We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first time in a class hotel in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Consoli

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dei Consoli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dei Consoli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Varrone 2D | Angolo Via Cola di Rienzo, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My first time in a class hotel in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent location, near the Vaticano and the classic Rome center.Plus the nearness to the subway. Makes easy to combine business and at evening have a view of Rome treasures
Very friendly and warm customer service,clean and tidy rooms and quiet by night (important for a business traveler)

Very good value for the buck¡¡¡¡

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Client,
we are so glad we exceeded all your expectations for your stay in Rome.
Thank you for your recommendation and for putting in evidence particularly the "excellent location (near the Vaticano and the classic Rome center.Plus the nearness to the subway)", the "very friendly and warm customer service", the "clean and tidy rooms and quiet by night"...
You are so incredibly right while considering that our location "makes easy to combine business and at evening have a view of Rome treasures".
Looking forward to having you again here at the Hotel dei Consoli. Please, next time, contact us directly and it will be my pleasure to meet you and to offer you a welcome drink.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    184
    54
    25
    7
See reviews for
73
255
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is my second time staying at this hotel in two years. Fantastic location, minutes from the Vatican and near metro. Room was small, but clean. The best feature of this place is the terrace restaurant, with good food. Pleasant staff, aiming to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Client,
we are so glad when clients come back again and again at Hotel dei Consoli.
Thank you for chosing our hotel and for your kind review.
please next time contact us directly for your next trip since we usually reserve to our returning clients special treatments and offer with direct reservations.
With warm regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestec, Stredocesky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Amazing friendly hotel near Vatican and in walking distance to other nice parts of Rome. Near to metro station Ottaviano, near to train station St.Pietro. Small, but very nice room, excelent breakfast in terrace restaurant. Special thanks to Samuel on the reception, he was very helpful with planning trips, restaurant and shopping tips. In 30 or 40 minutes you can reach sea resorts Fregene or Cerveteri, which was in hot July very refreshing. We definitely come back to Dei Consoli!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Client,
I am truly thankful to you for having chosen the Hotel dei Consoli for your stay in Rome.
I am happy to read that all your expectations were met.
Thank you for posting how you appreciated the "amazing friendly hotel", the "very nice room", the "excellent breakfast in terrace restaurant", the "very helpful reception with planning trips, restaurant and shopping tips"
Thank you for recommending the Hotel dei Consoli to other travelers !!!
Looking forward to having you again here at the Hotel dei Consoli. Please, next time, contact us directly and it will be my pleasure to meet you and to offer you a welcome drink.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Hotel Consoli for a long weekend to celebrate my birthday. We chose this hotel mainly due to the location. When we arrived we were greeted by the very friendly, and helpful hotel staff, dumped our bags and headed straight out to see some sights. We were not disappointed by the location of this hotel; the vatican is literally a 5 minute walk. It is also in a good location for other attractions, most are within walking distance (if you are up for a longer walk), or there is a bus you can catch from around the corner that will take you to all of the main attractions.

I would recommend asking the staff for restaurant recommendations, they are very honest and give great advice. The hotel breakfast had everything we wanted and they also had a christmas market in the restaurant during our stay. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. We organised a taxi to pick us up from the airport which made life much easier and was well worth the 55 euros we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Client,
we do love having clients celebrating events at Hotel dei Consoli!!
Thank you to you and your Husband for having chosen our hotel and for putting in evidence "the very friendly and helpful hotel staff", the location ("the Vatican is literally a 5 minute walk. It is also in a good location for other main attractions, most are within walking distance"), "the very honest and great advices"., the breakfast and last but not least "the comfortable room"...
Looking forward to having you again here at the Hotel dei Consoli. Please, next time, contact us directly and it will be my pleasure to meet you and to offer you a welcome drink.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Vatican City.
The traffic is very convenient.

Also, the room is tiny and clean.
Breakfast is satisfactory.
Staff is friendly and helpful.

I love my staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Client,
I am so proud you enjoyed your stay at Hotel dei Consoli. Thank you so much for your recommendation and for putting in great evidence our "fantastic location" to be straight close to the Vatican and in a very central location for everywhere in Rome.
Hope to have you again at Hotel dei Consoli. Please, next time, contact us directly and it will be my pleasure to meet you and to offer you and your Family/Friends a welcome drink.
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

What more could you ask. In the centre of Rome close to the metro and many sites of interest. The staff were fantastic and very knowledgable. It was my husbands birthday and a bottle of Prosecco was waiting in our room when we arrived. holiday!A very good start to our

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Susan,
thank you so much for your genuine review and recommendation of Hotel dei Consoli.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you particularly for recognising that the "staff were fantastic and very knowledgable".
It is our focus and pleasure to support people celebration as birthdays, anniversaries and honeymoons..
We look forward to having you again here with us.
Warm regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great location for exploring Rome, starting with the Vatican. Lovely well appointed room, staff friendly & helpful. Breakfast in the roof terrace restaurant was excellent, particularly the 3 hour window to partake - no need to get up in a hurry unless you want to!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraHotelConsoli, Owner at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Natalie,
thank you so much for your review and recommendation of Hotel dei Consoli.
Thank you for putting in evidence the "great location for exploring Rome, starting with the Vatican", the "lovely well appointed room", the "staff friendly & helpful", the "excellent breakfast in the roof terrace"..
We look forward to having you again here at the Hotel dei Consoli !!
Kind regards,
Amalia Consoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dei Consoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Consoli

Address: Via Varrone 2D | Angolo Via Cola di Rienzo, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#115 Business Hotel in Rome
#121 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#197 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Consoli 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel, Hotel dei Consoli opened in 2000 is a luxury hotel in rome, and offers guests excellent hospitality in an atmosphere of elegance and imperial splendor.Hotel dei Consoli is located in via Varrone, near the Vatican with its majestic piazza and church, in a sumptuous building fully refurbished in the Empire style. The interior stucco work is by the Neopolitan master craftsmen who were responsible for the decoration of the famous Reggia di Caserta near Naples. The Hotel occupies three storeys, respectively designated the storeys of the Mappamondi (maps of the world), Fiori (flowers) and Battaglie (battles). On the roof garden and terrace you can enjoy breakfast while admiring the famous dome of St Peter's. The peaceful atmosphere is especially welcomed by single guests looking for rest and comfort in total seclusion. Furnishings in warm colours and careful soundproofing make the hotel an oasis of refinement and peace right in the heart of the Eternal City. With its elegant atmosphere, fully-qualified staff and all the very latest technology, Hotel dei Consoli is sure to make your visit to Rome an unforgettable experience."Since 2006 the Hotel dei Consoli has the best customer reviews on Trip Advisor: friendliest and best staff, great location, very clean, home away from home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Dei Consoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Consoli Rome
Dei Consoli Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dei Consoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.