We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Locaction and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendide Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Splendide Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #123 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Locaction and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Splendide Royal twice; most recently in June of 2013. It is conveniently located for all the main tourist attractions and for shopping. The hotel staff is friendly and eager to please their guests. The rooms are large by European standards, clean and quite comfortable. Breakfast at the hotel is good but not great. The restaurant on the top floor (Mirabelle) is top notch but pricey; however, there are plenty of good, reasonably priced restaurants within easy walking distance. If we return to Rome we will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and your kind words. We really appreciate that you took time to share it with our fellow trip advisor readers. We work very hard to give the best service and it is very rewarding to read reviews like yours.

We are looking to be your home away from home in Rome any time you would like.

Kindest regards

Jonathan

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    191
    68
    39
    19
See reviews for
112
495
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was by far the most disappointing place in Italy. We travelled to Italy 7 times over the last 3 years , each time staying 2-4 weeks. Always passing by Rome for at least 3 evenings. My favorite area is Villa Borghese , and every time we like to try new hotels. This time choose Hotel Splendide. The first room they showed us was dirty and very worn out. The second room had an huge smell of moisture coming from the very worn carpet. These were unacceptable and we asked to show us other rooms. They sowed us a room that was acceptable , as we're were walking around my wife noticed bugs in the washroom and my 10 year old son picked up a large piece of broken glass on the floor. I can't believe that they can call themselves a 5star hotel , what a
scam !!!!! We advised the hotel that we found their property unacceptable in cleanliness , room quality and sure SAFETY. We lost complete distrust in the hotel and could not take a chance in staying there. My family's safety is not negotiable. The person showing us the rooms totally understood , and I questioned him if this was him traveling with his family would he stay here. He agreed and and even helped me to find another hotel close by.
Now the hotel wants to charge us for the 2 evenings !!!!!!!!
I spoke with the manager of the hotel , he was very totally evasive , i had a very untrusting feeling speaking with him he was also and totally uninterested in my comments , i just couldn't believe his reaction , said no one ever complained about the hotel. When I returned home I looked on line for comments about the property , well I was not surprised many people spoke about the staff being thieves and things mysteriously disappearing from rooms , most people had negative things to say about the hotel. SHAME ON ME for not doing proper research prior.
Do NOT , NOT stay there !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the time spent on reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Please allow us to offer to our fellow trip advisor readers our version of the story since you offered yours.

The first two rooms you have been shown were perfectly clean and inspected by the housekeeper.

The other two rooms that you asked to see were actually not clean at the time and You have been informed of that in advance by the employee that showed you the rooms. We wanted to show you rooms in order to find a possible solution to the fact that you did not like the first room.

Even if the previous guest broke a glass, honestly, it is perfectly normal that in a not clean room you can find it and, very important for us, no bugs have ever been found in any washroom in our hotel.

We are sorry You did non like the hotel, but actually the front desk agent that assisted you never agreed on the fact that in your opinion the situation was not acceptable, we just tried our best to find a possible solution to the fact you didn’t like the room. As far as the hotel not refunding the charges for your room let us please explain that this was a discounted, not refundable rate and that was nothing wrong with any of the rooms shown other that you did not like them.

Hopefully this will explain a little better what happened to anybody that is reading and can get mislead by your review.

Thank you again for writing you impressions.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Splendide and it was excellent. We stayed in a suite with around 500 sft with a sleeping camera, a walk inside closet (big), a not too large but comfortable living room and a beautiful white marble large bathroom. I decided to have the largest and most comfortable suite in rome for the best price. And I think that i was right and i had no deception at all. The staff is very interested and committed in helping the guest and make them feel good and really assisted in their needs. The Hotel has a classic decoration and different from what others say,it does not a renovation.
The breakfast at 29 (continental) or 38 (complete hot buffet) have not interested me. I could have fantastic "panninis" of ham and mussarela and great coffee for less than 7 euros around the corner.
The hotel gave a 20% discount on the lunch menu served at the top floor restaurant Mirabelle. I visited and loved (regardless having felt the heavy weight of the final meal bill).

I would return to this Hotel for a quick luxury and romantic stay in Rome.

Room Tip: Suite 410 is comfortable but with a bad view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice review and the time taken in writing us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards

Jonathan

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stood at this hotel in July of 2013. The location is good - not exactly right in the heart of things, but at the same time within very walkable distance of the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, and other attractions. If you're not really a walker, you may have to take cabs or other transport to some attractions.

The staff was very, very good. Very friendly and helpful. The lobby of the hotel is immaculate.

My one gripe with this hotel is the room. It appeared a bit old. The oddest part was that the room was quite narrow, and the two single beds in the room extended quite literally for the whole length of the room, leaving very little space between the end of the bed and the wall. This made it very difficult to walk to the bathroom, or to move around the room generally.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and your words. We thank you very much for your appreciation of the staff at the hotel, we really try to provide the best service ever. We understand that the baroque style of the hotel might not please all of our guest's tastes, sorry to hear that.

We hope that you might want to visit us again on your next trip to the Eternal city.

Kindest regards

Jonathan

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burr Ridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was an expensive mistake. Rooms were tired and in need of updating as was the rest of the common areas. Worse, the beds and pillows were ridiculously uncomfortable. But for the fact that I had prepaid the room to reduce my overall cost of the visit I would have left early to find another hotel. Staff did their best to improve what is a tired uncomfortable hotel but there was little the could do.

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Since I was paying top dollar for this hotel, I did not expect to have any complaints. Our room was small and the view was of windows to other rooms. We left a daily tip which disappeared before the room was cleaned (we forgot something and went back 5 min. later, tip-gone-room -not touched). A continental breakfast-27 euros, want eggs, make it 35. I don't go on vacation to skimp, but really! Papers that fell under the desk stayed. Hotel said it was sound-proof, until housekeeping starts slamming doors! Location was good, AC worked that's it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comments and remarks. We will take good note of your comments but we believe that five minutes to clean a room are not enough and our rooms are cleaned everyday as per other guests like you comments.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you to Rome in the near future.

Kindest regard

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We are still here at this wonderful hotel! From the moment we checked in, this has been a great stay. Public areas are beautiful. Reception was friendly and helpful, arranged a table for us at the amazing Mirabelle restaurant even though it was after 10 p.m. when we got here. Room is beautiful, fresh fruit waiting for us in the room. Front desk has arranged tours for us, offered restaurant advice, they have just been generally anxious to help us in any way while we are here. Location is perfect for touring Rome. Our room overlooks the Borghese and it is like being in a quiet place in the middle of this huge city, just perfect.

The restaurant Mirabelle is beyond good, truly excellent but with friendly and unpretentious staff.

Room Tip: Our room faces the Borghese, ask for that if you appreciate a quiet view from your Jacuzzi tub! =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

What can we say about your incredible review if not thank you so much? So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! thank you again.

Best regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Rome
#52 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#107 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#116 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendide Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.