We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Consoli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dei Consoli to your Saves list
Hotel Dei Consoli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Varrone 2D | Angolo Via Cola di Rienzo, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Beijing
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our stay was incredible all-round. The staff was very friendly (especially the hilarious desk clerk who greeted us -- sorry I cannot recall his name). The room was very nice, with free wi-fi, and very clean. The breakfast (included) was wonderful, with a mixture of hot (bacon and scrambled eggs) and cold (cold cuts, cheese, cereal, breads etc) and juice and coffee.

The hotel had a roof-top bar and restaurant, from which we could see the dome of St. Peter's Basilica. The hotel was a short walk from Vatican City and Vatican Museum, and nearby streets had ample high-end and mid-range shopping options. Nice restaurants, cafes and pizza snack bars were within walking distance.

The hotel is a fair distance (a 15-euro cab ride) from the Forum, but my wife and I walked there. It took about three hours, during which we passed the Spanish Steps and walked among the ruins and the Coliseum. (We took a taxi back to the hotel.)

The staff was friendly and they were incredibly efficient at cleaning the room. I see some others complain about lack of hot water, but that was not an issue for us. Also, there were three channels -- CNN, BBC and National Geographic? -- of English television.

On the downside, there did appear to be some street bums sleeping outside nearby buildings, but they did not bother us as we were entering or leaving the hotel.

I will stay at the hotel if I visit Rome again. It was well worth the money. I felt I got great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Rob,
thank you so much for your genuine and detailed review of Hotel dei Consoli.
We are proud to read you and an incredible wonderful stay with us. It is our commitment to contribute to a very pleasant and memorable stay of our guests.
Thank you for mentioning that you found the staff very friendly, the room very nice and very clean, the breakfast wonderful (with a mixture of hot - bacon and scrambled eggs - and cold -cold cuts, cheese, cereal, breads etc - and juice and coffee), that you enjoyed the roof-top bar with the view of the dome of St. Peter's Basilica, the very short walk from Vatican City and Vatican Museum, and the nearby shopping options, nice restaurants and cafes.
I hope to have you again at Hotel dei Consoli.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    194
    62
    26
    10
See reviews for
79
277
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel isn't bad but claiming to be four stars is pushing it. It is probably 3.5 star hotel. I'm well traveled and know what to expect from rooms and amenities and this hotel is not a four star... the room is actually quite large for a European city.

For two days in a row (I'm still staying at the hotel as I write this), there has been no hot water!! The only time my girlfriend or I had hot water for a shower was when she woke up at 6:30AM to take one. From 7 AM to 10 AM there is absolutely no hot water. We called downstairs and they told us to keep the shower running for ten minutes... doesn't work.

Anyway, a good shower is half of what you pay a hotel for besides a good sleep. I definitely would not recommend this hotel during a busy weekend. Possibly when there are less people staying here there might be hot water during the week.

Room Tip: Don't get the third floor, you can hear footsteps above you during breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Client,
I am sad at reading your review concerning the lack of hot water during your stay.
In fact, you are right for hot water and we do apologise for the inconvenient that occurred to us. Unfortunately, one of our water heaters broke down unexpectly and it took longer time to us to find a provider able to fix our problem. The remaining heaters probably did not work properly into your room. I am really sorry that you do not recommend the hotel for missing hot water that was at all referred to a temporary problem...
I like to thank you for recognising that room are large for an European City and for the great location, it is very sad for me that you do not mention breakfast, room cleanless, staff friendliness because these are usually areas where our clients recognise great commitment and very good results.
Please once again accept my sincere apologies.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent location, near the Vaticano and the classic Rome center.Plus the nearness to the subway. Makes easy to combine business and at evening have a view of Rome treasures
Very friendly and warm customer service,clean and tidy rooms and quiet by night (important for a business traveler)

Very good value for the buck¡¡¡¡

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Client,
we are so glad we exceeded all your expectations for your stay in Rome.
Thank you for your recommendation and for putting in evidence particularly the "excellent location (near the Vaticano and the classic Rome center.Plus the nearness to the subway)", the "very friendly and warm customer service", the "clean and tidy rooms and quiet by night"...
You are so incredibly right while considering that our location "makes easy to combine business and at evening have a view of Rome treasures".
Looking forward to having you again here at the Hotel dei Consoli. Please, next time, contact us directly and it will be my pleasure to meet you and to offer you a welcome drink.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is my second time staying at this hotel in two years. Fantastic location, minutes from the Vatican and near metro. Room was small, but clean. The best feature of this place is the terrace restaurant, with good food. Pleasant staff, aiming to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Client,
we are so glad when clients come back again and again at Hotel dei Consoli.
Thank you for chosing our hotel and for your kind review.
please next time contact us directly for your next trip since we usually reserve to our returning clients special treatments and offer with direct reservations.
With warm regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestec, Stredocesky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Amazing friendly hotel near Vatican and in walking distance to other nice parts of Rome. Near to metro station Ottaviano, near to train station St.Pietro. Small, but very nice room, excelent breakfast in terrace restaurant. Special thanks to Samuel on the reception, he was very helpful with planning trips, restaurant and shopping tips. In 30 or 40 minutes you can reach sea resorts Fregene or Cerveteri, which was in hot July very refreshing. We definitely come back to Dei Consoli!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Client,
I am truly thankful to you for having chosen the Hotel dei Consoli for your stay in Rome.
I am happy to read that all your expectations were met.
Thank you for posting how you appreciated the "amazing friendly hotel", the "very nice room", the "excellent breakfast in terrace restaurant", the "very helpful reception with planning trips, restaurant and shopping tips"
Thank you for recommending the Hotel dei Consoli to other travelers !!!
Looking forward to having you again here at the Hotel dei Consoli. Please, next time, contact us directly and it will be my pleasure to meet you and to offer you a welcome drink.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Hotel Consoli for a long weekend to celebrate my birthday. We chose this hotel mainly due to the location. When we arrived we were greeted by the very friendly, and helpful hotel staff, dumped our bags and headed straight out to see some sights. We were not disappointed by the location of this hotel; the vatican is literally a 5 minute walk. It is also in a good location for other attractions, most are within walking distance (if you are up for a longer walk), or there is a bus you can catch from around the corner that will take you to all of the main attractions.

I would recommend asking the staff for restaurant recommendations, they are very honest and give great advice. The hotel breakfast had everything we wanted and they also had a christmas market in the restaurant during our stay. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. We organised a taxi to pick us up from the airport which made life much easier and was well worth the 55 euros we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Client,
we do love having clients celebrating events at Hotel dei Consoli!!
Thank you to you and your Husband for having chosen our hotel and for putting in evidence "the very friendly and helpful hotel staff", the location ("the Vatican is literally a 5 minute walk. It is also in a good location for other main attractions, most are within walking distance"), "the very honest and great advices"., the breakfast and last but not least "the comfortable room"...
Looking forward to having you again here at the Hotel dei Consoli. Please, next time, contact us directly and it will be my pleasure to meet you and to offer you a welcome drink.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Vatican City.
The traffic is very convenient.

Also, the room is tiny and clean.
Breakfast is satisfactory.
Staff is friendly and helpful.

I love my staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Client,
I am so proud you enjoyed your stay at Hotel dei Consoli. Thank you so much for your recommendation and for putting in great evidence our "fantastic location" to be straight close to the Vatican and in a very central location for everywhere in Rome.
Hope to have you again at Hotel dei Consoli. Please, next time, contact us directly and it will be my pleasure to meet you and to offer you and your Family/Friends a welcome drink.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dei Consoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Consoli

Address: Via Varrone 2D | Angolo Via Cola di Rienzo, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#152 Business Hotel in Rome
#199 Family Hotel in Rome
#213 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Consoli 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel, Hotel dei Consoli opened in 2000 is a luxury hotel in rome, and offers guests excellent hospitality in an atmosphere of elegance and imperial splendor.Hotel dei Consoli is located in via Varrone, near the Vatican with its majestic piazza and church, in a sumptuous building fully refurbished in the Empire style. The interior stucco work is by the Neopolitan master craftsmen who were responsible for the decoration of the famous Reggia di Caserta near Naples. The Hotel occupies three storeys, respectively designated the storeys of the Mappamondi (maps of the world), Fiori (flowers) and Battaglie (battles). On the roof garden and terrace you can enjoy breakfast while admiring the famous dome of St Peter's. The peaceful atmosphere is especially welcomed by single guests looking for rest and comfort in total seclusion. Furnishings in warm colours and careful soundproofing make the hotel an oasis of refinement and peace right in the heart of the Eternal City. With its elegant atmosphere, fully-qualified staff and all the very latest technology, Hotel dei Consoli is sure to make your visit to Rome an unforgettable experience."Since 2006 the Hotel dei Consoli has the best customer reviews on Trip Advisor: friendliest and best staff, great location, very clean, home away from home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dei Consoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Consoli Rome
Dei Consoli Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dei Consoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.