We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Marriott hotel experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Rome Central Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Rome Central Park to your Saves list
Courtyard Rome Central Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Moscati 7, 00168 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #517 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A nice Marriott hotel experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This hotel is a little out of Rome but it is a nice hotel with a shuttle to downtown or you can get a taxi. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. We got to sleep in late because it was quiet and you were not disturbed by the houskeeping staff. The Front Desk staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a bar and restaraunt downstairs that was convenient and had good food. The breakfast buffet for $12 Euros was good and I thought reasonable and had a good variety of food. We had a very nice dinner there also. I would recomment this hotel and if I were in Rome again I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    204
    113
    33
    21
See reviews for
108
178
14
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

The hotel looks really great, rooms are clean and comfortable, equipped with tea and coffee maker. The staff is very helpful and, what is important they all speak good English.

The location is however not rewarding, too far from the main Rome's attractions. The public transportation is limited to one train line only.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed there between 2nd of July to 6th.When we first arrived Mr.Gianni welcomed us at the reception and gave all the usefull tips for the city.The room was perfect and large,typicall American standart:))The location of the hotel is fine.It's almost 3 ml(5 km) far away from the center.But the transportation in Europe is really well organised as usual.Hotel also provides shuttle bus for 2 Euro per person.When we landed in Rome at the airport,we bought the train ticket to get to the hotel bu paying 8 Euro per person.But I do recommend to buy 3 days or a week ticket to use any public any time you need.From the airport to the hotel the easiest way is to take the train to Trastevere and then change the train to Gemelli.Gemelli train station is just 2 minutes walking distance to the hotel(when you come out the station, take the way to the left). To visit all the major sites,start in Gemelli train station again then get off the train at Valle Aurelia metro station.From Valle Aurelia you can get anywhere.Metro in Rome runs till midnight,but the train stops at about 22:30 p.m.If you're anywhere in Rome at late night,to be back to the hotel is also easy.Taxi costs around 50 to 60 Euro,but we did not take.When we were late,we took the metro(red line) to Cipro station,then walked 50 meters(150 feet) to the right and then found the taxi station and took the cab(12 Euro).In Rome taxis are problem at night,because they do not drive around the city like the other citiesin Europe.You need to find a station or get the emergency taxi-call number at your hotel and then give a call.
So,we really enjoyed our stay at Central Park Marriot.Thanks for any help of yours guys,especially Gianni:)))

Umit OZIPEK

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

I just returned from a week at the Marriott Rome Central Park.

Prior to reserving a room there I scoured all of the TripAdvisor reviews trying to read between the lines to come up with a good idea of what to expect out of this hotel since its basic flaw seems to be that it’s a bit out of the way.

The hotel itself is very nice. If you are looking for a property with large, American sized rooms, incredibly comfy beds and linens, then this place is for you. The marble bathroom was very nice as were the balconies (half of the rooms face St. Peters) and the air conditioning would please even Chilly Willy (a very important factor in Rome). The staff could not have possibly been nicer and more accommodating. One gentleman at the front desk that I was super impressed with was Nicola. His English was as good as any American’s, he’s very well informed and was able to answer all of my questions (and girls, he’s good looking too). Nicola represents this hotel in the best light.

We opted to eat in the hotel each morning to save time. The overall selection was good but the scrambled eggs were a bit funky. The fruit was excellent and the selection of meat was quite good. Coffee is served out of a machine which will also dispense espresso, cappuccino and lattes. Cereals were plentiful as well.

The hotel is located in a middle class residential area. As has been written here before, it’s slim pickens when it comes to restaurant’s in the area. There is a very good pizza place and a few doors down from there a full service restaurant with a somewhat limited menu called Taverna Sacchetti. Turn left on via Sacchetti and you will easily find them. Pizza was priced at about €4.50 for a large individual pie. The tavern had basic dishes (mostly pasta) for about €8.00, but that’s about it folks for eating in the area. We did get a recommendation from the front desk for a restaurant that turned out to be excellent, but it is located one stop down on the train. When exiting the Balduina station, make a right and just a few feet away is Capperi, which is also located in residential area. The prices were very reasonable (about €12.00 per entrée) and the meal was very good. The menu selection was large by the way.

There is a full service supermarket located across via Sacchetti called Carrefour Mercato. It’s very well hidden and located down a long driveway next to the bank. We stocked up on drinks and cheese there. Prices are not inflated because this is a typical neighborhood supermarket located miles away from tourists. Each room has a small fridge, so keeping soft drinks and water chilled was easy. Something else each floor has, which is a rarity in Europe, is an ice machine.

Most of you reading this review are concerned about the hotel location. I’ll give it to you straight folks, it’s not terribly convenient. It’s located a very short walk from the commuter rail line called the FM3, at the Gemelli station. You can connect to the subway three stops down but the transfer at Valle Aurelia is a slight pain because the commuter line runs on an elevated section and the subway is below ground. Since most escalators in Rome don’t work, some people will be huffing and puffing, although each station does have an elevator (not that I would trust them – this is Rome you know). The basic problem with the commuter line is the wait between trains. At best it’s 14 minutes (during rush hour), at worst – 35 minutes. Twice we had missed the train by inches and waited the full 35 minutes. I didn’t think having to take the train would bother me but it did because it meant that I couldn’t simply go back to the hotel during midday and rest. My wife and I landed up leaving in the morning and eating dinner in Rome and heading back once we felt the day was over. The rail line seemed safe but the graffiti is something you have to see to believe (aesthetic pride is not one of Rome’s strong suit). Each ride is a very reasonable €1.00 and you can purchase multi-day passes which allows you unlimited rides on the commuter lines, subways, buses and streetcars. This was the biggest bargain in all of Rome. Although the trains run on the honor system, I urge you to buy a ticket because I did get spot checked and those without a validated ticket will get a nice fat fine on the spot.

The hotel has a shuttle service to a subway stop a few blocks from St. Peters (Ottaviano), but they charge €2.00 per person and I didn’t think it was worth it. Others have written here that it’s a free service so I’m assuming they recently instituted the fee. The front desk can arrange a pickup from the airport for €55.00. My taxi ride from the hotel to the main railway station (Termini) cost €24.00 and took about 18 minutes at 7:00am.

I brought my laptop and was able to find a “stray” WIFI signal and connected for nothing, otherwise the hotel does have wireless service at €17.00 per 24 hour period.

I stayed at this Marriott property because I used Rewards points and didn’t want to blow most of my account staying downtown at the Grand Flora. The amount of points I saved staying at the Central Park will allow me to stay a week at a beach resort, so I have no qualms about that. If you are adventurous and don’t mind the inconvenience, then stay here. The staff will certainly make you feel at home. Feel free to send me a message if you want specific questions answered.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I wasn't expecting a whole lot from this hotel, but was very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very spacious and have the "American" amenities we’re used to. We asked the staff a million questions about how to get around Rome and everyone was very helpful and knowledgeable. It's not in a very central location, but they have a free shuttle that goes into the city center every half an hour. We used this daily and it was very nice. There is also a supermarket and pharmacy within walking distance, and a train that takes you to the metro. The on site restaurant and room service were also very good.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Although the tripadvisor name does not say, this is a Marriott Courtyard (the "limited frills" brand by Marriott).

I had a very good experience

There is an external (pay) parking in front of the hotel and covered parking under the hotel.
The latter is not sign posted, but you can easily find it by entering the gate beside the Hotel building.
It is not cheap (25€) but in line with expensive parking in Rome and, in my opinion, it must be selective since it would not have space for everyone.
It has separate management from the hotel, so you have to pay in advance and in cash.
It is rather convenient since it is secure, you lock your car and keep your keys, you have direct access to the hotel elevator.

Friendly checkin, good, recently renovated room.
Large flat TV, balcony, just an empty refrigerator (courtyards have a little market in the lobby where you can buy what you like).
Working and individually controllable air conditioning.

The bathroom was not very large but well organized with everything useful, including bidet.

The bath tub is short (it is on the short side of the bathroom), but I used it for the shower only.

I had a good room service dinner.

Buffet breakfast was sufficiently varied, although nothing more than average.

What is more important, the bed was very comfortable, the room was extremely quiet and I had an extraordinarily good night.

The location (near Gemelli Hospital) is good enough for moving by car, near the centre but not in the more congested and restricted zones.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

The entire staff, from front desk to chambermaid, provides efficient, caring,service with a smile. The rooms are spacious, clean, quiet, and seem to have been recently renovated. Marble bathrooms are well appointed with tub/shower combination, great water pressure, endless supply of hot water. We visited in January, and appreciated the in room climate control, with no skimping on heat. The food and service in the restaurant at dinner was excellent, at about New York prices. Only downside at the restaurant was that they refuse to serve tap water at the table, and the fish soup was not fresh. Ate there 4 nights and everything else was fresh and delicious. Breakfast was buffet, with no cooked to order items, and the quality of some of the offerings were just mediocre, but there was a sufficient variety of decent items to fill up on, and really great cappucino. Yes, the location of the hotel is 25-30 minutes distance from the city center via their van or public transportation during rush hour, but you cannot find the quality this hotel offers at twice the price in central Rome. And the quietness and fresher air was lovely. The new Marriott management has upgraded every aspect of the hotel. Internet is way overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Rome Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Rome Central Park

Address: Via Giuseppe Moscati 7, 00168 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#218 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Rome Central Park 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park Hotel is conveniently located near the Vatican City and S. Peter’s Abbey (Shuttle service provided in 15 minutes) and offers everything you would expect from a 4 star conference & leisure hotel whether you are in Rome for business or fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Rome Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rome Central Park Hotel Rome
Central Park Roma Rome
Central Park Roma Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Rome Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.