We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a four star. Clean and simple.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Consoli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dei Consoli to your Saves list
Hotel Dei Consoli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Varrone 2D | Angolo Via Cola di Rienzo, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not a four star. Clean and simple.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is old. I think most of them are like this in Rome. It needs a renovation. Very old furniture. The bathroom is very small. They gave us a room, but it had a bad smell coming from the bathroom. Then we asked to change and the other room was ok. Location is good for those wo wants to do things in the area. But if I had to choose it again today, I would prefer to be in another area. It looks like a 2,5 to 3 star hotel. Clean and simple.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    194
    62
    26
    10
See reviews for
79
277
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent three nights here and enjoyed it very much. The room was of good size (room 306) and the staff was very friendly. The view from the terrass wasn't really that good over the St Peter's basilica, but you could se it from one part of the room. The outdoor area wasn't open at this time of the year, end of November. The local is very good, just 5-10 minutes walk to St Peter's church and close to busstops and tramstop. A little bit further to the subway, but ok distance. Even though we had a busy shoppingstreet right outside our window, it was a nice and silent room.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights during our honey moon . The hotel is in a great location close to Saint Peters square & the Vatican . Our room was quite spacious ,very clean & quiet .
Every morning at the hotel's roofgarden , we had the chance to have an excellent breakfast that suited almost every taste.
I will definitely stay at this hotel again. A special thanks to Fabrizio who was very helpful ,polite & with a great sense of humor.

Regards

Stavros & Sandra

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was booked into this hotel for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday. Supposed to be superior room
But could not swing a cat. The room was tiny and the bedspread was ripped. Extremely warm room and even with heating off had to open window. As the room overlooked a major street the noise was a great problem. The breakfast was mediocre to say the least with not much choice. Unfortunately we were robbed on the metro and the hotel did nothing to help us so we packed up and left. We booked into another hotel and they bent over backwards to help. Would not recommend to anyone the only upside is that it is close to the Vatican.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived here after a fantastic few days in Florence & was absolutely gutted. Had booked this place expecting a comfortable four star in which to spend my wedding anniversary what we got was faulty towers without the laughs. This hotel is tired and in need of a overhaul. The tiny lift is scruffy & rickety, the rooms are small dark & old fashioned (not in a charming way). The key we were handed was selotaped together, the hotel factsheet was a scruffy piece of paper, the 'minibar' contained two things and was decrepit. All in all by anyones standards this hotel would struggle to make 2 stars let alone the 4 it purports to have. Needless to say we did not stay!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Hi All,

I recently stayed at this hotel for a short weekend break away to Rome. Please read the below review before placing your booking at this hotel.

Service - The level of customer service we received was extremely helpful and friendly. All the staff members at the front of house was helpful.

Location - Brilliant location to get around Rome and walking distances to major attractions around the area.

Room - The room is very small, nothing special just your average basic room with the most basic things. I was a bit disappointed as the pictures were nothing alike. It could do with a revamp and a splash of life to update.

Decor - Around the hotel decor was charming but could do with a lot of work on the walls, corridors and empty spaces around the hotel.

Breakfast - Again, nothing special just your normal average meal so don't expect anything major. I would recommend to save your money and eat OUT!

Overall, I had a joyful experience in ROME but a average stay at this hotel. I wouldn't say this hotel is a 4star, would say it's mostly a 3star. A lot of work needs addressing to even get that 4 rating. If the Hotel Manager needs examples, I am happy to explain in greater detail to help improve the hotel coming from a hotel background.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Hi All,

I recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend for my partners 30th birthday surprise. Please read before placing your booking:

Service - I have to admit, the level of service the hotel provided us was extremely professional and charming. The staff at the reception desk was extremely friendly and helpful.

Room - We stayed in room 109 based on the 1st floor and I must say, the room needs updating and it looks a bit tired. We had a issue with the shower (hot water) not coming through, I phoned reception to complain and they sent up the housekeeping to see if they can resolve this for us but couldn't. We waited for almost 20-30min's for the handy-man to resolve this for us and he did. There was no apology for the inconvenience caused nor was there a room to be offered when this occurrence happened. The work done was manageable to take a shower, I find this a bit upsetting for a 4star hotel! Would expect this kind of problem from a 3star!
Location - Brilliant location to get around the main attractions
Breakfast - Nothing special, just your average breakfast
Decor - The decor in the building needed updating and work to be done.

Overall experience was average, nothing special but the level of customer care which had been granted, apart from the shower issue. I would recommend the decor around the hotel needs updating ASAP but had a joyful break in Rome.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dei Consoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Consoli

Address: Via Varrone 2D | Angolo Via Cola di Rienzo, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#155 Business Hotel in Rome
#200 Family Hotel in Rome
#213 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Consoli 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel, Hotel dei Consoli opened in 2000 is a luxury hotel in rome, and offers guests excellent hospitality in an atmosphere of elegance and imperial splendor.Hotel dei Consoli is located in via Varrone, near the Vatican with its majestic piazza and church, in a sumptuous building fully refurbished in the Empire style. The interior stucco work is by the Neopolitan master craftsmen who were responsible for the decoration of the famous Reggia di Caserta near Naples. The Hotel occupies three storeys, respectively designated the storeys of the Mappamondi (maps of the world), Fiori (flowers) and Battaglie (battles). On the roof garden and terrace you can enjoy breakfast while admiring the famous dome of St Peter's. The peaceful atmosphere is especially welcomed by single guests looking for rest and comfort in total seclusion. Furnishings in warm colours and careful soundproofing make the hotel an oasis of refinement and peace right in the heart of the Eternal City. With its elegant atmosphere, fully-qualified staff and all the very latest technology, Hotel dei Consoli is sure to make your visit to Rome an unforgettable experience."Since 2006 the Hotel dei Consoli has the best customer reviews on Trip Advisor: friendliest and best staff, great location, very clean, home away from home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dei Consoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Consoli Rome
Dei Consoli Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dei Consoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.