We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Splendide Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Splendide Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #144 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
West Milford, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel and we will return. The staff was wonderful. The hotel immaculate. The rooms are exquisite. Breakfast in the morning was the best. We highly recommend this hotel. Well worth what we paid.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

after reading reviews like yours the only words that we feel like sharing with the tripadvisor world are : thank you! thank you for putting a big smile on our faces for today.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations deparment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    185
    68
    39
    19
See reviews for
108
477
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent 11 days at Hotel Splendide Royal. This was an excellent choice from a location, service, food and hospitality perspective. All of the staff were friendly, resourceful, helpful and very pleasant to deal with. They made the celebration of our 40th Anniversary a memorable one. Mirabelle was an absolute delight, great food, wine, service, coupled with a fantastic view of Rome.
The daily breakfast ritual was also a delight, particularly the variety of fresh fruit, cheese, etc. The service provided by Gina and Antoine was impeccable and memorable.
The entire experience was a delight and when next in Rome, we'll be sure to return.

Room Tip: Our first 10 nights were on the street side overlooking the Gardens as was the 11th, except 1 floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice words and the time taken in sharing your thoughts with our fellow trip advisor readers. we will extend it to the Staff of the Mirabelle restaurant that surely will be pleased.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next trips to the Eternal city.

Kindest regards

Jonathan

Guest relations deparment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here for our 10 year anniversary. We could not have been more pleased. We stayed in a standard room which was beautiful and immaculate. The bathroom was a great size. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were nice and quiet. The location was perfect. Very easy to get around, walking distance to the Spanish Steps. We were seconds away from delicious restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. And the breakfast was generous. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your splendid review. I guest the only words to add to your comments are thank you!!

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent 3 night there in mid September and I am very happy with our experience. The hotel itself is nicely appointed, the front-desk staff is fast and very helpful. We had a non-smoking superior room with free breackfast at a very good price as we made early booking. The room had a bed room ( may be a bit small) and an antechamber with a desk, chairs and a wardrobe. The bathroom was sizable and spotless.
The breakfast was very good served on the 6th floor with breathtaking views over Rome. I beleive, the breakfast was plenty for all tastes. Perhaps, my only complain would be that coffee ( americano or capucchino) was a bit too weak to my taste.
The location is convenient with close proximity to all major attractions with less than 10 min. away from the top of Spanish steps.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice words and your remarks. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you back soon as a guest at the Splendide Royal.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel was totally up to our expectation of a Grand Hotel A 19th century reality with all the modern comfort. Friendly personnel from the reception to the chamber maid Close to spanish stairs and shopping district and the main attractions of Rome;
A perfect breakfast with a view on Rome and Sint Peter's Basilicfrom the 6th floor breakfast room (get a table at the window) .
The Mirabelle restaurant deserves its one Michelin star status for a real Italian top meal. We had a wonderfull meal indeed; were helped for the wine by a knowledgeable Sommelier.
Make a reservation and get a seat on the Terrace. THe maitre will do everything to give you a "star feel"

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice comment and the time taken in sharing it with our fellow trip advisor readers. Thank you so much once again and we are definitely looking forward to welcome you to the Eternal City on your future travels.

Kindest regards

Jonathan

Guest relations deparment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is in the walled city within Rome and within easy reach of many of the main attractions of Rome. We were able to walk to the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps and the Colosseum. It is an opulent hotel with a real family feel. We were made to feel welcome as soon as our car pulled up at the door, and this lasted until the moment we left. Our room, or should I say our suite was beautifully furnished and finished with lavish drapes and bedding. The bathroom was decorated with marble and chrome. Everything was extremely clean with housekeeping turning down our bed and getting the room ready while we were out at dinner.
Although the hotel was exceptional the area itself is very expensive so take lots of extra cash with you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your incredible review. We really appreciate the time taken and all your kind words, it is very rewarding after all the hard work to receive such a nice comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Splendide Royal.

Kindest regards

Jonathan

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

As a 5 star hotel, we expected more. First suite we went to was very small and bedroom too small to separate the twin beds effectively and sitting room was tiny, a bit claustrophobic. Second suite still too small so we paid to upgrade to a terrace suite on 5th floor which was expensive but lovely. We adored the terrace where we sat of an evening. I suppose small rooms are pretty much the norm for Rome, however, as a 5 star we thought the rooms might be larger. Our rooms were clean and the bathroom sparkling. Our room was always very late to be serviced which was surprising and "turn down" was almost non existent. Nevertheless, it is a good location and the staff were exceptional - very friendly and helpful. The only issue about the location is the steep hill to face walking back (very hot and bothered) at the end of the day - made sitting on that terrace having a quiet drink very worthwhile!! Front desk staff advised us the location of a supermarket where we bought olives and wine so we avoided room service (except for ice and an ice bucket). We were dismayed to find that a 5 star hotel sees fit however, to put a chain on its bottle opener making it difficult to acutally open a wine bottle. Are they worried about theft for goodness sake - at the rates they charged, I would think they could afford to replace an opener if it went missing!!!!! It is a very opulent looking hotel, very Italianate. Agree with most people about the breakfast - really not up to 5 star standard but adequate. We enjoyed our stay but overall, didn't feel it was value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the 5th floor terrace suites if you can afford it. Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice review and your remarks. We will report everything to the right departments in order to improve the service provided.

Glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will have you back soon.

Kindest regards

Jonathan

guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Rome
#58 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#125 Family Hotel in Rome
#126 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendide Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.