We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendide Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Splendide Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for our one year wedding anniversary.
The rooms are really big and spacious and the bathrooms are nice and big too.
The location is excellent.
The views on the terrace at breakfast time are amazing.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    191
    68
    39
    19
See reviews for
112
498
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This small boutique hotel was surely a sparking gem in the past. But it is immediately apparent that the present owner does not prioritize keeping it in the condition which earns 5 stars. The common area rugs, doors and furniture in the rooms are all tired and could use a good cleaning. The room size and appointments were very nice with one big exception, that the overwhelming odor had me convinced I was sleeping in a giant ash tray. The clothes which never left the suitcase had to be sent to the dry clearners to remove the odor and we had to "air out" our luggage.
The staff is first rate and always willing to help with any request. It had been 7 years since dining in their over the top beautifully romantic restaurant with breath taking sky terrace views, but the excessive prices drove us away...what more do I need to say than $48 for a bowl of soup!
You won't find a more charming three seater bar and attentive charming staff anywhere else. Kudos for that!
The hotel is in a great location but we won't recommend anyone return until capital improvements are made.

Room Tip: Only smokers should stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel was in a perfect location - only a few blocks from the Spanish Steps. Very friendly and helpful staff. Concierge made some wonderful recommendations too. Breakfast buffet upstairs was clean, had a wide variety of items, and service was very good. Rooms were spacious, nicely decorated, and clean.

Definitly would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is in fact my fourth trip back to this hotel Rome. Beautiful rooms friendly service close to all the historical sites and in walking distance to shops etc. Simply a stunning hotel with impeccable service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

our stay in rome for the rolling stones concert in june was very pleasant. the hotel was clean and the rooms well appointed. unfortunately the breakfast experience elect a very bad taste in my mouth. 2 continental breakfast for 50.00 euro i can live with but the fresh orange juice at 10.00 euro's each not included in the continental breakfast was unheard of. I complained to the front desk and they brushed it off as not their responsibility but the restaurant which is under separate management. Upon my return i wrote to the hotel management and they never had the courtesy to respond. I wonder whether the hotel management cares about what their customers think or just think they can live off their location near via veneto. I would expect more from a SLH property and i would expect at least acknowledgement from the management. I speak Italian fluently so they cannot pull off the dumb american tourist on me

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Feels like you are in an old castle room. Very majestic and royal. Beautiful rooms. Good location, about a 7 minute walk to the top of the spanish steps and the shopping area. A luxurious splurge in a great city

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Professional and friendly staff - nothing was too much trouble. Rooms very plush and clean and prosecco delivered on arrival - a nice touch. Restaurant was bright, clean with fabulous views over neighboring park, cheery and food excellent - sadly didn't book into the rooftop restaurant for dinner - something we wish we had done....next time for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Rome
#52 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#103 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#117 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendide Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.