We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and spacious room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diplomatic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diplomatic to your Saves list
Hotel Diplomatic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittoria Colonna 28, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #309 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well located and spacious room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great location and room. The TV was too smal and old, though. The breakfast is good, but there could be a little more variety. Maybe the worst part is the elevator, since there is only one and it´s too small. I had to use the stairs sometimes. The service is great. The front desk attendants are really nice. In short, it´s great value for money: comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: As the elevator is small and slow, prefer the first or second floor, and use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review about Hotel Diplomatic!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Rome and that you had a good time with us.

We hope to see you again

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    296
    70
    19
    12
See reviews for
87
255
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

picked this hotel after reading all the positive reviews and i am glad i did. Situated in a wonderful area only a short walk to the vatican city, and near all the other attractions. Nice clean rooms and a great breakfast to set you up for the day. Staff are polite and helpful. Nice restaurants nearby and not to pricey. Have already booked up for next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review about Hotel Diplomatic.

We are very happy to hear that you found the location comfortable and that you appreciated the service provided by our staff.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just came back from spending 7 wonderful nights at Hotel Diplomatic.
All the reviews are accurate... this hotel is the best for your stay in Rome!! The staff, the cleanliness, the yummy breakfast, the perfect location, the price....you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words about hotel Diplomatic!

We are glad to hear from you that you had a great time in Rome and that you enjoyed our hotel.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Diplomatic. It was a wonderful hotel very clean comfortable rooms. The staff were helpful arranging site seeing trips and recommending restaurants. The breakfast room was lovely, the food good. We would definitely stay there again. It exceeded our expectations for everything, location, value and service. Ellie Armstrong. Canada

Room Tip: We asked for a view and had a room that on opening the drapes and window looked down the street oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words about Hotel DIplomatic!

We are pleased to hear from you that you appreciated the service provided by our staff and that you had a great time in Rome.
We hope to see you again very soon in Rome.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent service, clean and spacious room, perfect location. There are couple of nice restaurants near the hotel where locals dine, so we enjoyed nice Italian food at a reasonable price. Hotel Diplomatic offers real value for money. We will definitelly stay at Hotel Diplomatic next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review about Hotel Diplomatic!

We are glad to know that you spent a good time in Rome and that you found the hotel location comfortable and useful.
We hope to see you again very soon!

Best regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed for our short break honeymoon in May 2013. Arranged private transfers through the hotel (by email) for collection from the airport - all went EXTREMELY smoothly which was a great relief. Just the other side of the river from main attractions - same side as the Vatican - 10-15 min walk. Nice for us not to be in the middle of all the hustle and bustle. We were on the road side but not too bad with the window closed.
Room simple but spacious and fine. Breakfast would have benefited from fresh fruit rather than tinned, but good service and coffee and nice fresh pastries on offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words about Hotel Diplomatic!

We are glad to hear from you that your stay was enjoyable and that you appreciated our service and our facilities. Thank you also for sharing your suggestions with us.

We hope to see you again very soon in Rome.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Having read previous Tripadvisor reviews before booking the hotel I was a little concerned about comments relating to the noise from the street. However our room on the 2nd floor overlooked the courtyard at the back of the hotel and was very quiet.

The staff at the hotel were all very pleasant, courteous and helpful. The receptionists spoke excellent English and were happy to help with requests for information. The staff in the breakfast lounge were very helpful and kept everything well stocked.

The bedrooms were kept spotlessly clean.

As stated in other comments the hotel is close to the Vatican and within easy reach on foot of many eating places and interesting sites.

One minor suggestion for improvement. The hotel would benefit from some place to get a coffee or hot drink when the breakfast room was closed. Either a kettle in the room or if this is not possible a machine in the lounge area perhaps.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Diplomatic for your stay in Rome!

Our staff is pleased to know that you enjoied your stay and we really appreciate your suggestion of a coffee arrengement.
We hope to see you again very soon in Rome.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomatic

Address: Via Vittoria Colonna 28, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#165 Family Hotel in Rome
#276 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diplomatic 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Diplomatic. A truly memorable holiday.With its gold and marble decor and high ceilings, in the Italian late 19th century style called Umbertino, the Hotel Diplomatic is considered a "classic" Roman hotel, thanks to its timeless elegance. The hotel is appreciated by both business and leisure guests, especially for its strategic location, between the world famous Vatican Museums and the fascinating boutiques in the environs of the Spanish Steps. A prestigious venue, it has been completely refurbished and offers 45 comfortable, spacious and airy rooms, equipped with top level amenities. The large patio on the first floor is truly unique, for relaxing and enjoying a huge array of tasty specialties at breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Hotel Rome
Hotel Diplomatic Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diplomatic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.