We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rome in 4 days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amalia Hotel to your Saves list
Amalia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Germanico 66, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #315 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“rome in 4 days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. Just 2 blocks from the Vatician Museum and approx. 4 blocks from St Peter's Basilica. The hotel is on a tree-lined street very picturesque. The Metro is 2 blocks away. Close to good local restaurants & shops. We stayed in the family room on the fifth floor. The 2 rooms were large and very clean. The beds(king & double) are very comfortable and the A/C was set at the right temp. Bathroom was modern with tile floors and updated faucets and a rainwater shower head that felt wonderful after walking all day.The front desk was very helpful and helped us with transportation options and tours. You can also buy water and other cold beverages at the front desk for 1 euro. Great price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.
We hope to accommodate you again.
A big hello from Rome.
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Leonardo & Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    150
    40
    21
    13
See reviews for
83
129
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We keep coming back to the Amalia. Our family has stayed there three times now. Amalia is close to the Vatican and next to a Metro station. The neighborhood is excellent; the location could not be better. The staff is friendly. Amalia is not a luxury hotel, but the rooms are comfortable and very clean. It's a home away from home. I really wish I could give the breakfast a thumbs up, but that wouldn't be fair. Since you can have a cheap breakfast at a number places in the vicinity, this is not really a problem. Despite the breakfast, Amalia is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
It 'been a pleasure to have hosted again and to know that the hotel Amalia Vatican is the preferred hotel of your family when you come to Rome
Yours sincerely
Hotel Amalia Vatican
Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is on a nice street by the metro, vatican, and st peter's. It's still walkable to attractions on the other side of the river (spanish steps, trevi fountain, pantheon). The room had good AC and a good price. The bed was the only full size bed we got on our trip to Italy! The bathroom was my only complaint. The shower was old and didn't feel clean and was extremely small. I'm only 5' 3" and I could not turn around in it (although we had this experience in Tuscany as well). If you are going to the Vatican, I'd rec putting in for the Scavi tour underneath St Peter's. You need to request a reservation a few months ahead.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
Best regards
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is located in nice and safe area. Metro, super market, restaurants, shops, everything by the hotel. Takes about 5-10 minutses to San Pietro Basilica and Vatican Museum. The hotel staff is always helpful and friendly. The room itself is big enough to relax and quiet even the location by the busy street. Definitely come back here when I visit Rome again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We are very happy that you had a good stay at the hotel Amalia Vaticano and you were able to relax.
Yes Sir, the surroundings of Hotel Amalia Vaticano are really really beautiful, full of shops and entertainment venues. As the winery, which is located a few steps from the Hotel Amalia Vaticano (ask at reception) where in addition to buying wines you can taste a good glass of Italian wine along with good cheese, Italian, of course.
Sincerely
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

As with many European hotels, this is a no frills place. Not to say it's not nice, but you just can't expect the 4 star quality of US hotels. The room was nice and clean, and it was pretty quiet the entire time we were there. The location was unbeatable -- it was 2 blocks from the metro strop, 2 blocks from the Vatican museums, and very close to many good food and gelato spots. I chose this hotel since I knew the area was safer and more quiet than staying in the city center. There was always someone downstairs in the office to answer questions or help with internet access. The only comment I would have is that the showers were slightly small by US standards, which wasn't an issue for me since I'm 5'0" and small. However, my husband who is 5'11" and medium built had a harder time finding room to move around in the shower. We got the normal room, so if you are a bigger person, you may want to take that into account.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I was very pleased to read your review which highlighted the safety of the area around the Hotel Amalia Vaticano, this is due to its proximity to the state of the Vatican, in fact there is a greater deployment of police forces compared to other neighborhoods of Rome.
Of course, this does not exempt from paying attention during the night and when you walk by yourself.
Thank you and we hope to welcome you again.
Yours sincerely
Hotel Amalia Vatican
Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night after a flight cancellation forced us to quickly find alternative accommodation. After our arrival, the reception staff seemed somewhat confused and disorganised but after a minute were able to find us on their system, provided us with the wifi internet code and gave us our key. We were told to go up to the 5th floor to our room. Once we reached the 5th floor, we buzzed in (the building was also used for private apartments) and entered our room.

My initial impressions were that the room was spacious and clean, although very dated. It looked like it was last decorated circa 1993. It was in dire need of modernising. The system where the key needs to be inserted into an electric point to power the room was new to me and this together with the lack of toilet roll in the room required me to call the manager up to the room for assistance. He was prompt and helpful.

The wifi was free for 3 hours, provided you only wanted to have one machine connect to it. After that it was at a fee. This wasn't as advertised. I think for 160EUR a night, they could at least provide free global wifi. Ditto the 'free breakfast', which was actually 5EUR each. A little dishonest as this was advertised as inclusive of the bill online.

The double was actually two single beds pushed together, and neither were particularly comfortable. The TV had a multitude of Italian channels, but nothing international at all. Again, a little poor when most of the hotel's clientèle is surely from abroad.

Overall, this was not an unpleasant experience, just a dated hotel that could really do with a shot in the arm. With some money spent on it, it could be a lot better. Great location for anything Vatican-related. Management were helpful but they should look at what they advertise and try to honour it. Unfortunately, I wouldn't recommend this place. We were fortunate to find anywhere, and I guess at the eleventh hour, you take what you can get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRome, Direttore at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, it is important for us to know how our guests feel in.
Let me clarify few things.
“The wifi was free for 3 hours, provided you only wanted to have one machine connect to it. After that it was at a fee “, if you see on booking.com website :“WiFi is available in all areas and charges are applicable “, we gave you a free access for 3 hours, after this, if you need more time, you pay as reported in the room.
About international tv channels, there are a lot of channels, including international channels: CNN, BBC, AB CHANNEL, ZDF, GLOBO TV, ARTÈ, LA 5. We are sorry that you didn’t find them, but we were at your disposal to help you at any call.
The breakfast, the reservation was with breakfast included, in fact upon check out, nobody asked you a breakfast surcharge . Also, there is an offer without breakfast, if you like to have a breakfast in Hotel, the surcharge is euro 5,00/person/day.
We hope our explanation would have satisfied to you and we really hope to see you again .
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

As they say, "When in Rome...", and I do...stay here! Love this little gem...love the little elevator and the proximity to everything. Can't beat the price, the location, and the quaintness. It's as close to the Vatican as everyone says, and great shopping close by. Make sure to eat at L'Isola Della Pizza which is one street over...ask the front desk for directions. It's my favorite restaurant in the world!

Room Tip: Bigger rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel Amalia Vatican and its surroundings,
in addition to the famous tourist attractions also made up of small restaurants, shops and bars. A district that is predominantly tourist in the morning, in the afternoon instead is populated by locals who are dedicated to the purchase in the many shops, while the evening crowd the outdoor tables of the many restaurants in the area to enjoy local specialties and drinking the wine of the Castelli Romani.

Best regards
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: Via Germanico 66, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#233 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Amalia Vaticano, situated in a late 19th century "Palazzo" is only few steps from the Vatican, the Sistine Chapel an the metro station " Ottaviano S.Pietro. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, LCD TV. Telephone, hair-dryer, safe, air-confitionig.Wifi free for Superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.