressured by other guests checking in or out. For the tourist the Hotel has a terrific fleet of buses and minivans. There are scheduled trips to and from St. Peters during the day and to the Trastevere area in the afternoon and evening for a 1 Euro charge(less costly than even the public transportation.) Likewise the Hotel has transfers to Fiumicino and Civitavecchia at comparably the best rates you can get anywhere. Transfers from the airport and Port to the Hotel should be arranged at least a few days before directly with the Hotel as their schedule may vary due to supply and demand.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool and gardens. The rooms have a nice size balcony too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear drjeffh,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s.

We are glad to know that you found the room large and quiet, the spa complex first class, breakfast buffet very nice with lots of selections.

Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location, connections and our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome, very soon hopefully.

With best regards
Davide Grilli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We arrived at night time, the check in was very fast and the receptionist was so kind. After 30 min of the arriving, I called the spa to take some info about it, the receptionist in the SPA wasn't polit enough. So, the SPA was not that much wow. The stem room was under the mintenons. Then I was back to the room to take a shawer. The shawer handle was broken, so it was not easy to have a smooth shawer on that day.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Khadim1,

Thank you for your review of Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s! It was a real pleasure to read that you found our hotel good and the price good as well.

On the other hand we are terribly sorry to learn your problems experienced with shower and attitude with the receptionist in the Spa.

We can imagine you disappointment and we therefore apologize for any inconvenience encountered.

We have discussed the points with our Chief Engineering and Spa Manager and as a result we are confident they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconvenience will not be repeated in the future and they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter's.

With kind regards and renewed excuses.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza Rome
Crowne Plaza St Peters
Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#128 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#132 Business Hotel in Rome
#205 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Crowne Plaza Rome-St Peter s hotel and experience the new look of our rooms recently awarded as the best IHG refurbishment in 2008. Located in a residential area on Via Aurelia Antica, walking distance from the luxurious parks of Villa Pamphili and Villa Carpegna, the hotel is just a short ride from the Vatican City. After conducting business in Rome or a tiring tour of the eternal city, relax at our St Peter s Spa offering complimentary indoor heated pool, sauna, Turkish bath, gym along with a wide range of treatments for your wellness. During summer take advantage of our complimentary 25m length outdoor pool and enjoy the great weather of Rome on our comfortable deckchairs while sipping one of the many delicious cocktails on offer at the Pool Bar. If you feel like hitting the town make use of the scheduled free courtesy bus which will take you straight to the heart of the city in just a quick hop. Don t go home without trying our excellent and mouth watering Italian cuisine available in our restaurant Osteria open all day. For your meetings Crowne Plaza Rome-St Peter s hotel boasts a modern conference centre with natural daylight and free parking facilities. No matter how far from home or office you are, WiFi and wired highspeed internet connection will always allow you to be just a click away from your world at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Venere, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.