We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Decent Hotel in Central Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VOI Cicerone Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added VOI Cicerone Hotel to your Saves list
VOI Cicerone Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cicerone, 55/C, 00193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #733 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Decent Hotel in Central Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Cicerone Hotel...what can I say? This was our first stay-over on our trip through Italy and it was enjoyable from all perspectives. Although its not a great hotel, it is certainly worth booking again. The rooms, the staff, the lobby, and the breakfasts were very nice. The location is excellent and there is an ATM just across the street...how convenient is that? All things considered, I think you will probably be very satisfied with the accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    348
    242
    126
    81
See reviews for
185
259
35
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice room, close to everything we wanted to see in Rome, even had a business office with available internet for a quick email, plus usual amenities. The breakfast room was quite small when they booked many different tour groups.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked a group into this hotel with a non refundable deposit 6 months in advance and 10 days before the group arrived and the group was FULLY PAID, the manager told us that the group could no longer stay at this hotel. I wouldn't trust this hotel with one penny of my money. DO NOT TRUST THIS HOTEL WITH YOUR MONEY - YOU HAVE A GOOD CHANCE TO LOSE IT COMPLETELY!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Cicerone is very average. The rooms are a nice size but desperately need to be renovated. Travelers seem to consist of huge tour groups of ugly Americans who take over the lobby and bar. However, I found the bartenders very cordial and the location is quite good.

Also, this was the first of many bad hair dryer hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I booked the hotel room though out one of the many service search engines and i had doubts about the type of room to be assigned.

Well, despite a dark hall which was not too inspiring at first, i was very pleased to hear that i'd have spent a night in one of their exclusive suite at the last floor.

Great room, nice view, nice service, good breakfast buffet and above all, room very clean.

Just one thing: they should work on the lifts maintenance , but a bit of excercise taking the stairs wont do too bad to the morning activities after all.

I'll be back.

Thanks

Epi

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. Very good hotel, room spacious, plenty to choose from at breakfast though the coffee left a lot to be desired! Very central with a great restaurant just around the corner. Just be wary of the wifi charges - we were told by three members of staff that this was free for the entire stay and so we were surprised by the charge at the end of our stay (this was resolved for us by the manager however). I agree with the comments about the pillows but we just asked for a couple more - these were in our room for that same evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nihgts in 2009. The hotel is very old and requires renovaiton. We had a problem of water clogging in the bathroom. The staff were friendly and breakfast was OK. The hotel is not very near to the historic sites although you can walk. My advise would be to stay closer to the historic sites as you will get many similarly priced hotels in those areas.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to VOI Cicerone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Cicerone Hotel

Address: Via Cicerone, 55/C, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#276 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Cicerone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cicerone hotel is a large, bright, modern building perfectly inserted in the nineteenth century architectural style of the Prati district. In spite of its large size the hotel is very warm and welcoming providing a very comfortable environment for guests. Communal areas are filled with elegant sofas and all those small touches usually found in smaller boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your VOI Cicerone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cicerone
Cicerone Hotel Rome Italy
Hotel Cicerone Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VOI Cicerone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.