We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendide Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Splendide Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great stay in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is our second time at the Hotel Splendide Royal. We went for our honeymoon and for our 1 year anniversary. The suites are gorgeous with spectacular views. The service is top notch and the restaurant upstairs is beautiful.

The hotel is close to the Spanish Steps and there are great restaurants in the area, one specifically called Localiono. If you plan on traveling out of Rome by car there is a Hertz, Avis and Budget Car Rentals a few blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful words. This is what help us on our everyday work, thank you for putting a smile on our faces!

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Splendide Royal in the near future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    197
    71
    39
    20
See reviews for
122
513
26
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Flanders
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

plus points:
- location ( 8/10 )
- friendly staff ( 9/10 )
- decoration (8/10 )
- room size ( superior suite ( suite 520 - 521 ) with terrace ) 8/10

minus points:
- airco in room not sufficient ( 5/10 )
- breakfast room : not possible to sit outside, airco not sufficient ( 4/10 )
- terrace ( suite with terras ) view on street ( fortis buiding ) (4/10 )
- terrace ( suite with terrace ) no shade ( no umbrella ) from 10:00 am till 15:00 pm ( 6/10 )
- bathroom : no separate shower ( curtain ! ) (5/10 )
- Airco : large AC units near the suite, lots of noise ! ( 4/10 )

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice words and remarks, we will definitely take good note of both for the future.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you to the Eternal city in the future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We are staying in this hotel, gorgeous hotel, old and full of character and charm. we are here for 4nights.However last night after we arrive as it was our wedding anniversary and my birthday we decided to eat in The Mirabelle restaurant on the roof terrace in the hotel.Lovely atmosphere, wonderful views but the prices, unbelieveable!the meal for two, two courses and a glass of wine each came to a mouthwatering 274Euros!The starters were all about 40-50euros and the main courses the same but it was the small plate of vegetables for 28 euros that did us in!Even La Gavroche in London doesn't come to that and here there is no Michelin Star!
The staff here are excellent so helpful and friendly.Our room is great large with a fantastic balcony.The bathroom is on the small side and it probably could all do with some refurbishment.my husband thinks the bed is too hard and the pillows also! But overall very good.Wevare elderly and do find walking up the hill after a days sightseeing a struggle!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor with a balcony, wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind words. Thank you also for your comments on the Mirabelle, we will definitely forward this to their management for consideration.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before so, we knew what to expect. We were allocated the same room as in 2010, which was fine. In it's day the room has been very stylish and elegant but now needs some attention. Particularly the paintwork and maybe even the bathroom. This is after all a 5 star hotel and quite expensive. Staff absolutely first class - all very helpful. Breakfast room a delight and quality of food excellent. We would have loved to have dined in the restaurant but unfortunately, as others have commented, it was way above our budget. Such a shame! The hotel is supposed to be opening a roof top café shortly. Would like to know when as that was the message in the elevator 2 years ago! Having said all that, we would stay her again if we return to this enchanting city. If you have the chance to enjoy a drink at Harry's Bar it's well worth the cost. Just simply because of the atmosphere and it's only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Although expensive it's still cheaper to have a drink here than at the Splendide Royal.

Room Tip: Just ask for the best room available at the price you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for coming back to the Splendide Royal and writing again a comment. Thank you for your remarks and your nice words, everything is helpful in the process of giving good service.

The Roof cafe' needs a long time because the hotel is located into an historical building and that does not make it easy but still the Mirabelle located on the seventh floor offers great drinks and a stunning views.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again to the Splendide in the future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent 6 nights at this hotel and we could not fault it. It's located very close to the Spanish steps and you are in walking distance of almost all the main sights, but the Colosseum and St. Peters are easily reached by metro (there's a metro station just a few streets away) Our room was a deluxe and it was very comfortable with plenty of space and with a small balcony. The rooms, while not perhaps modern, are very charming and the bed is huge! A great selection at breakfast - a huge range of fresh fruits, eggs, bacon, breads, yogurts, pastries and of course yummy creamy cappuccinos - all looking out over Villa Borghese and the city. If you are staying here make sure you have a drink in the rooftop terrace at night, the views are spectacular! We had a wedding dinner here with our families in the Mirabelle restaurant - and the quality of the food & atmosphere match the spectacular views. The real selling point of this hotel though, is the staff. They really could not have been more helpful to us - recommending restaurants, booking appointments, giving information, hiring transport - they really were top notch. Ivan at the front desk went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Top marks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review. Kind words like yours really put a big smile on our faces, at the end of the day the reason why we work in hospitality is to make you happy and satisfied of the service given.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you at the Splendide Royal again soon!

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice location in my opinion - not busy outside (ignore the guy who thought this was dangerous - lots of people and no problems at all). Because we don't mind walking to get where we want to it wasn't a problem but if you are older you'd have to get somewhere right in the heart of the town (and pay the price!) or travel by taxi/metro (metro stop very close to the hotel) everywhere.

Had room 101 - inside "courtyard" room. This is not a "courtyard" - it's the space in the middle of the hotel where the dome from the reception room on the ground floor gets its light. So don't expect fountains !
Very good staff - however, they never fixed our fan in the bathroom and it was very hot in that room - which is where my wife gets ready in the morning - she was not a happy bunny !

Air con was positioned right over the bed head so constant cold air all night.

This is not a 5-star hotel in my sense of the word. Yes, it's nice looking in a very quaint/old style but the room was rather small, and looked very tired - lots of chipped paint and poor lighting.

Overall - would go to a more modern hotel and expect a better lit room with slightly more space.

But can't fault the staff in terms of their manners and smiles (just shame about the fan !). Oh, and the pillows are very very hard as someone else just said !

Room Tip: go for one that's not on the 1st floor then you can open your window with no security risk. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments about your stay and the Hotel. We are sorry that you did not like the dimension of the rooms, we have some of the biggest standard rooms in the downtown area of Rome.

We will definitely take note of your remarks to better our service offer.

Hopefully we will have you staying again at the Splendide Royal in the near future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

we spent 5 nights there leaving on sat june 8 Thursday early morning I was awakened by what I thought was someone moving around in our room but I was not sure if it might have been in hallway

I jumped up out of bed and there was no one in the room, but I did not check the small entrance hall inside our room and the door was closed to this vestibule where they have a closet and also the safe however we had nothing in the safe and anyway I had in my half sleep even forgotten we had this vestibule

later on Thursday I went out for coffee and found our entrance door open. I reported to front desk and they checked and found report that security at 3 am saw the door openand closed it

I asked the clerk then how come the door was open if it had been closed

he said that maybe they closed it lightly so as not to disturb us which really was rather stupid

we have emailed the manager and after 2 days no reply. we emailed concierge asking for reply and all they said was they forwarded our mail to mgr

no one has even apologized for this incident

they have no inside chain nor bolt which could give one more security and apparently no cameras in the hallway right now we feel very very lucky we got out of that hotel without being harmed or robbed my wife wears all her jewelry but takes it off at night and leaves it on night table which probably is not good idea but were lucky it was not in safe as we surmise whoever tried to rob us was knew we had the vestibule with the safe inside the close and when they got inside they saw the safe door open with notihing in it and at that time heardme get out of bed so they ran out.

Room Tip: as its old palazzo we think their rooms must vary our room was on outside and we asked to see one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments and your review. Please allow us to explain to our fellow tripadvisor readers what happened.

We have staff in the hotel that checks corridors and doors at night to see if everything is fine. Our staff found your door open at night and not to disturb you at that time at night they closed the door.

We apologize if that woke you up but it was just for your own safety, there was not robbery attempt, nothing has ever disappeared from the room and the rooms have safes for every guests to use. Additional safes are available in the lobby area on request but it really seems to me that your words give the idea of the Hotel as an unsafe place and that does not reflects the real vibe and feeling of staying at the Splendide Royal.

There are cameras in every corridor, and there are not armed robbers in the Hotel, nothing to worry about really. Not even in the City that is one of the safest cities to visit worldwide.

The delay in the General manager replying is due to a change in the Management. I am sure you will receive your email as soon as possible but the only explanation possible is that the door was left open or not closed well.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Rome
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#96 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#121 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendide Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.