We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location + American Style Bathrooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonna Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Colonna Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Colonna Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza di Monte Citorio, 12, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #645 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location Location Location + American Style Bathrooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

This was my third stay at the Colona Palace Hotel. Depending on the time of year, it can be a bit pricey but well worth it if you are of the - you get what you pay for mind set. The location can't be beat. Very close to the Pantheon, and a couple of blocks from Spanish Steps.

Hotel staff is great. The rooms are nicer than the typical European rooms. The bathrooms seem to be recently remodled and were as close to an American bathroom as I've seen in Europe. Full bath/shower, etc.

This was stay number three, and I am sure there will be a fourth. I have recommended this hotel to many others. During the peak season, it was cost prohibitive for some. In the off season (when I go) it was comparable to other similar hotels.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    184
    95
    33
    25
See reviews for
99
169
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I stayed at the Colonna Palace Hotel for four nights in mid October 2010 with a girl friend. This was our last hotel on a 3 week trip to Italy. The location of the hotel cannot be beat, just a couple blocks from the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and within walking distance to the Spanish Steps, the Vatican and the Colosseum. Our room on the 4th floor was a decent size with nice furnishings, modern bathroom of good size, a fridge in the room. It was a little warm and it was heat season, not AC, so they brought us a fan and we opened the window for some fresh air. We were on the alley side of the building, so we did hear some street noise with the window open, but hey, we were in the middle of Rome and knew what to expect. We were so tired at the end of the day, we fell right asleep. One of the best features of the hotel is the roof top terrace where breakfast is served. We loved being there, and went up in the evenings to drink a bottle of wine as the sun set. A very lovely way to end a day! Breakfast was good, with a good selection of meats, cheese, breads, cakes, cereal, fruit and even scrambled eggs. Great coffee and good service too. The weekday front desk guy and bell men were great and very helpful. The weekend front desk guy was not as fluent in English, and less helpuful. Overall it was a wonderful stay in a good hotel in a great location. A little pricey, but it is Rome afterall (like staying in Times Square, NY)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

If you want a cetnrally based location so you can walk to all the major attractions and areas in Rome, this takes some beating. It is slightly disconcerting to have to run the gauntlet of police and secret service armed officers whenever the parliament is sitting to get into and out of the hotel but it's quite fun. The hotel itself is a bit dowdy and old fashioned but clean and the staff are polite. The roof terrace is lovely - fabulous views over the rooftops of the city with a small jacuzzi and comfy seating. The bedrooms and bathrooms are adequate but a good size. The breakfasts need improvement. Very boring with mostly bread and no real fresh fruit or cooked dishes

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

The Colonna Palace is a good hotel in many ways but could do with a few improvements for Business travellers.
If you are travelling for leisure this is a very well appointed hotel in a fantastic central location. European star ratings are generous, the Colonna Palace is a four star. If you compare this to a North American rating it will only get 3 stars. The rooms are small ish, it is Rome however so I wouldn't expect large rooms. The bathrooms are fine but lack touches such as a decent range of toiletries. Also absent is the ever popular bathrobe although you will get slippers. TV has very little English language programming but they do have BBC world. Phew. You will also notice that there is no iron avaliable. Not such a issue if you are on holiday but for working trips its annoying.
Wifi is available in the room for €7 per day. I begrudge paying for wifi but €7 isn't as bad as I've paid elsewhere.
Breakfast is taken on the roof with some nice views. Typically continental breakfast which is fine. Coffee is excellent as you'd expect.
There is a small bar downstairs. V.limited.
There is no other restaurant facility and no room service at all in the hotel. I know the Italian would be appalled if you didn't want to go out to eat but if you just got in from some long haul flight the thought of a shower and some food before crashing out is great - particularly if you are on your own.
One big down side is access. I was travelling on business and had some bulky luggage. As access to the square is limited my taxi dropped me on the del corsa so i had to struggle up the square to get to the hotel with my bags. As a leisure traveller this probably wouldn't be an issue.
The hotel is really well placed for seeing all that Rome has to offer. 2 mins from the parthanon and near to many other attractions. The hotel staff are helpful and will give you many good restaurant tips away from the many over priced tourist areas.

Room Tip: Ask for restaurant tips from staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for four nights. It was excellent! The staff was very friendly, they speak english very well, and helpfull. The room was good, spacious and clean. Towels were replaces every day and even the sheets were changed daily! Breakfast was good and is served on the roofterras. Superb!! The view over Rome is fantastic. The location off this hotel is perfect: next to the Italian Parlement (so there's police every day and when you're lucky a demonstration (we were)!! It is a three minute walk to the Pantheon, Trevi is about 8 minutes, Vatican, Villa Borghese, Colosseum: we walked everywhere.
So this is the perfect place to be!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Colonna Palace for 5 nights, our room faced the square.
We arrived early and were given our room right away which we were very grateful for after a very long flight.
Our room was very clean, although the furnishing was not brand new it was very nice, remember you are staying in the center of an ancient city.
The location was perfect for us as we were able to walk to every major site, we do enjoy walking to see the city not just the tourist sites. Having said that, there is plenty of public transportation if you prefer.
Breakfast was great, more than enough options to please most tastes, and a wonderful view of the city from the rooftop garden.
I e-mailed in advance of our arrival to arrange transportation from the airport and was helped by a lovely young woman, Sara Pedone, we had the pleasure of meeting her on our second day there. She was a pleasure, very friendly, polite and extremely helpful, thank you Sara for everything.
As to the no restaurants nearby we had no trouble finding many wonderful places to eat, most do open late, so you may have to adjust your eating habits.
One bit of advice most streets do not go straight through, lots of turns, so bring a compass and a good map, our GPS did not work well on the narrow roads.
Do not start a diet, the food, the pastries and the gelato are not to be missed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

The hotel location was excellent - right across the plaza from the Parliament building and walking distance to all of the ancient attractions of Rome as well as great restaurants and shopping nearby. The rooms were mediocre - small and dated. The bed was very uncomfortable and the mattress old, which made sleeping difficult (and I can usually sleep anywhere). WiFi was expensive (around $10/day). Breakfast was a highlight, though, with wonderful food served buffet style on the rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza di Monte Citorio, 12, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#247 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonna Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Colonna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Palace Rome
Colonna Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel Colonna Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonna Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.