We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay...........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Ippocrate 119, 00161 Rome, Italy (San Lorenzo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #346 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay...........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights before our Mediterranean Cruise, and we were very pleased overall. The front desk staff is especially helpful and very pleasant. There are a few good restaurants in the area that are walking distance, as well as grocery stores. The metro is about a 10 minute walk, but there is a bus stop just a few steps from the hotel. Also the breakfast was very good. The hot choices were not especially appetizing, but the "continental" choices were abundant, and a good way to start your day of exploring. So, overall....very good....clean....I would recommend and return.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony....we used ours at the end of the day to unwind with nice Italian wine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    385
    149
    45
    13
See reviews for
267
216
24
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Siberian District, Russia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

If you want to feel real Italy you should stay at this hotel. Initially it was an apartment building transferred to the hotel. Therefore the rooms can be quite different. It's not located in the city centre, but only 7-10 minutes walking from the subway station. Therefore the service is awful. It was a group of 6 people: 3 families 2 persons in each. We arrived about 16 o'clock, but only one room was ready. 2 other rooms have been preparing and these preparations were only started when we arrived. So we were standing near the entrance door of our rooms and were waiting for cleaning process is fulfilling. The hotel was fully booked, that's why we weren't able to take other rooms. The second thing I didn't like it the principle the service is done. If you ask for something once, it won't be done. You should do it twice to see the result. Now enough shampoo or toilet paper - ask twice. Want towels to be replaced - ask twice. It was really hard for me to understand this, but later I realized that it's a real spirit of Italy: relax and don't worry about anything! Breakfasts and dinners are awesome in comparison with other Italian hotels. Forget about cup of coffee and a bun for breakfast. Here you can find meat, vegetables, fruits, cereals, juice, coffee, tea etc. You will see even greater variety of food for dinner. Summarizing everything up it's a nice hotel with service that should be a little bit quicker. Visiting Italy you are to be ready for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed here about 8 years ago when the hotel was Tulip chain. Come to Rome once a year and the previous experience and the price were impressive enough for another 7 night spell.
The hotel clientelle is an even mix of tourists and business.
The strong point of the hotel is getting the basics right, the standard chain room well maintained and cleaned with a decent size electronic safe and acceptable noise levels. Staff are effecient and businesslike, pretty much sums the hotel up as well really.
One of the main attractions of Best Western is free Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi itself was good and reliable but with an irritating voucher/password system where even staying 7 days you had to go down to reception daily and get a new password.
If you painted a picture in your mind of a mid-range hotels breakfast buffet the spread at the Globus would be probably be pretty much it. Since the last time I was here they have moved the breakfast room from the rooftop to the basement, a slight step backwards me thinks. Although light modern and airy it felt like a McDonald's basement restaurant. Again effecient more than memorable.
Another "innovation" since my last visit was an evening buffet. On paper this should be attractive. Full marks for trying to provide a "value" evening restaurant option, but the €15 buffet was very poorly executed, few people made use of it. It was so surprisingly bad the first time (very limited choice, food not kept warm ...) went back a 2nd night thinking the first night was must have been an exception, but it was worse the 2nd time. Just a little effort and this could surely be a winner.
The other factor that cannot be ignored for tourists is its location, not the most central. There is a frequent bus that passes the door, that takes you to Termini in only 5 minutes 24x7 and the Metro is 5/10 minutes, two stops from termini station. If you want to invest time studying the bus/tram maps there are exotic alternatives to get around, e.g. a tram direct to the Vatican for example.So a small inconvenience there for which you will normally be rewarded by a much lower hotel rate tha the equivalent quality more central.

There are basically just bars and small shops in the immediate vicinity. Nearest supermarket is 5 minutes walk, but as you'll get very familiar passing through Termini Station to get the bus might as well use the supermarket there.
Space for public areas is limited with a "cosy" reception/lounge area, no gym. There is a dedicated luggage room too if you have a late flight out.

Summing up if you are independent, value seeking budget minded traveller, comfortable with using public transport and looking for a hotel that gets the basics right in Rome then in my opinion based on over a decade visiting Rome this should be one option you should benchmark against alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The room was filthy, especially the bathroom which had hair, pieces of toilet paper and dirt all over the floor. The toilet paper is actually not rolls, but individual pieces of paper. The shower was so small that you couldn't avoid the shower curtain clinging to your body. There was body wash but no shampoo.

Thankfully, the bed was comfortable.

We booked this hotel based on the reputation of The Best Western; however, it certainly didn't live up to that reputation, even for Rome standards.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Symi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

A cosy hotel with nice rooms. The balcony really makes a difference.
Though it is a 3 star hotel it could be a 4 star for Rome standards.
There is however a small sitback which is its location. If you feel more comfortable using Metro you're going to walk a good 8-10 minutes to get to the nearby station.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed here with my brother, his wife, and my best friend during our road trip through Italy in May '09. We got into town and parked on the street. Luckily they have a garage so my brother was able to park the car there. The hotel is far from the historic center. It is on the other side of the main train station, close to the university and hospital. Lots of young folk around the area and lots of great, inexpensive places to eat.

Walking up the steps, you go in through the automatic glass doors and head on into the lobby area where the reception desk is. The lobby is nice and large and bright. The person who checked us in was young and quite professional. She got us our keys and we headed up the elevator to our room. We had decided to all stay in one room to help with keeping cost down, so there was a queen bed and bunk beds. My buddy and I stayed on the bunk beds which was quite the adventure. I was all the way at the top and at some point at night rolled over and fell onto the floor (ouch!). My buddy and I should've probably got a separate room. The room was large, but simple. Bathroom was clean and a little on the small side. The decor was simple as well, not completely outdated, but certainly not contemporary.

For the price, we did good, but everything was quite far in regards to walking, but we did do the walking just to enjoy the stroll. If we had no where else to go to, we would stay here again in a pinch.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The room was really big, with a king-sized bed. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The only inconvenient with the room was the bathroom. Such a big room with such a small bathroom. The shower was really small, with IKEA curtains. You could not turn around the shower without touching the curtains and having all the water going out. Moreover, the water pressure was really low and you could not adjust the temperature of the water: either freezing cold or boiling hot.
Breakfast was ok, with a decent selection of pastries, fruits, cereals, cheeses etc. The staff was helful.

Room Tip: Ask for the working room. Is about 5 EUR more but the room is much bigger than the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel

Address: Viale Ippocrate 119, 00161 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Business Hotel in Rome
#210 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel is in the immediate vicinity of the Policlinico Umberto Primo hospital and "La Sapienza" University of Rome.Well connected by underground and public transport to Rome Termini central railway station, and therefore with the city's airports and other areas, the hotel is close to the city centre. Many of the city's tourist attractions, including the Baths of Diocletian and Piazza della Repubblica are within walking distance of the BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.