We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading Name and Location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Rome Central Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Rome Central Park to your Saves list
Courtyard Rome Central Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Moscati 7, 00168 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #517 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Misleading Name and Location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel website and name claim to be located within walking distance to both the city center and St. Peter's Basilica, when in reality it is located far away from both locations, forcing you to take public transportation or paying to use the hotel's shuttle bus. Some of the staff members had a poor attitude, and did not provide accurate directions.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione H, Manager at Courtyard Rome Central Park, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Mrs Viviana,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Survey and sharing your experience with the Courtyard Rome Central Park.

You indicated in your response that in our web site is written that we are a walking distance from the city center and the Vatican area herewith you will find the link of our ufficial web site (www.marriott.com/romcp ) and you can read about the distance. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.
Sincerely,
ANTONIO DE SANTIS
Director of Operations
Marriott
cy.romcp.room.div.mgr@courtyard.com
003906355741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    204
    113
    33
    21
See reviews for
108
178
14
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, england
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Having had a terrible experience at another Marriott Hotel (AC Arezzo) the previous night we were expecting more from the Courtyard Rome Central Park.
Unfortunately this hotel, whilst being superficially very slick, is more a triumph of style over substance. It's a busy large hotel and I suppose its size inevitably leads to a fairly blase attitude amongst the staff.
Admittedly we arrived about an hour early, but along with other guests we were kept waiting in reception (without even the offer of a drink at the bar) whilst we waited for our room. After two hours waiting we decided to be much more assertive, and this seemed to do the trick, because we were able to go to our room within half-an-hour. (We were offered a complimentary basket of fruit in our room, which we declined and accepted a bottle of Prosecco in lieu by way of compensation for the delay)
We did pass some of the time having lunch at the Hotel, but nevertheless we would have preferred to have checked-in and then gone into Rome.
The room was fine, and did have the view of the dome of St Peter's - albeit rather distant.
We were eventually able to get into Rome, and decided that it was way too hectic for us - we've never been when it's really busy. We returned to the hotel for our evening meal.
The meal was fine, and it was very pleasant sitting out on the terrace in the warm evening.
All was well until about 2am when we were awoken by a noise of a Television in an adjacent room. We hoped that this would pass, but after half-an-hour the noise hadn't abated, so I complained to Reception. 15 minutes passed and no improvement, so I went to reception after having located the source of the noise as being from the room directly beneath ours. The concierge tried to contact the occupant both by phone and by knocking on the door, without success. He even tried the pass key, but the room was deadlocked from inside.
At about 03.30 we were offered another room in which to sleep, on a different floor, which we reluctantly accepted. Our stuff was in the original room so we returned there for our shower etc.
When we checked out the staff seemed to be unaware of this problem, and it took a few minutes for them to verify this. On this occasion the manager agreed to reduce the rooms charge.
I might add that we had intended to stay in this Hotel for two or three nights, but this was SUCH a bad night's sleep that we were not prepared to take that risk, and headed off for Sorrento.
This was my second visit to a Marriott hotel - it will almost certainly be my LAST.

Room Tip: I have no idea how you would do this, but try to find a room that is isolated, because the acoustic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione H, Direttore at Courtyard Rome Central Park, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest

We have received with regret your comments through Marriott Guest Experience.
We strive hard every day to give our utmost attention to our guest and when we fail for whatever reason, it is sad and distressing.
I do apologize for not living up to your expectations on this occasion.
We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity in the near
future giving us a chance to demonstrating our commitment to serve our
guests beyond what is expected .

Yours sincerely,
Antonio De Santis
Director of Operations
Courtyard Hotel Central Park Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was very impressed with this hotel. It's a very short walk to the Gemelli train station, from which I was easily able to get around Rome. The staff was very helpful in providing instructions and recommendations. Francesca and Sugarth (sorry, I am certain I butchered that name) were especially friendly and helpful. They assisted me with tour and train bookings when I really didn't have any expectation of that level of service. The room was comfortable and clean with a great view of St. Peter's Basilica. We didn't try the restaurant so I am sorry I cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione H, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Courtyard Rome Central Park, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Aaron,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your great review. We have passed on your kind remarks to all the team and look forward to welcoming you back to Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Courtyard Rome Central Park is a hotel which has a very misleading name. The name implies that the hotel is centrally located, while in reality the location of the hotel is such that getting to the downtown area will require either the use of the hotel's shuttle bus, taxi, or a combination of a train and metro. In all cases, this is inconvenient. Agreed, the hotel's web site does provide the exact details as to where the hotel is located, but this does not eliminate the fact of the misleading name. A more proper name for the hotel should be e.g. "Courtyard Rome Gemelli".
Some of the rooms have a nice view towards the Vatican. The room I had was very spacious. Air conditioning does not appear to work unless the key card is entered into the slot in the room, and every time it is removed, the temperature settings reset themselves.
The hotel has two restaurants. Food in both restaurants was ok but not spectacular. Breakfast food selection was ok, but a BIG minus comes from the fact that coffee is served from a machine, which makes instant coffee. After experiencing the first cup of that, I chose to drink tea for the rest of the trip.
If you are in the neighbourhood, there is also a nice organic restaurant a couple of blocks away which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione H, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Courtyard Rome Central Park, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest,
The hotel name is not misleading, because it means central park "in the middle of the park" and not "in the middle of the city" and as you may have noticed, in front of the hotel is the beautiful and vast park of Pineta Sacchetti. Also on our website are complete and accurate descriptions of the hotel's location, which through fast transport links, allows you to reach the city center in minutes. The air conditioning works with the most modern systems of respect for nature and the energy is activated when the guest enters the room. Breakfast is our excellence and the coffee is not instantaneous, but freshly ground. If he wanted to, he could ask for an espresso, which is included in the breakfast request.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The Rome Central Park pictures on the web made me believe we were close to the city, but we were not. Shuttle service is available but with limited hours. The rooms and bathroom were tiny and the hotel could be it from a remodel. Also, none of the Marriotts provide free wifi which is absurd.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione H, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Courtyard Rome Central Park, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guapas,
In all of our websites and social pages is the exact description and location of the hotel. The center is easily accessible by public transport links with a frequency of 12 minutes, in addition to our shuttle bus with a frequency of 1 hour. The hotel was completely renovated 3 years ago, following the strict standard Marriott, and his discomfort is definitely an isolated case. The WIFI is free in all public areas, bar, lobby and restaurants, while a surcharge. Thank you for your contribution and good day
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our initial reaction was not good as reaching the hotel was a bit of a nightmare. But once we found that the hotel is just a few minutes walk to Gemelli metro train station then our entire stay was a breeze as there were frequent trains. We visited all the major attractions using the metro though we need to change the lines to reach different locations. The hotel rooms were spacious , clean with a nice sit out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione H, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Courtyard Rome Central Park, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased you loved your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park and would like to thank you for posting your wonderful review. Your very kind comments have been passed on to all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

we were a bit hesitant to book a hotel in Rome that was not in the old town, but soon overcame that once we checked in. Our room overlooked St. Peter's dome and the overall view was great. The hotel met all of our expectations in what it offered, and it did the job well, in typical Marriott fashion. Transportation to the Vatican and the centre of Rome was very efficient by train and subway, and part of our people watching experience. Perhaps the only down side was the food in the on-site restaurant Moscati. The fare was average at best, and the prices were high (how about 10 euros for a small, basic dessert?). We ate a couple of meals in the Bistrot, which was ok, but we soon ventured off to a neighborhood place called Taverna Sacchetti 2 or 3 blocks away, which had received good reviews on Trip Advisor. In total, we had 3 dinners there and enjoyed them all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione H, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Courtyard Rome Central Park, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased you loved your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park and would like to thank you for posting your wonderful review. Your very kind comments have been passed on to all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Rome Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Rome Central Park

Address: Via Giuseppe Moscati 7, 00168 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#218 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Rome Central Park 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park Hotel is conveniently located near the Vatican City and S. Peter’s Abbey (Shuttle service provided in 15 minutes) and offers everything you would expect from a 4 star conference & leisure hotel whether you are in Rome for business or fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Rome Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rome Central Park Hotel Rome
Central Park Roma Rome
Central Park Roma Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Rome Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.