This was by far the most disappointing place in Italy. We travelled to Italy 7 times over the last 3 years , each time staying 2-4 weeks. Always passing by Rome for at least 3 evenings. My favorite area is Villa Borghese , and every time we like to try new hotels. This time choose Hotel Splendide. The first room they showed us was dirty and very worn out. The second room had an huge smell of moisture coming from the very worn carpet. These were unacceptable and we asked to show us other rooms. They sowed us a room that was acceptable , as we're were walking around my wife noticed bugs in the washroom and my 10 year old son picked up a large piece of broken glass on the floor. I can't believe that they can call themselves a 5star hotel , what a
scam !!!!! We advised the hotel that we found their property unacceptable in cleanliness , room quality and sure SAFETY. We lost complete distrust in the hotel and could not take a chance in staying there. My family's safety is not negotiable. The person showing us the rooms totally understood , and I questioned him if this was him traveling with his family would he stay here. He agreed and and even helped me to find another hotel close by.
Now the hotel wants to charge us for the 2 evenings !!!!!!!!
I spoke with the manager of the hotel , he was very totally evasive , i had a very untrusting feeling speaking with him he was also and totally uninterested in my comments , i just couldn't believe his reaction , said no one ever complained about the hotel. When I returned home I looked on line for comments about the property , well I was not surprised many people spoke about the staff being thieves and things mysteriously disappearing from rooms , most people had negative things to say about the hotel. SHAME ON ME for not doing proper research prior.
Do NOT , NOT stay there !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
thank you very much for the time spent on reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor.
Please allow us to offer to our fellow trip advisor readers our version of the story since you offered yours.
The first two rooms you have been shown were perfectly clean and inspected by the housekeeper.
The other two rooms that you asked to see were actually not clean at the time and You have been informed of that in advance by the employee that showed you the rooms. We wanted to show you rooms in order to find a possible solution to the fact that you did not like the first room.
Even if the previous guest broke a glass, honestly, it is perfectly normal that in a not clean room you can find it and, very important for us, no bugs have ever been found in any washroom in our hotel.
We are sorry You did non like the hotel, but actually the front desk agent that assisted you never agreed on the fact that in your opinion the situation was not acceptable, we just tried our best to find a possible solution to the fact you didn’t like the room. As far as the hotel not refunding the charges for your room let us please explain that this was a discounted, not refundable rate and that was nothing wrong with any of the rooms shown other that you did not like them.
Hopefully this will explain a little better what happened to anybody that is reading and can get mislead by your review.
Thank you again for writing you impressions.
Guest relations department
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.