We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location - great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Condotti 85 | At the Corner With Spanish Steps, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BEST OFFER!Save up to20%
Ranked #30 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing location - great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in August and highly recommend this hotel. The staff are friendly and so helpful: their service was great and we felt very special. Their restaurant recommendations were superb. We were upgraded upon arrival and loved the connecting rooms we were given. The room servicing was efficient and non-intrusive. The view from the terrace was brilliant - we were entranced by the view of the Spanish Steps and the hotel certainly lived up to its name. We were pleasantly surprised by the generous size of the rooms and the decor was in keeping with our expectations of Rome.The whole experience was lovely and we would certainly return to this hotel and their lovely staff on our next visit to Rome. Thank you to everyone at the Inn at the Spanish Steps. You made our time in Rome very memorable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review!
We are extremely happy and proud to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us and we truly hope to see you again very soon!
With our warmest regards.
Flavia Latini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    111
    26
    12
    14
See reviews for
94
307
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked this hotel for the location and the view to the Spanish Steps. You get the location, yes, but NOT the view.
When booking the room we paid extra for a higher category room that guaranteed a view to the Spanish Steps. We were only two people, so we could have booked a lower price room, but it was important for us to have the view of the Spanish Steps, so we decided to pay more. When we arrived to the hotel we were blown away that our view was to a shaft, we were given a dark and humid room smelling like mold. The front desk insisted that the view is based on availability, meanwhile the website, did NOT say that, nor the "nice" email we received as confirmation of our booking - nowhere - We asked to speak to the manager, who refused to speak to us and the front desk woman was beyond rude, she looked overworked and that runs into this problem all the time, she had no patience or manners. They finally agreed that we could leave and we would not be charged for the two nights we booked, so we left and found another hotel. Guess what? They charged for the nights we didn't stay, and now they refuse to honor their word that we could leave without charges. Borderline a scam of the Spanish Steps - a tourist trap - be aware!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
We read your comment and we are sorry that you mispresented the real story... As you might recall, you have been assigned a room with view on Via dei Condotti (the category you had booked via SLH). At check in time (about 9.00 PM) you immediately asked the front desk clerk (even before saying "hallo") if your room had view over the Spanish Steps. The receptionist kindly explained that rooms with view over the Spanish Steps were already booked for that night and she offered a free upgrade to a Suite for one night only (as the Suite was already booked and paid by another Guest from the day after).
You refused the offer and said that if a room with view over the Spanish Steps or a suite was not available for the entire stay, you would have left the hotel. The front desk clerk reminded you that the cancellation policy foreseen a one night penalty charge in case of early departure. You said that if a charge would have been done you would have posted a negative feed back on Tripadvisor (which you finally did). We informed TripAdvisor about this threat because whilts we think that TA is a great site for Travellers, it is not fair that some people use it to blackmail hotels. We also sent to TripAdvisor a copy of the reservation and e-mail correspondence, proofing that we are saying is true.
We always do our best for our Guests and the information posted on our web site are true and absolutely not misleading. What we regret most is reading your comment about the front desk clerk attitude: she did her best to assist you and kept very polite manners even when you screamed towards her (while she was with me over the phone) threating to post a negative review on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to have the possibility to post a response to reviews because other travellers should know both sides of the story.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
The Inn at the Spanish Steps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We really loved the hotel. The location is excellent. The standard rooms are clean, cosy and comfortable. The staff is very helpful. They always greeted us with smiles, answered our questions and made reservations for us at restaurants. A special thanks to Carmine and Simone (I hope the spelling is right) at the reception.
Will definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing The Inn at the Spanish Steps for your stay in Rome.

On behaf of our staff I would like to thank you for for your kind comments and we really appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback about your stay with us. As our main goal is our guest’s satisfaction and we are glad to hear that you had a great time!

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel for your next Roman holiday!

Best regards,

Flavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel was beautiful, perfectly located at the foot of the Spanish Steps and the service was excellent. But the room we stayed in was down the road from the hotel and situated in a apartment block. The hotel website said that some rooms were in an adjoining annexe but 2 or 3 blocks is hardly adjoining. Once we got over this surprise we had a great time. As I said, the staff were fantastic, the roof top bar was just great and having breakfast on the roof each morning a superb way to start the day. Only advice is to ask to stay in the main hotel. We'd certainly stay there again as long as we confirmed in advance that our room was in the main hotel.

Room Tip: Confirm you are in the main hotel when you make your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are happy to know that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.
We wish to inform you that we have two different annex buildings: one of them is located few steps away the main entrance. Another one is about 3 blocks away the main building.
The adjoining annex is where the Penthouse is situated (on the top floor) and rooms over there are our top category.
We hope that you had a great time in the Eternal City and we cannot wait to welcoming you back to our property in occasion of a return visit to Rome.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
The Inn at the Spanish Steps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Hotel was in the perfect spot. Everything was very close and an easy walk 15 to 20 min. The hotel staff were simply Outstanding and they could not have done more for us while we stayed there. Nothing was too much of a problem for them. Definitely stay here again given the chance.

Room Tip: We had a large group of us stay at the hotel and all the rooms were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your great feedback! We are extremely happy and proud to know that you had a lovely stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our Inn at the Spanish Steps in a near future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
The Inn at the Spanish Steps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel is central on the Via Condetti. Unless you pay extra you won't be in the part that is near the steps. The steps are under repair so you wouldn't see much anyway! Indeed we were in an annex about 3 blocks form the main hotel. (We knew we would be in an annex but didn't expect it to be so far.)
Both parts of the hotel have very small lifts (can hold about 3 people) so expect a wait. There's quite a few stairs to reception and the top breakfast bar.
The reception is on the mezzanine floor and the pc on the fifth so several people were having problems sorting out tickets for airlines/ attractions when advice would have been useful.
Also the advice from the staff was a bit dodgy. In reply to a question about Fendi a guest got an answer about a restaurant. We were told we could get to Tivoli gardens in an hour but by that time we had only got to the bus station at the end of the metro line.
There was some confusion about the 'free buffet'-- I accept part of this may be due to a new member of staff -- but it appears to be free if you buy a drink! Overall the staff sounded (and thought they were) more helpful than they really were.
I think we were in 2 of the more basic rooms-- but nevertheless they were very comfortable and modern. (But for an international hotel with almost all foreign clients there was just one English language tv station-- out of 100s.)
The breakfasts were very good - and served on the rooftop terrace.
Overall a bit disappointing for a SLH hotel.

Room Tip: There are several parts to this hotel and several room grades so be clear as to what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your kind review. Whilst we are happy to know that you overall enjoyed your stay with us, we are sorry to hear that your experience didn't match exactly with your expectations.
I wish to inform you that our property is divided up into different buildings (which will become 4 next September). Front Desk and Concierge are located in the main building.
Some of our rooms are located in our annex buildings and rooms there have the same standards and services that rooms in the main building.
Regarding your comment about a conversation that you heard between a Guest of ours and a Front Desk clerk, I am afraid you only heard a part of the conversation; our Staff members speak English fluently and I am sure that everybody at the Inn at the Spanish Steps knows that Fendi is not a restaurant.
Concerning your experience about Tivolui gardens: the distance from our property to Tivoli gardens is one hour. Of course, if you take the metro and public bus, the time really depends on the metro and bus frequency, and unfortunately we have no power on this.
I hope that you will book our property again though and I would be pleased to assist your personally with an eventual future booking.
With my best regards.
Flavia Latini
The Inn at the Spanish Steps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Old, authentic, truly unique boutique hotel nestled among the best shopping and overlooking the Spanish Steps. Marble, satin, high ceilings, gorgeous patios, friendly staff. Stay in the romantic penthouse suite, even if for only one night. Breakfast on the terrace is picturesque and the very professional chef goes above and beyond to ensure your satisfaction. The junior suite is also well-appointed and spacious. Simona and Sarah at the front desk are extra accommodating. Do keep in mind that this is in a bustling area so it is noisy outside until at least 1 AM and there is the possibility of construction. You can also hear voices/TVs, etc. through the walls, yet the selection of more than a half dozen pillow types (including tempurpedic style), huge comfortable bed and jacuzzi tub make the noise easier to forget. If you're looking for something very special and outside of the typical upscale chain hotels, this is it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review! We are extremely happy and proud to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us and we truly hope to see you again very soon!
With our warmest regards.
Flavia Latini
The Inn at the Spanish Steps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel

Address: Via Dei Condotti 85 | At the Corner With Spanish Steps, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#47 Family Hotel in Rome
#106 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden behind a discreet entrance on Via dei Condotti, The Inn at the Spanish Steps Hotel Rome is an elegant haven set in a former 19th-century stately in the centre of Rome. Listed as a national monument, this delightful boutique hotel has a glorious roof terrace overlooking the Spanish Steps, rooms with period decor and was once home to Hans Christian Andersen. The rooms and suites feature stylish modern decor blended with antiques and original works of art and frescoes. Some have a balcony overlooking the Spanish Steps. The atmosphere of The Inn at the Spanish Steps Hotel is almost club-like, intimate yet friendly and welcoming to families. We have a main building (with 24 rooms) and 3 annex buildings; one is located in Via dei Condotti 48 with four Double Rooms, three of them facing Via dei Condotti Street another Annex is located always in Via dei Condotti 91 with one Suite and three rooms all facing the Spanish Steps and our last Annex is located in Via della Croce 2 with 4 Suites and 2 Executive rooms. A private Suite with terrace and Spanish Steps view is located on the top floor of the building in Piazza di Spagna 93 while a Studio room is located in Via dei 2 Macelli 102. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Spanish Steps Hotel Rome
Inn At Spanish Steps
Inn Spanish Steps

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.