We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pace Helvezia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pace Helvezia Hotel to your Saves list
Pace Helvezia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via IV Novembre 104 | Piazza Venezia, 00186 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #525 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here with my friend recently after choosing it from a big list on travel republic. We were so pleased with our choice! In terms of location, it was great, just a short walk from the Roman Forum and within easy reach of the Colosseum. Also, just around the corner was a local bus that took you to The Vatican within 10 mins for only 1.60 so you could get to all the sights really easily.
The hotel itself could do with a little bit of an uplift, some of the paint work looks a little tired, but it's not a major issue. Our room was on the 6th floor and wasn't huge but considering you're probably going to be out most of the time, it was adequate, and the bathroom was quite nice with a good shower. The best bit of our room was the view, as soon as I opened the shutters i said wow, as we could see the big memorial to Victor Emmanuel II and across the city towards the Vatican.
If you have a room that faces the road, don't worry, as the hotel has a lovely roof top terrace, which has even better views, as you can also see the Colosseum off to your left. There's some nice patio furniture up there and you are allowed to take drinks from outside up there, which is good as other hotels would no doubt make you buy stuff from them only. We sat up there in the glorious sunshine and couldn't believe we had such a lovely view for such a reasonably priced hotel.
The breakfast at the hotel was good. it's buffet style and had all the usual suspects of a continental breakfast: rolls, cheese, cold meats, eggs. But it also had different combos of tomatoes and cheeses plus fruit, yoghurts, a toasting machine, jams, pastries and small cakes. So definitely more than adequate, again, especially as it's included in the price.
The staff on reception were very helpful, they told us where to get the bus, and recommended somewhere nice to eat for lunch.
All in all, for your basic needs, a great location and a gorgeous view, this hotel fits the bill and as I'm sure I'll return to Rome in the future, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the end room on the sixth floor as you definitely get a decent room there and a great view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel good points -
- free wifi
- good central location / walking distance from most sights
- very nice roof terrace and views of rome

Hotel bad points-
- reception/lounge and rooms are old/tired and dated
- breakfast ranged from Average to poor including awful quality bread and watered down orange juice
- most uncomfortable hard hotel bed I've ever experienced.

In short , if luxury is important to you , then this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkarlssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Zurich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel has a great location! In walking distance to the main sights of Rome and to bus and metro stops. Yes the hotel is a bit out dated and the lift a bit noisy, but my room was clean and comfortable (with a pretty good view!) and the staff friendly and helpful. I would stay here again 'when' I come back to Rome!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotels on the upper floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landshut, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Hotel is brilliant located in the city centre of Rom. From our roof top we had fantastic views over the city. 10 minute walk to the colloseum and 2 minutes to the Complesso del Vittoriano.
Would take the same hotel next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaschaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

As I got closer to the room I started smelling MOLD , entering the room the smell intensified and
I noticed wall paper peeling off next to the bed, confirming my suspicion regarding humidity problems.
Unfortunately also the pillows smelled of MOLD.

The view was definitely not the prime view described in other reviews, as the window of Room 18 faces a rather shabby courtyard.
Interesting noises echoing fron the courtyard woke me up several times during the 3 nights I spent there, some sort of "angry ducks" ?? .

The first morning I took a very uncomfortable shower in the nicely renovated bathroom, as the shower head was not fixed firmly to its support.
I asked to have it repaired and the repair job lasted 1 shower, after which the shower head was hanging again limply from its support.

Breakfast was tendentially good but bread and pastry could have been of better quality i.e. more representative of Italian culinary excellence.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 18
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Giacomo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Brilliant location - can walk just about everywhere from it. 10 - 15 mins from the coliseum & roman forum.
Staff polite & courteous enough although nothing special.
Room was a bit disappointing. Stains on the ceiling, wall paper damaged on the walls, mold in the very small shower, no plug in the sink, no trouser press (advertised in the hotel blurb), no iron.
In summary a tired Hotel in need of a bit of TLC & investment.
Breakfast (we were only B&B) was good and there are terrific views from the roof terrace.
This would in my opinion be a 3 star in the UK.
The above would not stop me recommending it, although would emphasis it's quality is the location & does not have a wow factor at all.

Room Tip: Ask if there any that have been recently updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

On entering the hotel we were quickly checked in, we asked if we could have a high floor with a balcony, the man on reception advised us that it can be a little noisy due to the main road, we decided to take the room, we did not find it noisy so no problem, the room was had everything you needed for a comfortable stay, I had read a review were someone had complained the TV had no English speaking channels, you are in the most romantic city in the world, who needs a TV, the room safe did not work, but they offered us free use of a safe deposit box on reception, the shower had a mind of its own but it was ok, the breakfast was very good and the staff very nice, although the hotel had a few minor faults I have scored the hotel a excellent rating as I have saved the best till last, they have a roof terrace that I think is unrivalled in Rome, the view is excellent, next time in Rome will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: if you want to book a trip use "Dark Rome" they are excellent, get a high floor, and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVEHOLIDAYINCROATIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Cosmopolita Hotel
Cosmopolita Hotel
#470 of 1,272 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#571 of 1,272 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Genio Hotel
Genio Hotel
#658 of 1,272 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#4 of 1,272 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 5,071 reviews
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#454 of 1,272 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Eliseo Hotel
Eliseo Hotel
#683 of 1,272 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pace Helvezia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pace Helvezia Hotel

Address: Via IV Novembre 104 | Piazza Venezia, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#214 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Pace Helvezia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial mansion in the heart of the historical city - Near Venice Square, the Colosseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pace Helvezia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Pace Helvezia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing