We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a mixed bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Roma Villa Carpegna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Roma Villa Carpegna to your Saves list
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pio IV, 6 | Gregorio Vii, Villa Dora Pamphilj, Aurelia Antica, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly NH Villa Carpegna)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #552 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“a mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of the post package offered by Royal Caribbean estimating that it would be OK since it was recommended by them and it was close to the Vatican...(about a 15 minute walk) and it had a pool. Overall it was an average hotel but we had a great time although I suspect you could do better elsewhere. Based on our experiences we found the following:
On the positive side it had a beautiful pool and a fantastic breakfast that was included in the price.
On the negative side the place was somewhat unkept,the physical condition of the building was wanting to say the least. The restaurant menu in the afternoon and evening was lacking in choices so we went to a uninspiring restaurant known as the Villa Pamphilli down the street. Also, be careful of some of the tours they will try to sell you. Upon the concierge's suggestion we booked a private night tour and was promised an English speaking guide. That was not the case at all although we went along and had a fantastic time with Gregorio who did the best he could under the circumstances. I wish I spoke and understood Italian better but at 50 Euros an hour and a promise of an English speaking guide I shouldn't have had to. Overall, if you want an average room with a pool near to the Vatican its fine but otherwise you might want to shop around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    187
    125
    51
    23
See reviews for
87
147
14
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stay away from this place if you want a clean, pretty, maintained property. WE chose this hotel because we were doing the 3 night pre-cruise package. Had read the reviews about the hotel and they seemed to be okay so was comfortable with our decision. We checked in and was given Room 1. The walls were all beat up and dirty. Went to the front desk and they upgraded us to a Superior Room. A room with a sofa, couple of chairs, and a terrace. (I am attaching the pic of the Superior Room). The furniture had the stuffing coming out of it. The drapes and the carpet were filthy. Like filthy that they haven't been cleaned in 20 years. The terrace door didn't even open. Would not have mattered because there was nothing out there anyway. Empty flower pots is all I could really see through the dirty windows. We went back to the front desk again and spoke with the manager. She took us to another room. A room that had been somewhat renovated (a new wood floor). Which seemed cleaner so we agreed to it. We were really stuck because we had pre-paid for the hotel and cruise port transfer from the hotel. Went to the restaurant later for a light bite to eat. Sat outside on the terrace. We waited 40 minutes for the waiter to take our beverage order. Ugh! The second day was very hot in Rome so we decided to spend an afternoon at the pool. As you can see from the pics, the shrubbery around the pool was ALL DEAD. Not very appealing.

Would also like to mention that every window in the hotel probably hasn't been cleaned in 5 years or more. Every window was filthy. Hallway carpeting I would guess hasn't been cleaned in 5-10 years as well.

The hotel is situated in the middle of a neighborhood. Not much to do in the area. You need either a bus or cab for everything!

Two positive things about the hotel is this. 1. The personnel at the front desk & the Manager were very pleasant and were really trying to get us into a room that would satisfy us. 2. The breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

- average staff
- good room
- bad location
- average price

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I chose this hotel for one single reason - the pool. Otherwise I wouldn't stay there.
Two young ladies at the reception upon my arrival were rather incompetent and perhaps shouldn't be working in the service sector, the rest of the staff (reception, pool, breakfast room) was nice and helpful.
The hotel is rather worn-out, the carpet and walls in the room (no 171) had lots of stains on them, the air-conditioner wasn't too efficient. The toilets in the public area were appalling - dirty, with water and papers everywhere, smth you are used to see in discobars towards morning, not in a 4star hotel.
The breakfast was OK, wide variety of salty things, pastries and fruit. However, the coffee by default is from machines (4star hotel?). I asked for fresh cappuccino and had a feeling that I got it only because I asked for it in Italian.
After 11 p.m. the only reasonable way to come back to hotel is taxi, some 13 euro from downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here one night, as our hotel were somehow overbooked, and we were very pleased with it after the initial confusion past midnight when we arrived. The buffet breakfast was superb and the whole lobby area and the breakfast room felt very luxurious. We decided to stay for a quick swim and it was probably the most relaxing pool we have ever visited, our own hotel had a pool but it was so packed. we'll stay here again if we're ever in rome- bus is a short walk away anfd easy to organise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Good room, comfortable, nice size, nice bathroom. Breakfast was no big deal at all. Location is more the problem here because there is realy nothing in the area to walk to aand see. Taxi is about 13 Euro into town and historic area ( fast and good). Bus stop is about 3 blocks away but union strikes and sketchy bus service may make it difficult. Hotel staff is pretty good. Internet connection is sooooooo slowwwww. Lobby internet is free for 30 continuous minutes per day. So don't just use it for 5 minutes in the morning and figure you have 25 minutes in the evening. The you have to pay 9 euro. Well priced too. a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Roma Villa Carpegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Roma Villa Carpegna

Address: Via Pio IV, 6 | Gregorio Vii, Villa Dora Pamphilj, Aurelia Antica, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly NH Villa Carpegna)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rome
#209 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Roma Villa Carpegna 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Roma Villa Carpegna is set in a quiet area, just a few kilometers away from Rome's historical center and within easy reach of the Vatican and St. Peter's Square. NH Roma Villa Carpegna offers an attractive alternative for your stay in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Roma Villa Carpegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Villa Carpegna Hotel Rome
Jolly Hotel Rome
Jolly Hotel Carpegna
Jolly Carpegna Villa
Jolly Hotel Villa Carpegna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Roma Villa Carpegna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.