We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, It's Elderly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pace Helvezia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pace Helvezia Hotel to your Saves list
Pace Helvezia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via IV Novembre 104 | Piazza Venezia, 00186 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #614 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Missouri
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Yes, It's Elderly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

And, yes, the location is fabulous, ditto the rooftop terrace. Rack rate on my 2-twins-made-up-as-one-bed room was 450 euros, but of course TA regulars never pay rack rate, right? I chose this because it was covered with points from a credit card I have and the rooftop looked irresistible. Room was not as small as it would have been in Manhattan and bathroom was larger. I found the front desk folks pleasant and helpful, although people who like best-pal-chatty will be disappointed. By the 3rd day, they recognized me and knew what my room number was. The decor is dated, although I find that in many non-chain European hotels. My lower-floor room was not dark, although it would be a stretch to call it sunny. Firm mattress, so firm I was concerned but it slept really well.

The problems occur with the details. There was no roller for toilet paper in the bathroom for my entire stay and the lid to the wastebasket there was broken off and placed on top without being fixed. Something had splattered on the bathroom window and was never cleaned. The day before I left, the room was never made up at all.

There was an in-room safe, which isn't mentioned on the website; had I known, I would have taken my netbook. There's wi-fi, and a computer in the lounge area which is accessed by cards you purchase at the front desk, 3 euros/30 minutes, 5 euros/ an hour. There's also a fridge in each room that's stocked on the honor system. The terrace doesn't have waiter service, so it's up to you to bring your own drinks. (Please take the empty bottle and glasses back, unlike some folks I saw.) Large breakfast buffet, and one earlier TA commenter talked about hwo hard it is to get a second cup of coffee; boy, is that right, no matter how busy it is or isn't. Lovely mortadella, tomato salad (Italians like their salad tomatoes a little green, be aware) and little balls of mozzarella. Sweet pastries can be somewhat stale.

Would I stay again? Depends on how much I'd have to pay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    125
    88
    39
    43
See reviews for
71
132
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day break at this hotel. The location couldn't be better and the roof top terrace is a must for an end of day glass of wine. The hotel is clean (our bed linen was changed every 2 days) and comfortable. The hotel staff are friendly and very helpful. The continental buffet style breakfast was fresh and plentiful. I had read some negative reviews before we went but I think these people must have stayed at a different hotel!!! Would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in 95 and 96 which were both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Will start with the pros: located within walking distance to all major sites, shopping areas and good restaurants nearby, loved the roof-top seating at night, comfy bed, working A/C despite horrible heatwave, nice breakfast buffet.
The cons: very small room with one small wardrobe, shower hardware fell off wall, hairdryer fell apart in my hands, worn/stained bedspread, breakfast room extremely warm.
Elevator warning! Do not allow more than 3 people in the 3-person elevator as it will stop moving! Not a pleasant experience.
With so many hotel choices, would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meyreuil, France
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The best two things about the Pace Helvezia Hotel are its and location and the view from the roof terrace. Otherwise, the rooms are dark, though air-conditioned with a window unit, and the staff not very friendly or helpful. If you get this hotel at a good rate, then it's acceptable. Most things you want to see in Rome are in easy walking distance. Being so central, it's surrounded by noisy traffic, and the air-conditioners help to eliminate the noise. If you can get a room on the roof terrace you will be very pleased, but they are not easy to book.

Room Tip: Book a room on the roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEEKSKILL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Honestly, although the view is spectacular, this hotel needs a lot of work in order to be viewed as a "4 star" hotel: Our room (95) had a very old, uncomfortable bed (you could literally feel the springs in the mattress), the pillows were incredibly flat, I was bitten by something the first night I was there, the toilet seat was loose- it shifted anytime we sat on it, the shower doors didn't shut correctly because the rubber edge is missing on one door (therefore, the water went everywhere), the shower head came loose and didn't hold up, on our second day the light blocking shade got stuck- luckily the handyman was around and fixed it (he also fixed the wobbly toilet). In the evening, when Claudio is in the front desk chatting away on the phone, he just can't "be bothered," everytime I asked him a question about where something was he would just brush me away. The day staff were friendlier. Also, they need to stop serving instant coffee at breakfast, nobody was drinking it. I am not one to stay at fancy hotels, but the minimum I expect is for a curtious staff and things that work in our room! What a dissapointment! This is a crummy old hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Aldershot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Although a little old fashioned, we enjoyed our stay, we had requested a high level room and were pleased to be in the 6th floor, as if lower the traffic to the front would have caused us issues. The location is excellent and a short walk to the Trevi fountian and others. The room was large and well equipped. Breakfast was OK, but the rolls were hard and the choice a little limiting. The roof top terrace is stunning and sitting in the evening looking across the the Coloseum and Vatican City makes this hotel very individual.

Room Tip: Dont miss out on the roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stopped here 2-4 August and have to say that the location is perfect. It was an easy walk to all of the major tourist attractions. The free breakfast was very good, with a wide variety of cold meats, cheeses and pastries available. Yes, the roof terrace really does have great views!
My only grumble was that the bed was far too hard. It really was beyond firm and more like sleeping on stone, I woke up with back ache each morning. This is a real shame as the hotel was good other than this.

Room Tip: Not room 9!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pace Helvezia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pace Helvezia Hotel

Address: Via IV Novembre 104 | Piazza Venezia, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#237 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pace Helvezia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial mansion in the heart of the historical city - Near Venice Square, the Colosseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pace Helvezia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Pace Helvezia Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pace Helvezia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.