We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel in a good location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese to your Saves list
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Ranked #73 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Luxury Hotel in a good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed at the Sofitel Rome for one night after coming back from Venice. We wanted to end out little Eurotrip on a high note and the Sofitel didn’t disappoint.
The room was amazing. We definitely felt that were in a 5 star hotel. From the welcome message on the Flat screen, to the Hermes toiletries, we were not disappointed.
The hotel is about a 10 min walk to the Spanish Steps and luxury shopping and dining nearby. It’s a walkable distance to the Trevi Fountain, Pantheon. You would also be able to reach the Piazza Navona and Vatican from here on foot (we did), but you likely are better off taking a metro or two or one of those hop and off buses!
We ended our stay with good food and an amazing view from the restaurant/lounge on the roof! Don't miss the view, if only for a glass of wine.
Luxury hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    395
    103
    29
    18
See reviews for
298
830
47
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We normally stay at Weston Hotels but we stayed at Sofitel everything was great. We always use Limo services from and to Hotels. The one provided by Sofitel ruined our stay to the fact my wife was crying after nearly the second accident, driver said he didnt speak english evenutally slowed down but was doing 110kh in 60kh zone and nearly hit two cars will never stay at Sofitel . Sofitel need to look at this service. We left at 9 pm 30th August our room No was 223 as I said staff and hotel were great but the life of my wife and myself are very important and it wasnt to the driver he thought it was funny and laughed at us, then later tried to say sorry with fairly good english. We would rather pay more for better service, we never have this problenm at Weston Hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

The service received was excellent and was five star from the concierge to the restaurant. I speak French and English and a little Italian but they looked after me like a king. What more can I say than superb.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Our Background: Young married couple (late 20s) that enjoys travelling well. Spent 3 nights in Rome.

Our Goals: Price Range – 200-250 euros/night. Conveniently located to historical sites.

Hotel Strengths: Fairly priced, attractive interior, clean rooms, comfortable beds, good location (Spanish Steps), very insightful and pleasant staff, free internet in business center, rooftop bar

Hotel Weaknesses: Located at top of steep hill, no free wifi (that said, free wifi is tough to find in Rome)

Other hotels to consider: St. George Roma, Exedra, Hotel Raphael, Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Comments: My wife and I had a positive experience at the Sofitel. Based on simply observing the outside of hotels in Rome, most appear small and in need of upgrades. While not 5 stars by U.S. standards, the Sofitel is a full service hotel that is likely more luxurious that most Rome hotels. The prices were competitive at ~225 euros/night for a deluxe room (in late July). The staff was extremely pleasant, helpful and could hold a conversation in English. They were also helpful in providing tips on how to beat the crowds, providing restaurant and shopping recommendations, travel tips, and also in suggesting locals-focused entertainment. The hotel also has an attractive, but overpriced rooftop bar.

The Sofitel is located a few blocks north of the Spanish Steps. The Spanish Steps are a popular tourist site and near high-end shopping. It is a short taxi ride from many other tourist sites and near public transportation. The hotel specifically is located at the top of a hill though and it can be quite exhausting to climb the hill after a long day. We found ourselves taking a taxi back to the hotel every time after our initial trek up the hill. A comparable priced hotel with similar amenities located near the Pantheon or Piazza Navona, the center of the most popular tourist attractions and a flat area, would probably be a better choice, but overall you can’t go wrong with the Sofitel.

Quick Rome Highlights: Sightseeing – 1) Vatican Museums and St. Peter’s Basilica (Reserve a tour, will save you hours of waiting in line and is insightful), 2) Pantheon, 3) Trevi Fountain, 4) Colosseum. Restaurants – 1) La Palazzeto near Spanish Steps, 2) Pierluigi near Campo de Fiori. Nightlife: Anywhere in Trastavere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Sofitel Rome is a very nice hotel just a few minutes off Trevi Fountain and Piazza di Spagna.

Very convenient if you want something well-located but in a very quiet neighbourhood.

Rooms were very nice, pretty big for Roma and the staff is very helpful. (especiallt the doorman)

I don't give them a 5 because it lacks some amenities that you'd expect from a Sofitel (for the price) and b, you can't really good well-priced food close by. You had to walk a lot which we did,

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Stayed 3 nights at the end of July. Had a room on the 6th floor (612 to be exact). Great view and very spacious room, especially by European standards.
The rooftop bar is very nice as well, although like most things in Rome, outrageously priced. Worth a spurge at least once though.
Location is excellent as everything is within walking distance, but it should be noted that by walking distance, I mean relatively long walks. If you've brought your walking shoes and you don't mind working up a sweat in the July sun, you'll be ok.
Overall, we would recommend this hotel, especially for the price, which it appears like most places, is heavily discounted due to the economy.

BTW, you can park your car out front for free on Sundays, and other days, street parking is far cheaper than using the valet, which cost 40-55 Euros per day. Not sure why the range in price was given.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

A few blocks from Piazza Spagna and the famous Piazza di Spagna stairs, this Sofitel is just the place to be in Rome. The staff is friendly and internationally trained. You can easily walk to Via dei Codotti, the world known Caffe Greco and Piazza del Poppolo. Most luxury shops are located on Via Margutta, where you can shóp at ease. The hotel features a beautiful terrace on top of the building from where you can easily view most of the city. Villa Borghese gardens are just across the street. Ideal location and great service too!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#28 Business Hotel in Rome
#33 Family Hotel in Rome
#67 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th-century palace on a quiest street, minutes from mythical sites and lively neighborhoods. Sofitel Roma is a five-star Rome hotel in the vibrant heart of the "Eternal City" - between Via Veneto, the Spanish Steps, and overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens. It offers 104 elegant guest rooms, including 4 suites with private terraces and balcony, as well as three luxurious meeting rooms. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant Restaurant "Le 49".Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant "La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge". French-style living and devoted personalized service à l'italienne. Treat yourself to this central Rome hotel - equally suitable for business trips and cultural travel experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.