We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick visit with Mum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pace Helvezia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pace Helvezia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pace Helvezia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via IV Novembre 104 | Piazza Venezia, 00186 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #646 of 1,265 hotels in Rome
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quick visit with Mum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Mum and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night so that we could see Rome and travel to the airport next day for an early flight. The hotel was brilliantly located and the highlight for me was the roof terrace and the views from the bedroom. The terrace had lovely furniture and flowers. There was no waiter service so you could take your own wine or drinks up and sit and watch the sunset over Rome. The room was nicely furnished and appointed and the air conditioning worked well. Downstairs lounge was lovely and cool and a nice place to sit and relax. Nice breakfast in a lovely airy room and lots of choice (as far as continental breakfasts go) with good service.The location was amazing, we could walk easily to Trevi, Pantheon, etc and it was a great place to watch the world go by. Even though it is situated on one of the main roads in Rome, the room was quiete because it faced into a back courtyard. There is a little place in front of the hotel to pull into to unload luggage and then there is a car park really close by. Book with the hotel first and then take the car and they will park it for you. Got a really good deal in April but have not managed to return yet as the price shot up in June.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing to the back if you want to be sure of a nice quiete room. I've not actuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    115
    80
    33
    42
See reviews for
64
120
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were a litle early for check in but our luggage as stored for us at reception while we explored the city. Staff were friendly and courteous. The room was on the 5th floor at the rear of the hotel . I had requested a room with a balcony and that's what we got, with a nice view over the rooftops.
The lifts are tiny with room for only 2 adults or 1 + luggage.The decor was a bit dated and the a/c was a little noisy but the room was adeqate size with all mod cons including free wi-fi and an in-room safe as well as a complementary bottle of prosecco!
The roof garden is a must see and sitting there with a relaxing drink overlooking the Rome skyline was terrific.The buffet breakfast was very good with ample choice of fruit,cheeses, cold meats, pastries and cereals.
The real bonus however is the location. 5-10mins walk to Trevi Fountain, 15-20mins walk to Pantheon or Colosseum or a short taxi ride to the Vatican.
This hotel may be a little dated but that's far outweighed by the other features mentioned. I'd happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear and with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

excellent hotel staff really helpful had faulty air conditioning but we were given another room straight away . great choice of breakfast and central to everything . hotel immaculate . would definately stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here with my friend recently after choosing it from a big list on travel republic. We were so pleased with our choice! In terms of location, it was great, just a short walk from the Roman Forum and within easy reach of the Colosseum. Also, just around the corner was a local bus that took you to The Vatican within 10 mins for only 1.60 so you could get to all the sights really easily.
The hotel itself could do with a little bit of an uplift, some of the paint work looks a little tired, but it's not a major issue. Our room was on the 6th floor and wasn't huge but considering you're probably going to be out most of the time, it was adequate, and the bathroom was quite nice with a good shower. The best bit of our room was the view, as soon as I opened the shutters i said wow, as we could see the big memorial to Victor Emmanuel II and across the city towards the Vatican.
If you have a room that faces the road, don't worry, as the hotel has a lovely roof top terrace, which has even better views, as you can also see the Colosseum off to your left. There's some nice patio furniture up there and you are allowed to take drinks from outside up there, which is good as other hotels would no doubt make you buy stuff from them only. We sat up there in the glorious sunshine and couldn't believe we had such a lovely view for such a reasonably priced hotel.
The breakfast at the hotel was good. it's buffet style and had all the usual suspects of a continental breakfast: rolls, cheese, cold meats, eggs. But it also had different combos of tomatoes and cheeses plus fruit, yoghurts, a toasting machine, jams, pastries and small cakes. So definitely more than adequate, again, especially as it's included in the price.
The staff on reception were very helpful, they told us where to get the bus, and recommended somewhere nice to eat for lunch.
All in all, for your basic needs, a great location and a gorgeous view, this hotel fits the bill and as I'm sure I'll return to Rome in the future, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the end room on the sixth floor as you definitely get a decent room there and a great view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel good points -
- free wifi
- good central location / walking distance from most sights
- very nice roof terrace and views of rome

Hotel bad points-
- reception/lounge and rooms are old/tired and dated
- breakfast ranged from Average to poor including awful quality bread and watered down orange juice
- most uncomfortable hard hotel bed I've ever experienced.

In short , if luxury is important to you , then this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel has a great location! In walking distance to the main sights of Rome and to bus and metro stops. Yes the hotel is a bit out dated and the lift a bit noisy, but my room was clean and comfortable (with a pretty good view!) and the staff friendly and helpful. I would stay here again 'when' I come back to Rome!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotels on the upper floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landshut, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Hotel is brilliant located in the city centre of Rom. From our roof top we had fantastic views over the city. 10 minute walk to the colloseum and 2 minutes to the Complesso del Vittoriano.
Would take the same hotel next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pace Helvezia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pace Helvezia Hotel

Address: Via IV Novembre 104 | Piazza Venezia, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#245 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pace Helvezia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial mansion in the heart of the historical city - Near Venice Square, the Colosseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and getaroom.com so you can book your Pace Helvezia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Pace Helvezia Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pace Helvezia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.