We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location...Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Condotti 85, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BEST OFFER!Save up to20%
Ranked #50 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Location...Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My family (me, my wife and 3 children) just left after 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. The location is very well centered, especially if high-end shopping is on your itinerary. The hotel is literally steps from some of the most exclusive shops in the city (not our type of shopping, but it is probably just the ticket for some).

We selected a Family room, which was actually 2 adjoining rooms connected by a small hall that had it's own secured door leading to the main foyer. This allowed my wife and I some privacy, but kept us in very close proximity to our children and offered a very secure layout.

The upstairs terrace was wonderful for breakfast and the evening snack. We found the food selections of such high quality and so varied that 3 of the 4 days we ate a hearty breakfast, skipped lunch and then made a very nice dinner out of the buffet offered in the evening. This was just as well because we found the food at the restaurants in the area to be typical tourist fare that would be over-priced at any price.

I cannot say enough good things about the staff. Please understand that this is not a large hotel, with many unnamed employees. There is a small staff of very dedicated employees who go out of their way to be of service. They really got to know us and our needs and took a nice experience and made it a great experience.

Finally, although this property is certainly not inexpensive, they provided significant value for the amount we spent to stay with them.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your lovely review. This is a reward for all of us. Our aim is to make our Guests' stay the most enjoyable one and we are very proud to know that we reached the goal with you.
It's great to know that you've appreciated our service and that the family room accommodation perfectly matched with your needs.
We can't wait to welcoming you back to our Inn at the Spanish Steps in a near future.
Best regards.
Flavia Latini
The Inn at the Spanish Steps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    103
    24
    12
    14
See reviews for
83
277
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The location was perfect for reaching all the big sites. The Spanish Steps are literally 100 yards from your hotel door.
Superb strolling area, great shipping very comfortable setting for all interest. The hotel staff was superb in all areas and levels of service. Special thanks to Manager Katrina for all her assistance and help.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Inn at the Spanish Steps and that you've appreciated our service and staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you again to our property, I thank you for your kindness and send you our best regards.
Flavia Latini
The Inn at the Spanish Steps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our stay at the Inn was a wonderful enhancement to our visit to Rome. The Inn is a terrific boutique hotel, an Italian gem within walking distance of most of the major Roman tourist venues. I can say without fear of exaggeration that everyone on staff that we dealt with was professional yet also friendly and helpful. Even the restaurants that were recommended proved to be perfect. We travel quite a bit and stay in fine large hotels and many smaller fine boutique hotels as well; the Inn stands up to all of them. We were very well satisfied with our stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you very much indeed for your lovely review. Your great feed back is a reward for all of us!
We look forward to welcoming you again to the Inn at the Spanish Steps in a near future and we send you our warmest regards.
Flavia Latini
The Inn at the Spanish Steps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

don't pay extra for the front view..can get it better from the free rooftop...also Karina, the person who checked us in, didn't tell us tthe great breakfast was included in our room price, so the first day we went out and spent a lot for an american breakfast..hard to find in rome...hotel is very pricey, but good location

Room Tip: don't waste the extra money on front view...instead spend a lot of time on the free rooftop...ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the time you spent to post your review on TripAdvisor.
Whilst we are glad to know that you overall enjoyed your stay at our Inn at the Spanish Steps, we are a little bit surprised to read your tip for other TraipAdvisor's travellers.
As you might recall, you had booked a superior room (with view on the inner courtyard). We have offered a free upgrade to an Executive room facing Via dei Condotti, the same upgrade that we had offered to your wife who spent 2 nights at the Inn two days before your arrival.
Since you hadn't experience our Suite with front view of the Spanish Steps (situated in our Penthouse "The View") it is a hard to understand how you could suggest not to spend extra money to get those kind of room accommodation. Our Suite with view of the Spanish Steps is one of a kind and it is the only Suite in Rome from where one can enjoy a 360° view of the Spanish Steps.
Other travellers who booked the Suite did enjoy it very much as you can read from other comments published on TripAdvisor.
Regarding the breakfast: I guess it's been a misunderstanding because we always mentioned on our web site as well as on confirmation sent by e-mail that breakfast is included in the rate (actually this can also be confirmed by your wife who, as said, stood with us two days before you). Furthermore, my colleague Karina did explain that buffet breakfast is served on our roof top terrace (where you have been escorted upon arrival for a welcome drink) and that it was free of charge.
Our breakfast is very rich, with a wide selection of cold and hot dishes, fresh fruit, cereals, bread, homemade pastries cooked daily, bacon & eggs, sausages. On request, we can also prepare omelettes and scrambled eggs for our Guests.
We hope that you will come back to the Inn in occasion of a return visit to Rome.
Best regards to you and your family.
Flavia Latini
The Inn at the Spanish Steps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I spent our first visit to Rome with the hotel and had a fabulous time. The hotel staff were wonderful and assisted us with our enquiries and needs quickly and expertly...even recommending out of the way bars for a bit of light music to capture the true Rome. Would highly recommend hiring a bike, yes despite the chaotic traffic. The hotel can recommend a very good service just around the corner at the entrance to the Metro. Ciao!

Room Tip: We stayed in a small room at the back of the hotel, it did not have a view but the location of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice feedback. Your positve comment is a reward for us and we are proud to know that your stay at the Inn has been enjoyable.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our property, we thank you again for your kindness and send you our best regards.
Flavia Latini
The Inn at the Spanish Steps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

I took my girlfriend to this hotel for a very special big birthday, it was her 50th, we received such a friendly warm welcome, all the staff are so friendly and very helpful, nothing is too much trouble, they go that extra mile to make your stay very special. As it was a very special trip for us they upgraded us to a truly amazing room, we were totally chuffed. The food is amazing such wonderful choices, the accommodation was very romantic and designed with such class, all the facilities at this hotel are very good, we could not fault it in any way and in fact we will be returning again, we would not want to stay anywhere else, just fabulous location for all the attractions, we went everywhere possible within our 3 day visit, this Tripp was truly fabulous and Rome is a very beautiful place, we will definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much indeed for your great review. Our reward for the hard work is to know that our guests had memorable moments at our Inn and that they will return.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to our Inn at the Spanish Steps and we send you our best regards.
Flavia Latini
The Inn at the Spanish Steps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Warm, friendly and attentive service from the moment our car pulled up at the entrance. We were taken to the terrace for a complimentary drink whilst waiting to check in which was a welcome start to our trip. The roof terrace is lovely with a view to the Spanish steps and Via Condotti and it's fabulous stores such as Gucci and Bvlgari. We enjoyed Breakfast and afternoon complimentary snacks sat in the sunshine with great service especially from Adam. Our room was lovely, clean and well decorated and best of all a fantastic large window with a view. I have stayed in Rome a number of times and this is my favourite hotel. The location feels safe, vibrant and exclusive and as soon as you enter the hotel after a long days sight seeing you feel immediately relaxed and well cared for by all the staff. So to be balanced the only improvement would be an update of the bathroom, but it was spotlessly clean with lovely thick towels and complimentary products, so not really a problem. I will definitely return on my next trip. There are lots of hotels in Rome but it is the staff that really make the difference and without exception the staff were wonderful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia80, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for having posted your lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are extremely happy to know that your stay with us has been wonderful and we can't wait to welcoming you back to the Inn at the Spanish Steps whenever you return to Rome.
Many thanks and best regards.
Flavia Latini
The Inn at the Spanish Steps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel

Address: Via Dei Condotti 85, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio , Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#48 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#51 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Spanish Steps is one of Rome's best-kept secrets: a luxury guest house, uniquely located on Rome's famed shopping street beside the historic coffee-house, founded in 1760. Listed as a national monument, our building was a stately home in the 1800's and is now fully renovated with air conditioning and modern comforts. Quiet and exclusive, it retains the flavor of that era with its period decor. Several rooms have fireplaces and frescoed ceilings. We cater to a distinguished clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Spanish Steps Hotel Rome
Inn At Spanish Steps
Inn Spanish Steps

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.