We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious but the decoration is not my cup of tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendide Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Splendide Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious but the decoration is not my cup of tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice hotel with comfortable environment. But the design may be too old fashioned to me. They only thing they should improve is to provide free wifi service to customers because a lot of tourists want to use internet while having their trip. Even though there were computers provided in the reception floor, it was better use my own i-phone on my room. The staffs were intelligent, they were able to provide some good suggestions on how to find a decent restaurant with authentic Italian cusine, like pizza and pasta in Rome. The location was not so good, if you walk at night, it will be scary because the street are very quiet at night. The hotel also far away from Navona Square, if I want to have meal there, I have to walk for 30 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review and comments. The hotel is located in the core of the downtown area of Rome, but the downtown area of Rome is massive therefore some of the sites are further than others, we are within five minutes walking distance from the Spanish steps, the downtown shopping district, the trevi fountain, via veneto, the borghese garden and gallery and numerous other places. The street that brings to the Hotel is a quiet downtown street, not scary at all since a lot of hotels are located in the same area but everybody has a different perception, i am sorry that you felt that way.

Hopefully we will have the chance to have you visiting us again on your future trips to the Eternal City. We are definitely looking forward to it.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    191
    68
    39
    19
See reviews for
112
497
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay (first time) at this lovely little hotel. The staff were all amazingly professional, helpful & friendly. I was upgraded to a lovely room on the 6th floor with a large
terrace with fantastic views over Rome, Thankyou - it made my stay very special. The rooms
in general, could do with an update (especially the curtains) and the only complaint would be the
pillows, but I'm sure if I'd have asked, I would have been supplied with better ones. I ate every
night at the Mirabelle restaurant which had the same views from their terrace as my room had (one floor up). The restaurant is Michelin starred good, The food was lovely, the service was immaculate and the decor very seductive. I would certainly stay here again. Hopefully - soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice review. Always nice to have pro and cons explained in such a nice way, it helps us growing and getting better.

We have definitely other options for pillows, next time we will provide the softer ones for your stay in the Eternal City as requested, it's a promise!

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

we stayed at the splendide royal for 1 night prior to a cruise , overall it was a very nice experience , the area is full of upscale hotels but this one has a unique style of its own, its small charming lobby area , the very prof. staff "esp. the doorman and the front desk" , its about 5 mins walk to the top of the spanish steps , about the same distance on the other direction to the end of via veneto " harry's bar" , the room was very good and clean ..we requested a view of the gardens which we didnt get but nothing to blame them for as we arrived early and wanted the nearest available room , we found a bottle of wine and snacks in our room from the manager which was a very nice touch , breakfast was good with a decent choice of cakes and hot items , we didnt have time to try the mirabelle restaurant though , also there's a very nice lebanese restaurant just beside the hotel , otherwise u will need to walk to the veneto or trevi areas for some quality time , but beware the hotel is up a hill so its a bit challenging on your way back if you're not fit enough ..overall a very nice hotel and i will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice review and the time taken to write it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Splendide Royal and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again for a longer stay, maybe you can try the Mirabelle as well, it is definitely worth it!

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Bad. Just, very bery bad.
I couldn't sleep there!
The mattress was good, but the pillows were awful! If you like to sleep with good pillows, this will be just as bad for you as it was for me.
And yeah, the shower was ridiculously installed. They face the door, and the door has a small opened spot. So by the time you finish your shower, the bathroom floor is a lagoon.
Also, the worst part, is that they have a red light flashing 24h on the ceiling. Yeah....
I would close my eyes, but still see the light. Very red, very intense. Flashing nonstop.
I had to use one of those eye vendors that we get on the airplane to sleep. The only way to avoid that red light. I've never seeing anything like this!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for the time taken in your review. Allow us to explain to our fellow Tripadvisor readers that we have feather pillows available in the Hotel for any guest that would like to have it, if we would have known you felt the pillows in the room not comfortable enough we would have definitely sent you some different ones.

Also the red dot on the Ceiling is the light of the fire alarm that unfortunately cannot be switched off for security reasons.

Thank you again for your review.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This lovely hotel is located close to the Spanish steps and was just perfect for our stay in Rome! The rooms were large, ornate, immaculate with comfortable beds. Service and staff was wonderful! Maribella Restaurant on top floor although overly was a bit pricey. 68 euros for 3 Raviolli in an appetizer. We will stay there again when we return to Rome!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed our stay with us and the Mirabelle, definitely one of the top restaurants in the city.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to Rome.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Writing this from our room. Great location. Modern, lots of chrome, "no frou-frou." Bottom line, this is a terrific hotel with a great staff and a very fine restaurant. Try the Venetian seafood appetizer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Eternal City in the near future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was a great place to stay. There was some confusion about our reservation and the staff worked with us. Finally, we were upgraded to a Suite with a huge balcony which always makes for a better stay. Front desk staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and the time spent on it. Thank you again for staying with us and we are glad that we have been helpful during your stay in the Eternal City.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Rome
#52 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#107 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#117 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendide Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.