We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Splendide Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Splendide Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #137 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Drogheda, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent 6 nights at this hotel and we could not fault it. It's located very close to the Spanish steps and you are in walking distance of almost all the main sights, but the Colosseum and St. Peters are easily reached by metro (there's a metro station just a few streets away) Our room was a deluxe and it was very comfortable with plenty of space and with a small balcony. The rooms, while not perhaps modern, are very charming and the bed is huge! A great selection at breakfast - a huge range of fresh fruits, eggs, bacon, breads, yogurts, pastries and of course yummy creamy cappuccinos - all looking out over Villa Borghese and the city. If you are staying here make sure you have a drink in the rooftop terrace at night, the views are spectacular! We had a wedding dinner here with our families in the Mirabelle restaurant - and the quality of the food & atmosphere match the spectacular views. The real selling point of this hotel though, is the staff. They really could not have been more helpful to us - recommending restaurants, booking appointments, giving information, hiring transport - they really were top notch. Ivan at the front desk went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Top marks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review. Kind words like yours really put a big smile on our faces, at the end of the day the reason why we work in hospitality is to make you happy and satisfied of the service given.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you at the Splendide Royal again soon!

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    191
    68
    39
    19
See reviews for
112
485
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice location in my opinion - not busy outside (ignore the guy who thought this was dangerous - lots of people and no problems at all). Because we don't mind walking to get where we want to it wasn't a problem but if you are older you'd have to get somewhere right in the heart of the town (and pay the price!) or travel by taxi/metro (metro stop very close to the hotel) everywhere.

Had room 101 - inside "courtyard" room. This is not a "courtyard" - it's the space in the middle of the hotel where the dome from the reception room on the ground floor gets its light. So don't expect fountains !
Very good staff - however, they never fixed our fan in the bathroom and it was very hot in that room - which is where my wife gets ready in the morning - she was not a happy bunny !

Air con was positioned right over the bed head so constant cold air all night.

This is not a 5-star hotel in my sense of the word. Yes, it's nice looking in a very quaint/old style but the room was rather small, and looked very tired - lots of chipped paint and poor lighting.

Overall - would go to a more modern hotel and expect a better lit room with slightly more space.

But can't fault the staff in terms of their manners and smiles (just shame about the fan !). Oh, and the pillows are very very hard as someone else just said !

Room Tip: go for one that's not on the 1st floor then you can open your window with no security risk. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments about your stay and the Hotel. We are sorry that you did not like the dimension of the rooms, we have some of the biggest standard rooms in the downtown area of Rome.

We will definitely take note of your remarks to better our service offer.

Hopefully we will have you staying again at the Splendide Royal in the near future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

we spent 5 nights there leaving on sat june 8 Thursday early morning I was awakened by what I thought was someone moving around in our room but I was not sure if it might have been in hallway

I jumped up out of bed and there was no one in the room, but I did not check the small entrance hall inside our room and the door was closed to this vestibule where they have a closet and also the safe however we had nothing in the safe and anyway I had in my half sleep even forgotten we had this vestibule

later on Thursday I went out for coffee and found our entrance door open. I reported to front desk and they checked and found report that security at 3 am saw the door openand closed it

I asked the clerk then how come the door was open if it had been closed

he said that maybe they closed it lightly so as not to disturb us which really was rather stupid

we have emailed the manager and after 2 days no reply. we emailed concierge asking for reply and all they said was they forwarded our mail to mgr

no one has even apologized for this incident

they have no inside chain nor bolt which could give one more security and apparently no cameras in the hallway right now we feel very very lucky we got out of that hotel without being harmed or robbed my wife wears all her jewelry but takes it off at night and leaves it on night table which probably is not good idea but were lucky it was not in safe as we surmise whoever tried to rob us was knew we had the vestibule with the safe inside the close and when they got inside they saw the safe door open with notihing in it and at that time heardme get out of bed so they ran out.

Room Tip: as its old palazzo we think their rooms must vary our room was on outside and we asked to see one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments and your review. Please allow us to explain to our fellow tripadvisor readers what happened.

We have staff in the hotel that checks corridors and doors at night to see if everything is fine. Our staff found your door open at night and not to disturb you at that time at night they closed the door.

We apologize if that woke you up but it was just for your own safety, there was not robbery attempt, nothing has ever disappeared from the room and the rooms have safes for every guests to use. Additional safes are available in the lobby area on request but it really seems to me that your words give the idea of the Hotel as an unsafe place and that does not reflects the real vibe and feeling of staying at the Splendide Royal.

There are cameras in every corridor, and there are not armed robbers in the Hotel, nothing to worry about really. Not even in the City that is one of the safest cities to visit worldwide.

The delay in the General manager replying is due to a change in the Management. I am sure you will receive your email as soon as possible but the only explanation possible is that the door was left open or not closed well.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice hotel with comfortable environment. But the design may be too old fashioned to me. They only thing they should improve is to provide free wifi service to customers because a lot of tourists want to use internet while having their trip. Even though there were computers provided in the reception floor, it was better use my own i-phone on my room. The staffs were intelligent, they were able to provide some good suggestions on how to find a decent restaurant with authentic Italian cusine, like pizza and pasta in Rome. The location was not so good, if you walk at night, it will be scary because the street are very quiet at night. The hotel also far away from Navona Square, if I want to have meal there, I have to walk for 30 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review and comments. The hotel is located in the core of the downtown area of Rome, but the downtown area of Rome is massive therefore some of the sites are further than others, we are within five minutes walking distance from the Spanish steps, the downtown shopping district, the trevi fountain, via veneto, the borghese garden and gallery and numerous other places. The street that brings to the Hotel is a quiet downtown street, not scary at all since a lot of hotels are located in the same area but everybody has a different perception, i am sorry that you felt that way.

Hopefully we will have the chance to have you visiting us again on your future trips to the Eternal City. We are definitely looking forward to it.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay (first time) at this lovely little hotel. The staff were all amazingly professional, helpful & friendly. I was upgraded to a lovely room on the 6th floor with a large
terrace with fantastic views over Rome, Thankyou - it made my stay very special. The rooms
in general, could do with an update (especially the curtains) and the only complaint would be the
pillows, but I'm sure if I'd have asked, I would have been supplied with better ones. I ate every
night at the Mirabelle restaurant which had the same views from their terrace as my room had (one floor up). The restaurant is Michelin starred good, The food was lovely, the service was immaculate and the decor very seductive. I would certainly stay here again. Hopefully - soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice review. Always nice to have pro and cons explained in such a nice way, it helps us growing and getting better.

We have definitely other options for pillows, next time we will provide the softer ones for your stay in the Eternal City as requested, it's a promise!

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

we stayed at the splendide royal for 1 night prior to a cruise , overall it was a very nice experience , the area is full of upscale hotels but this one has a unique style of its own, its small charming lobby area , the very prof. staff "esp. the doorman and the front desk" , its about 5 mins walk to the top of the spanish steps , about the same distance on the other direction to the end of via veneto " harry's bar" , the room was very good and clean ..we requested a view of the gardens which we didnt get but nothing to blame them for as we arrived early and wanted the nearest available room , we found a bottle of wine and snacks in our room from the manager which was a very nice touch , breakfast was good with a decent choice of cakes and hot items , we didnt have time to try the mirabelle restaurant though , also there's a very nice lebanese restaurant just beside the hotel , otherwise u will need to walk to the veneto or trevi areas for some quality time , but beware the hotel is up a hill so its a bit challenging on your way back if you're not fit enough ..overall a very nice hotel and i will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice review and the time taken to write it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Splendide Royal and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again for a longer stay, maybe you can try the Mirabelle as well, it is definitely worth it!

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Bad. Just, very bery bad.
I couldn't sleep there!
The mattress was good, but the pillows were awful! If you like to sleep with good pillows, this will be just as bad for you as it was for me.
And yeah, the shower was ridiculously installed. They face the door, and the door has a small opened spot. So by the time you finish your shower, the bathroom floor is a lagoon.
Also, the worst part, is that they have a red light flashing 24h on the ceiling. Yeah....
I would close my eyes, but still see the light. Very red, very intense. Flashing nonstop.
I had to use one of those eye vendors that we get on the airplane to sleep. The only way to avoid that red light. I've never seeing anything like this!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for the time taken in your review. Allow us to explain to our fellow Tripadvisor readers that we have feather pillows available in the Hotel for any guest that would like to have it, if we would have known you felt the pillows in the room not comfortable enough we would have definitely sent you some different ones.

Also the red dot on the Ceiling is the light of the fire alarm that unfortunately cannot be switched off for security reasons.

Thank you again for your review.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#60 Business Hotel in Rome
#115 Family Hotel in Rome
#122 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendide Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.