We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid 4 stars with air-conditioning issues in early October” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nazionale A Montecitorio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nazionale A Montecitorio to your Saves list
Hotel Nazionale A Montecitorio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Montecitorio 131, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #59 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Singapore
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
196 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
508 helpful votes 508 helpful votes
“Solid 4 stars with air-conditioning issues in early October”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Unlike other popular Italian cites like Venice and Florence, it was not an easy task finding the right Hotel in Rome that offers our top criterion for a good hotel stay - Central Location, Quiet for a good night's sleep & Italian charm. And of course, for people like us who are from the Tropics, air-conditioning was of utmost importance to us.

Having cancelled a nearby Hotel in order to stay at this Hotel Nazionale last minute, we thought the Hotel oozes much more Italian charm. Whenever we are in Italy, I will try to stay in classically designed Hotels. And from the reviews here, rooms were reportedly more spacious, and I am glad to say that rooms are indeed bigger here; common areas are also classically beautiful!

Took a cab from the Termini and arrived at Via del Corso's Palazzo Chigi (the PM's office) and the Hotel Nazionale was easy to find - just cross the road and walk straight on! Having requested a higher floor room facing the Hotel's back, we were shown to a 4th floor Executive room, facing other houses' roof tops and courtyards. A glimpse of St Peter's was in the distance. Not facing any roads or the Piazza Monte Citorio, the room was indeed very quiet for a good night's sleep.

Our room was indeed very spacious, it is certainly the size of a suite by any Itatian city's standards - right beside the comfy bed was a closet room, a dressing table within a wall niche (nice for putting on make-up!) and a spacious bathroom with jacuzzi tub and shower. Separated by a door to the bedroom was a nice walk-in area and sitting room with 3 seater sofa bed, dinning table, coffee table, armchair and an office table.

Though everything in the room was not brand new, everything worked and there was sufficient lighting for reading. Toiletries including body lotion and a safe were available. There were 2 TVs with English channels, good for catching up with news happening around the Globe. Breakfast choice was the widest among the 6 hotels in this trip, enabling us to enjoy something different during our 2 nights stay - perfectto!

Location wise, this Hotel is also very centrally located - 5 minutes to the Trevi and Piazza Navona, 10 minutes to the Spanish Steps for branded shopping and Il Vittoriale for the Capitoline Museums etc. But the closest supermarket we could find was at Forno's, a shop right beside the Trevi, 5 minutes away. Maybe there were other closer shops around the Hotel to buy drinks and fruits, but we did not come across any during our stay?

All Reception staff that we had come into contact with was knowledgeable, kind and helpful. Special mention must be made of Sig. Yanni, who had gone out of his way to help converse with the owner of a handicraft shop in Spoleto, to help to send our purchased items to the Hotel. Grazie mille, Yanni, we cannot thank you enough!

So, after all the praises, why still the 4 star ratings … Frankly, if not for the air-conditioning issue, we could have given this Hotel a 6 stars ratings if we were allowed to do so. Yes, from beginning to the end, we were so pleased with this Hotel that my husband had said that after numerous trips to the Eternal City, this was the Hotel in Rome that we should be returning to and I fully concur with him.

Our stay was at the beginning of the autumn season. In the day, I could still see ladies walking around in T-shirts, sleeveless blouses, baring their cleavages and sweating. Night time temperature was still around 20 or 21 (note: Rome is not like the Umbrian cities which were already experiencing 10-15 degrees during the nights due to their hill-top elevated position).

Much to our surprise, on the night of 3rd October, from 6pm onwards, air-conditioning was switched off for all rooms. A check with the Receptionists had confirmed my most feared - that the Hotel didn't think air-conditioning was necessary, and so switches it off. We then requested and received a huge fan, which blows no air - this still puzzles me at this point? Needless to say, we open all windows but I still didn't sleep well that night.

The next night, I asked again, and this time, received a much smaller fan that actually worked! And with this smaller fan, I had slept much better, in preparation for a 13 hour flight home the next day. During our stay, I had also seen porters sending fans to the other rooms, so we weren't the only ones who complain about the lack of air-conditioning.

In our honest opinion, the Hotel should have waited till mid October, or for the temperatures to fall below 15 degree C, before turning off the air-conditioning. Needless to say, this air-conditioning thingy will keep us from coming back to this Hotel at least during the 'border' months of October, March and April. So if air-conditioning is important to you, my advice would be to double check before you book.

Notwithstanding the air-conditioning issue, I thought we had enjoyed our stay very much at this well located and well managed Hotel. We thought it should have enjoyed a much higher rating. The price and quality ratio is really quite high here but to us, rooms must be air-conditioned unless you are talking about the period from November to mid March. Enjoy this bella & comfortable Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    230
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
144
325
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This hotel is in an excellent location very close to all the most beautiful attractions of Rome. It has an excellent breakfast and the executive room is very spacious. This hotel is in a square, Montecitorio, every day, this square is closed at the end of the day and open in the morning. Every morning, 7PM the removal of the "iron pipes is very noisy, and it really makes you wake up. I also had a problem with internet connection in my room and the hotel staff could not solve it. Even with the noise in the morning, I come back to stay in this hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

This is a really great place to stay in Rome. It is right in the pedestrianised centre, so you have a very short walk to the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain etc and most importantly no traffic noise. Giolitti, the famous ice cream shop, is just around the corner.

Our room was a little dated but we did not see this to be an issue - we were busy looking at the dome of the Pantheon from our bathroom window, and over the parliament square from the sitting room window! The old style bar and sitting area downstairs is very charming, with marble columns and statues. There was a juicing machine at breakfast which was pretty cool.

The staff were extremely helpful and fluent in several languages. Our little baby was welcomed, and they gave us a big bowl to sterilise her bottles in and boiled water for her milk.

We have stayed at the Nazionale 3 times now, and will continue to stay here every time we visit Rome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

It was our first time in Rome and the location of the hotel was perfect! Two minutes walk to the Pantheon, ten minutes walk to Piazza Navona, Spanish Steps, just to name a few. The location is really central in a safe and well guarded area in town. Hidden from the busy touristy area next to a government building, you see pedestrians but you won't see tourist groups walk its streets all day long, which is a bonus. Rome is really busy! I was glad that we had chosen this hotel over the other ones next to say Trevi fountain where it stays really busy especially during the weekend. The best coffee we've ever tasted is just around the corner from the hotel, also the famous and delicious gelato place, and there's a supermarket too just steps away. Now, about the hotel. We had arrived to the hotel around 10:30 am so we left our bag with the reception, and by the time we got back to the hotel at noon our room was ready and our luggages were already there. Roomy, comfortable beds, clean bathroom, good water pressure in the shower. You are provided with bathrobes, slippers. By booking the rooms directly with the hotel we got better rates compared to the rates offered by travel sites online. I read hundreds of reviews before choosing this hotel and a common theme was 'small and tiny room', also 'dirty bathrooms'. If you are picky about those qualities in a hotel, Hotel Nazionale is your hotel! I was worried about that we wouldn't be able to ask anything at the reception from the reviews but the staff were always courteous, spoke English very well, booked our restaurants, and when we booked our limousine to the airport for 4am next day they offered us a breakfast bag for us to take for the trip! Free. The only thing that was a negative during out stay was that this garbage truck came around 1 am, and the loud noise must have lasted for about 30 minutes. We could hear it because our room was facing the courtyard. But other than that we will come back to this hotel next time we're in Rome!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

The reason for a Poor rating is because this is supposed to be a 4 stars hotel and we paid 4 stars price for the room. We travel frequently and only stay in 4 and 5 stars hotels and Albergo Nazionale is not one of them. Let's start with the positive comments first: location, location, location; perfectly placed to see Rome. We had room 409 with a view of the piazza; the content of the breakfast was good although you have to pay if you want hot breakfast and you have to get your own drinks and toast.
NEGATIVES: The reception staff are not friendly at all; we had problems with the shower and despite asking them to do something about it; they ignore it completely. The water pressure of the shower was extremely feeble to say the least and there was mould on the walls and ceiling of the bathroom. The breakfast room is a dark and boring cellar with dark wood and no imagination whatsoever so an italian interior decorator is urgently needed. The whole place is dated and needs a lot of attention but I doubt that things will improve.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Dead impressed with this hotel - in a fabulous location, tucked away by the Italian parliament building. Room a little faded, but it added to the character if anything.
The hotel's staff are first-rate; breakfast was good (it's not acres of buffet that you'd never eat anything from - but who needs that everytime).
A real quality and value choice if you're going to Rome as a tourist (walkable to Pantheon, Piazza Novena etc). I couldn't speak of it too highly !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

It the best, very friendly and polite staff. Breakfast is great, beds are very comfortable. The location is perfect. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nazionale A Montecitorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale A Montecitorio

Address: Piazza Montecitorio 131, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#49 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#103 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nazionale A Montecitorio 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nazionale A Montecitorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale a Montecitorio Rome
Rome Hotel Nazionale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nazionale A Montecitorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.