We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Splendide Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #145 of 1,266 hotels in Rome
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Big disappointment!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband is a total hotel snob so we researched a great deal before finally selecting this hotel for our trip to Rome. We booked a superior suite which was very nice and roomy especially by european standards. We had a corner room on the 5th floor with one and a half baths, a large sitting room, smallish bedroom and a beautiful terrace. We also booked a Superior Room for our daughter (27 yrs)and son (25 yrs) to share being very specific in requesting the room be near us (at least on our floor) with twin beds.

We were quite surprised to find the room they reserved for our daughter and son (next to ours) had a double bed which obviously wouldn't work. Although they did accomodate our top priority by moving them to a room with twin beds it was on the first floor requiring a completely different elevator. Not a big problem since they are certainly old enough, but an inconvenience and disappointment for us considering we booked many months in advance and were assured this wouldn't be a problem.

We did have a thermostat in our room (a requirement for us), but it could only be turned down to a set number. Unfortunately, the bedroom never got cool enough for either of us to sleep comfortably. We spoke to the management and they said they would have someone look into it, but the situation never improved. I believe there isn't any way to fix it unless they changed the set number on the thermostat.

When we first booked the trip we were told breakfast was not included (not even continental at 23 euro/person) which was surprising since we were spending quite a bit on the room ($2,863 euro for 3 nights) and it seems to be fairly common with most european hotels. However, we figured it would be worth it because we liked the location of this hotel among other things. In the end we changed our dates (staying one night less) and for some reason breakfast was included this time around. The food was not very good. I was very happy we weren't paying extra for it as my son and I only ate fruit and my husband had the cereal with milk served at room temperature each morning. My daughter did eat the "eggs," but the color and texture were very unusual. I would be surprised if they were real eggs.

We ate dinner at the rooftop restuarant one night and my daughter was the only one satisfied with her meal (the duck) due to extremely small portions and food quality. Prices were definitely high, which we would be fine paying if we enjoyed our meals, but that wasn't the case. Definitely do not recommend eating there.

The final issue I had with the hotel was more my problem, but I was disappointed and surprised with the response or lack of response from management. I had the unfortunate experience of leaving our room safe open by mistake. I hit the code, but forgot to hit "lock" and rushed out without checking to be certain the door was locked. Shame on me!

We returned to our room after being out all day to find the safe door wide open and 2,000 euro missing. We had only arrived the day before with 8,000 euro so we were certain of how much money we brought and spent. Regardless, we retraced our steps over and over to be sure before talking with management. I know it says the hotel is not responsible for lost/stolen valuables, but I guess I just expected more of a high quality hotel. They told us they would review film outside our door to see who had come in our room, but it was clear the only person was the chambermaid who had reported the door open. When asked by management her response was "why would I tell you the door was open if I took the money." Telling them the door was found open certainly doesn't guarantee she didn't take it.

I certainly didn't expect them to simply take my word for this and reimburse me, but I had hoped for something, maybe a slight discount off our room or just something to help relieve the awful feeling in my gut for being so careless! Again, I accept responsibility for this and know it is not the responsibility of the hotel yet something small might have helped me feel better. Instead, they simply ignored it after asking the chambermaid about it.

Bottom line - location - excellent. Close to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and other attractions. Staff and rooms - adequate, but not great. Food - total disappointment. Room temperature - poor. I know I will not stay here when I return to Rome again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. Allow us to try to explain a few things for our fellow tripadvisor readers.

We are sorry about the inconvenience with the Air conditioning. We understand that the temperature in the rooms was maybe not as cold as the american standards but we very rarely receive any remarks on the temperature in the rooms. The thermostats bring the temperature to a certain level, i don't think the one in the room was set high, i believe it was just the standard italian temperature in the room but thank you anyway for letting us know.

As far as the issue with your safe in the room. We completely trust our staff, the door was left open and the chambermain reported it to the front desk. The only thing that we could have helped with was to assist you with a police report but from your comment i understand you did not want that. From our side we did our investigation but nothing came up.

Concerning the breakfast our rates come with breakfast or not, it is something that your can choose with the rate and rates without breakfast are less expensive. That is usually very clear when you book online or with our reservation department.

We are sorry to hear that this stay with us disappointed you, hopefully we will have you stay again with us in the future, we are definitely looking forward to it.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    568
    179
    67
    39
    19
See reviews for
104
468
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great hotel in walking distance to many attractions. The congierce was very friendly in helping us to organize day trips and gave great restaurant recommendations. From the breakfast room on the top floor one can enjoy a fantastic view over the city. The Hotel does not have a swimming pool, but if you are a guest you can use the pool of a partner hotel of the same group.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for your future visits to Rome.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is our second time at the Hotel Splendide Royal. We went for our honeymoon and for our 1 year anniversary. The suites are gorgeous with spectacular views. The service is top notch and the restaurant upstairs is beautiful.

The hotel is close to the Spanish Steps and there are great restaurants in the area, one specifically called Localiono. If you plan on traveling out of Rome by car there is a Hertz, Avis and Budget Car Rentals a few blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful words. This is what help us on our everyday work, thank you for putting a smile on our faces!

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Splendide Royal in the near future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

plus points:
- location ( 8/10 )
- friendly staff ( 9/10 )
- decoration (8/10 )
- room size ( superior suite ( suite 520 - 521 ) with terrace ) 8/10

minus points:
- airco in room not sufficient ( 5/10 )
- breakfast room : not possible to sit outside, airco not sufficient ( 4/10 )
- terrace ( suite with terras ) view on street ( fortis buiding ) (4/10 )
- terrace ( suite with terrace ) no shade ( no umbrella ) from 10:00 am till 15:00 pm ( 6/10 )
- bathroom : no separate shower ( curtain ! ) (5/10 )
- Airco : large AC units near the suite, lots of noise ! ( 4/10 )

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice words and remarks, we will definitely take good note of both for the future.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you to the Eternal city in the future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We are staying in this hotel, gorgeous hotel, old and full of character and charm. we are here for 4nights.However last night after we arrive as it was our wedding anniversary and my birthday we decided to eat in The Mirabelle restaurant on the roof terrace in the hotel.Lovely atmosphere, wonderful views but the prices, unbelieveable!the meal for two, two courses and a glass of wine each came to a mouthwatering 274Euros!The starters were all about 40-50euros and the main courses the same but it was the small plate of vegetables for 28 euros that did us in!Even La Gavroche in London doesn't come to that and here there is no Michelin Star!
The staff here are excellent so helpful and friendly.Our room is great large with a fantastic balcony.The bathroom is on the small side and it probably could all do with some refurbishment.my husband thinks the bed is too hard and the pillows also! But overall very good.Wevare elderly and do find walking up the hill after a days sightseeing a struggle!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor with a balcony, wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind words. Thank you also for your comments on the Mirabelle, we will definitely forward this to their management for consideration.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before so, we knew what to expect. We were allocated the same room as in 2010, which was fine. In it's day the room has been very stylish and elegant but now needs some attention. Particularly the paintwork and maybe even the bathroom. This is after all a 5 star hotel and quite expensive. Staff absolutely first class - all very helpful. Breakfast room a delight and quality of food excellent. We would have loved to have dined in the restaurant but unfortunately, as others have commented, it was way above our budget. Such a shame! The hotel is supposed to be opening a roof top café shortly. Would like to know when as that was the message in the elevator 2 years ago! Having said all that, we would stay her again if we return to this enchanting city. If you have the chance to enjoy a drink at Harry's Bar it's well worth the cost. Just simply because of the atmosphere and it's only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Although expensive it's still cheaper to have a drink here than at the Splendide Royal.

Room Tip: Just ask for the best room available at the price you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for coming back to the Splendide Royal and writing again a comment. Thank you for your remarks and your nice words, everything is helpful in the process of giving good service.

The Roof cafe' needs a long time because the hotel is located into an historical building and that does not make it easy but still the Mirabelle located on the seventh floor offers great drinks and a stunning views.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again to the Splendide in the future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent 6 nights at this hotel and we could not fault it. It's located very close to the Spanish steps and you are in walking distance of almost all the main sights, but the Colosseum and St. Peters are easily reached by metro (there's a metro station just a few streets away) Our room was a deluxe and it was very comfortable with plenty of space and with a small balcony. The rooms, while not perhaps modern, are very charming and the bed is huge! A great selection at breakfast - a huge range of fresh fruits, eggs, bacon, breads, yogurts, pastries and of course yummy creamy cappuccinos - all looking out over Villa Borghese and the city. If you are staying here make sure you have a drink in the rooftop terrace at night, the views are spectacular! We had a wedding dinner here with our families in the Mirabelle restaurant - and the quality of the food & atmosphere match the spectacular views. The real selling point of this hotel though, is the staff. They really could not have been more helpful to us - recommending restaurants, booking appointments, giving information, hiring transport - they really were top notch. Ivan at the front desk went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Top marks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review. Kind words like yours really put a big smile on our faces, at the end of the day the reason why we work in hospitality is to make you happy and satisfied of the service given.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you at the Splendide Royal again soon!

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Rome
#60 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#135 Family Hotel in Rome
#136 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendide Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.