We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but not Luxurious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Splendide Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #139 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
North Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable but not Luxurious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I chose the Splendide Royal after reading many reviews of this hotel and also the reviews of other hotels in that area. The Splendide was by far the best. On the whole we were not disappointed and would probably return one day. Having said that I do think that it probably does need a bit of an update. Our room was acceptable but the paintwork needed some attention. Also surprised that no bathroom slippers were available - that's a first for a 5 star hotel. Our room needed lights on most of the time as no natural light came in as we were at the back. I would have preferred a room at the front but our budget did not stretch to a junior suite. Even so, we did like this hotel and the breakfast each morning was superb although I wish the breakfast staff could have been a little more 'approachable' and not so sullen. Am I being a bit picky - maybe so but I suppose you expect perfection in a 5 star hotel. Certainly the front desk staff were exceptionally helpful and very professional. Our stay coincided with the taxi drivers strike and we needed help to go to an evening concert - the hotel staff did not let us down and with assistance we were able to get there and were very grateful. On our return home I did notice an extra amount had been deducted from my credit card but after a phone call to the hotel it was quickly sorted. On the whole an enjoyable stay, but we should all check our credit cards more frequently and more carefully.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    596
    192
    70
    40
    19
See reviews for
102
458
24
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Rome and the Hotel Splendide was the first stop on a riding tour of Italy and it was an incredible experience! Everything was just perfect from the location(right by the Borghese Gardens) to my elegant room. I had a small balcony and could have my morning coffee and look over the rooftops of Rome. The Hotel is elegant yet warm and friendly with a staff that was always helpful. The breakfast was on the rooftop which made starting the day an experience, again coffee looking over the views of Rome. I got to use the spa at the "sister"hotel and it was a delightful way to spend my last afternoon. It was only a quick taxi away but well worth the visit! Molto Grazie!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Our stay in Rome was made most enjoyable by the excellent service, the location and the comfort of the hotel.

From front desk, to house keeping, to the restaurant, the staff was welcoming and attentive.

The hotel is within minutes of the Spanish Steps and some of the best shopping in Rome. It is within comfortable walking distance to a number of attractions and very close to the Metro.

It is the comfort of the hotel that made it really special for us. The beds, along with the pillow menu made it a wonderful haven to return to after a long day of sight seeing. Our terrace was an ideal place from which to enjoy the beautiful view of the gardens, sip a glass of wine or just fall asleep in the comfortable outdoor furniture.

The Splendide Royal is a hotel to enjoy and remember.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I spent 4 days at the Spledide Royal before launching off on an Insight tour of Italy. (No, the Spledide Royal was not one of the Insight hotels; we wanted to stay in a 5 star hotel before we joined the tour. BUT the hotels that Insight used were very nice). The staff at the Splendide were very friendly and helpful. The room was beuatifual and the included breakfast was the best of all the breakfasts we had during out 2+ week stay in Italy. When we return to Rome, we will surely stay at the Splendide Royal again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Me and my wife have spent weekend in this hotel. The hotel is very romantic but I believe it needs some renovation and also for the price it could have provided a bit better services. The gym is small and there is no swimming pool. Our bathroom was a bit smelly and jacuzzi did not work.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totti5, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear Guest,
we apologize that your stay with us was not of your satisfaction regarding the room assigned. The jacuzzi bathtub are usually double checked before each new arrival, probably something wrong have to be registered in our procedures and we regret that this happened.
Regarding the renovation we inform that our property have been inaugurated recently in 2001 and every year important maintenance improvements are done in each rooms and bathrooms.
We have effectively a small fitness room on site however we have never advertised in our services a swimming pool inside our property, alternatively since September of last year the Splendide is offering to each of its guest the opportunity to enjoy a complimentary use of a very large SPA (including an indoor and outdoor pool) hosted in our sister property which is located only few minutes driving distance from our Hotel. This new service is clearly advertise and it is a pitty that you did not take advantage of it.
Thank you for the preference expressed. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Is one of the pleasures to be found in this old-line hotel located around the corner from the Via Veneto. Although the hotel is within walking distance of the Spanish steps, the ambient temperature seems about 5 degrees cooler. Its location across the street from the Parco Borghese is a definite plus. The staff is well-trained and unfailingly polite. this is the second time I have stayed here and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This was our third visit to Rome and we stayed at the Hotel for our wedding anniversary. We had a Jr. Suite with a terrace and the room was just fantastic. The hotel is lovely with just an edge of age, in fact doesn't a little crack above a baseboard add just a bit of romantic charm!

The staff is extremely professional and at the ready to assist - whatever the need. The dinner at Mirabelle was truly an exceptional experience; the staff attentive but unobtrusive, the food exceptionally prepared and presented, Rome is cast before you in ever-changing hues as the sun sets...

This is a must stay hotel.

Room Tip: There are three Jr. Suites with terrace!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#71 Business Hotel in Rome
#125 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#144 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendide Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.