We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Nice rooms. Friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Consoli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dei Consoli to your Saves list
Hotel Dei Consoli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Varrone 2D | Angolo Via Cola di Rienzo, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location. Nice rooms. Friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for three nights in feb. Very good location and convenient rooms. Service isgood. The only problem was no hot water in the bath. It was only close to warm enough to have a shower without trembling.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Client,
thank you so much for your recommendation of Hotel dei Consoli to other travelers for the very good location, service and nice rooms.
I hope to have you again here with us.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    194
    62
    26
    10
See reviews for
79
277
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hi we have just returned from Rome and a weeks stay at this hotel, we loved the hotel. People are right the rooms are small but they are beautifully furnished and being so close to the Vatican I wouldn't expect it to be any thing else. My only critic is there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, after a hard day sightseeing before you go out for a meal a warm drink is a small luxury. The staff are brilliant and nothing is too much trouble. The desk staff are so helpful and always point you in the right direction. Good value good quality excellent ambience what more can you ask

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Lisa,
I am proud to read that you loved your stay at hotel dei Consoli.
Thank you so much for recommending the hotel and for putting in evidence the pleasant and helpful staff.
I am sorry that you missed coffee making machine in the room. It is in fact not included in our standard because of repeated misuse from some clients in the past that were causing problems; we provide heater on request to some customers for spefici need (e.g. need to have warm milk for a baby, for some disease, etc.).
I hope to have you again here at the hotel.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is very good. Rooms are very well decored and confortable. They gave me a room upgrade for free. Breakfast is very well served and personel very simpatic. Next time me and my family for sure will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Daniela,
thank you for recommending the Hotel dei Consoli after your very positive experience.
We enjoy to read about full satisfaction.
Hope to stay in touch and to have you here again in the future
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bauan, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I had a very good stay in this hotel while we were in Rome. Very near to the Vatican, a few minutes away from Roma Termini, Taxi stand and trams are just a few meters away including the subway, hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. Next time we visit Rome or Vatican, we will always consider staying in the same Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Reginald,
I am very proud that you and your wife had a wonderful stay with us. It is our mission and commitment to contribute to our customer pleasant stay.
Best wishes and hope to see you again.
With the warmest regards to you and your wife.
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights in February. As it was our first visit to Rome we wanted to see as many of the sights that we could within our short stay. The Hotel Dei Consoli was an absolute perfect base. The Vatican is 5 minutes away and we found that the other main attractions were within walking distance but if you were not keen on walking, catch the number 81 bus from just around the corner (Sam's reccomendation!) which will take you right up to the Colloseum or hop off along the Via del Corso for sights such as the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, The Pantheon and great food and shopping. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our hotel room was spotlessly clean, it wasn't big but an average size for a city hotel and in a place like Rome where there are endless things to do and see you shouldn't be spending much time in your room anyway! This will be the hotel we choose when we return to Rome, three days just isn't enough!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Client,
we are proud to read that you had a great experience with us.
Thank you so much for recommending Hotel dei Consoli, particularly putting in evidence the "perfect location", not only for Saint Peter's Basilica but for all attractions in Rome.
We hope you to visit Rome again.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay in this hotel. The car collection from the airport worked well. The staff very helpful, the area was good for shopping and 5 minutes from the vatican. The room was kept spotless and we enjoyed our breakfast on the rooftop every morning. We hope to return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Arthur,
thank you so much for your review and for recommending the Hotel dei Consoli for all the positive experiences you had during your stay.
I look forward to having you again with us.
Warm regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukit Mertajam, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Dei Consoli and we were told that our hotel is Dependance Hotel Dei Consoli which is about 200m away. We reached the location where our room actually is and found that it's not bad at all. We were told that we get a bigger room, a free upgrade.
Location is very near to Vatican Museum entrance. Sound proofing is good, we didn't have any trouble to sleep even though we just flew from a place with 7hrs time difference.
One thing to note is the front desk is only at Hotel Dei Consoli.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Client,
we are happy to read that you had a good time at Dependance of Hotel dei Consoli. Thank you for your recommendation and for putting in evidence the "value for money" of your choose.
Looking forward to having you again here.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dei Consoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Consoli

Address: Via Varrone 2D | Angolo Via Cola di Rienzo, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#155 Business Hotel in Rome
#199 Family Hotel in Rome
#213 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Consoli 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel, Hotel dei Consoli opened in 2000 is a luxury hotel in rome, and offers guests excellent hospitality in an atmosphere of elegance and imperial splendor.Hotel dei Consoli is located in via Varrone, near the Vatican with its majestic piazza and church, in a sumptuous building fully refurbished in the Empire style. The interior stucco work is by the Neopolitan master craftsmen who were responsible for the decoration of the famous Reggia di Caserta near Naples. The Hotel occupies three storeys, respectively designated the storeys of the Mappamondi (maps of the world), Fiori (flowers) and Battaglie (battles). On the roof garden and terrace you can enjoy breakfast while admiring the famous dome of St Peter's. The peaceful atmosphere is especially welcomed by single guests looking for rest and comfort in total seclusion. Furnishings in warm colours and careful soundproofing make the hotel an oasis of refinement and peace right in the heart of the Eternal City. With its elegant atmosphere, fully-qualified staff and all the very latest technology, Hotel dei Consoli is sure to make your visit to Rome an unforgettable experience."Since 2006 the Hotel dei Consoli has the best customer reviews on Trip Advisor: friendliest and best staff, great location, very clean, home away from home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dei Consoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Consoli Rome
Dei Consoli Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dei Consoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.