We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, so-so accomodations.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendide Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Splendide Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #122 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, so-so accomodations.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent a few nights here in October. The concierge was quite helpful with dinner recommendations. Breakfast was delicious. The hotel's location was perfect.
The room was large enough but the bath could have used a deep cleaning. There was moldy grout and caulk. I would have loved a bath, but didn't feel that the tub was clean enough.
The biggest problem was the air conditioning system. Our room never dipped below 75 degrees. Night time was not comfortable. We could not leave our windows open because there was housing adjacent to our room. They tried unsuccessfully to repair it three times. We were not offer other accommodations. We should have been taken care of considering the price we paid per night.

Room Tip: Check your room out thoroughly before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and remarks. Our rooms have been reviewed as spotless in many of the previous comments and it sounds a little difficult for us to believe that nobody from the front desk offered a room change if the air conditioning had any issues. Although we will take good note of your remarks and we will try work toward our service for the future.

Thank you again for your words.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    191
    68
    39
    19
See reviews for
112
495
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel when visiting Rome in late summer. It really was a wonderful stay in a superb location. The staff was incredibly helpful and polite and I have to say that this hotel really allowed us the ideal base for exploring one of my favorite cities in Europe. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your flattering review. Nice words like yours are the reason why it is beautiful to work in the hotel industry.

Thank you again and please consider us your home away from home in Rome.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel. The continental breakfast was an abundance of food. The staff was wonderful and professional. We highly recommend this hotel. The only suggestion I would make is that internet should include as part of the room fee and not an additional charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice comment and the time taken in spreading the word of the Splendide Royal with our fellow tripadvisor readers. Thank you very much for your remarks as well, we will direct them to the management and we will try to work on that.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Splendide Royal on your next visits ro Rome.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first hotel on a two week vacation with four more stops and hotels to stay at. It is small boutique hotel and lovely. The room was grande and luxurious. The bathroom also was very nice . We ate in the hotel restaurant on the top and the view was amazing and breathtaking.But it was VERY expensive.
Breakfast was probably the best of our whole trip.We returned on the last day of our trip to leave from Rome aiport. There was a mistake and they did not have us booked. We were three couples! Not only were they appologetic but they put us in their sister hotel. When we arrived they were expecting us and we were given suites!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review of the Splendide Royal. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are sorry that there was some inconvenience on your second stay with us. We are impressed of your nice words and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for your future vacation time in the Eternal City.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We traveled with two couples and spent 5 nights at this hotel on our first visit to Rome. The hotel is very upscale with an opulent 'Romanesque' décor and spacious rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and reservations. The rooftop restaurant offers 'fine' dining with decent views looking west towards the Vatican. The complimentary breakfast was also quite nice offering westerly views of the Roman skyline. The hotel is reasonably close to the Spanish Steps and Spagna Metro stop and just down the road from Villa Borghese Gardens. But if not using the Metro, anticipate long walks to the Forum and Vatican.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice words and the time spent in sharing your thoughts with our fellow tripadvisor readers. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your experience with the Eternal City has been a good one. Please consider us as your home away from home every time you are coming to Rome.

Thank you very much again for your words and we are looking forward to welcoming you to Splendide Royal in the Future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I chose this hotel to go away with my girlfriend to propose and it definitely added to the memories we have.

The rooms were opulent and the rooftop breakfast room and restaurant offers fantastic views across the park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up over looking the park if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and your nice words. it is truly rewarding when we read comments like yours. thank you so much again.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel and we will return. The staff was wonderful. The hotel immaculate. The rooms are exquisite. Breakfast in the morning was the best. We highly recommend this hotel. Well worth what we paid.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

after reading reviews like yours the only words that we feel like sharing with the tripadvisor world are : thank you! thank you for putting a big smile on our faces for today.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations deparment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Rome
#52 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#107 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#116 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendide Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.