We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately, somewhat average...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amalia Hotel to your Saves list
Amalia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Germanico 66, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #315 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, somewhat average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night after a flight cancellation forced us to quickly find alternative accommodation. After our arrival, the reception staff seemed somewhat confused and disorganised but after a minute were able to find us on their system, provided us with the wifi internet code and gave us our key. We were told to go up to the 5th floor to our room. Once we reached the 5th floor, we buzzed in (the building was also used for private apartments) and entered our room.

My initial impressions were that the room was spacious and clean, although very dated. It looked like it was last decorated circa 1993. It was in dire need of modernising. The system where the key needs to be inserted into an electric point to power the room was new to me and this together with the lack of toilet roll in the room required me to call the manager up to the room for assistance. He was prompt and helpful.

The wifi was free for 3 hours, provided you only wanted to have one machine connect to it. After that it was at a fee. This wasn't as advertised. I think for 160EUR a night, they could at least provide free global wifi. Ditto the 'free breakfast', which was actually 5EUR each. A little dishonest as this was advertised as inclusive of the bill online.

The double was actually two single beds pushed together, and neither were particularly comfortable. The TV had a multitude of Italian channels, but nothing international at all. Again, a little poor when most of the hotel's clientèle is surely from abroad.

Overall, this was not an unpleasant experience, just a dated hotel that could really do with a shot in the arm. With some money spent on it, it could be a lot better. Great location for anything Vatican-related. Management were helpful but they should look at what they advertise and try to honour it. Unfortunately, I wouldn't recommend this place. We were fortunate to find anywhere, and I guess at the eleventh hour, you take what you can get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRome, Direttore at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, it is important for us to know how our guests feel in.
Let me clarify few things.
“The wifi was free for 3 hours, provided you only wanted to have one machine connect to it. After that it was at a fee “, if you see on booking.com website :“WiFi is available in all areas and charges are applicable “, we gave you a free access for 3 hours, after this, if you need more time, you pay as reported in the room.
About international tv channels, there are a lot of channels, including international channels: CNN, BBC, AB CHANNEL, ZDF, GLOBO TV, ARTÈ, LA 5. We are sorry that you didn’t find them, but we were at your disposal to help you at any call.
The breakfast, the reservation was with breakfast included, in fact upon check out, nobody asked you a breakfast surcharge . Also, there is an offer without breakfast, if you like to have a breakfast in Hotel, the surcharge is euro 5,00/person/day.
We hope our explanation would have satisfied to you and we really hope to see you again .
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    150
    40
    21
    13
See reviews for
83
129
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

As they say, "When in Rome...", and I do...stay here! Love this little gem...love the little elevator and the proximity to everything. Can't beat the price, the location, and the quaintness. It's as close to the Vatican as everyone says, and great shopping close by. Make sure to eat at L'Isola Della Pizza which is one street over...ask the front desk for directions. It's my favorite restaurant in the world!

Room Tip: Bigger rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel Amalia Vatican and its surroundings,
in addition to the famous tourist attractions also made up of small restaurants, shops and bars. A district that is predominantly tourist in the morning, in the afternoon instead is populated by locals who are dedicated to the purchase in the many shops, while the evening crowd the outdoor tables of the many restaurants in the area to enjoy local specialties and drinking the wine of the Castelli Romani.

Best regards
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Amalia Hotel is the walking distance from Vatican and metro station. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was always tasty and fresh. The room was spacious enough and clean. The bathroom is not too big but there was all what I needed. On the whole a very good experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are very happy that you had a good stay.
Rome is really a beautiful city, and makes unique any holiday.

Best regards
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel and the location was just what I dreamed off, which made it to a fantastic trip. The shower is small,but work fine with hot water, after long walks, shopping and eating pasta in sunny Rome. The staff and drivers made the trip more special with help to find places, exciting chats and music. We will recommend Amalia hotel and hope to be back soon as guests. Thanks for being a factor in a unforgettable fist time in Roma.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your nice words for our city and for the people who live here .
Mange tak.
Maria & Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Ideal location, just a few blocks from the Vatican area. The price is very reasonable and the quiet night of sleep was great. The bathroom showers are small, but that is typical for Europe. Bathroom door didn't lock, and the shower door was missing the handle, but the bathroom comes with hair dryer. I'm sure the staff would have fixed it, if I had remembered to mention it. Leonardo was an extremely nice concierge. Definetly will stay here again if we return to Rome.

Room Tip: Stay included a breakfast (which meant a coffee and pastry). Even numbered rooms provide a view faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and for sharing your photos of Hotel Amalia Vaticano.
Thanks for the detailed information about the room ,regarding the handle of the shower we have already done, and the door will be reviewed.
Best regards
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Leonardo e Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We are a military family, and took our first trip to Rome/Vatican City. When our original reservations fell through people jumped through hoops to find us suitable accommodations. We were booked with the Hotel Amalia Vaticano, and we extremely pleased, with location, cleanliness and the staff. Leonardo and Maria were so pleasant and went out of their way to ensure we were settled and happy. The gentlemen who tended to the continental breakfast was also professional and courteous. Upon, checking out Leonardo offered to watch our belongings while we did a last minute stroll and when we returned let us use the facilities before driving back home. The location was a prime spot with cafes, food, souvenirs, shopping and The Vatican all within a stone’s throw from the hotel. The price is great for the location, we couldn't have found a better deal for this area. We will most definitely stay here again when we come back to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Amalia Vaticano
It 'been a pleasure to serve you and your family and we hope you can come back soon to visit Rome.
Best Regards
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Leonardo & Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very nice hotel in a perfect location. The room was very quiet, we got the best rest we had in two weeks in Italy. The staff was professional, courteous, and just plain friendly. We plan on going back to Rome next year for Valentines Day, and it will be the Hotel Amalia. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. The Vatican is less than a five minute walk, St. Peters is right there too. Plenty of shops, eateries, and things to do. The Metro is less than two blocks away. Some of the reviews on here spooked us, but we couldn't be more pleased with our stay. Thank you Hotel Amalia!

Room Tip: We had room 503, it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.
Regarding the reviews not positive, they are part of the hotel because we are not perfect, but to compensate for our failures you will find the attention of the Staff of Hotel Amalia Vaticano .
Maria & Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: Via Germanico 66, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#233 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Amalia Vaticano, situated in a late 19th century "Palazzo" is only few steps from the Vatican, the Sistine Chapel an the metro station " Ottaviano S.Pietro. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, LCD TV. Telephone, hair-dryer, safe, air-confitionig.Wifi free for Superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.