We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese to your Saves list
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Ranked #85 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    432
    109
    30
    18
See reviews for
318
883
47
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bay area
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Grand older property in a great location. Service is tops. Breakfast buffet is very good, the lady who runs the room is warm and personable. Interesting that they will make a plain omelette for free but will charge if you want a filling. We got a room at the front of the building and loved having a window to let in fresh air and getting the morning sun. You get free water when they make up the room and when it is turned down. FYI, garbage day is Friday so it can be noisy. Having to log in daily for the free wifi was annoying. Signal is good but not great. The bed was comfortable but the mattress springs were broken on the side I sleep on so it felt like I rolled off the bed each time I got out. King bed is two twins so there is a "crack" in the middle. Lots of restaurants in the area. Easy walk to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Metro station but it's all uphill on the way back so pace yourself. Not sure why the fuss about the view on the 7th floor, it is nice but there are areas with better views.

Room Tip: don't get a room near the elevators. the floors there are marble so it is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

It was nice to hear that your breakfast experience exceeded your expectations.

Our Ambassadors work exceptionally hard and with passion to make sure that every guest feels special.

Thank you so much for staying with us.

We hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Easter Morning's tolling bells awakened us and drew us out to our sun-filled balcony. The view over the Borghese Gardens blended well with the audio background. The hotel staff was well trained, polite, friendly and eager to be helpful. Location wise, we were a short walk to the Spanish steps and a longer walk to other desirable areas of Rome. Our new Rome destination hotel!

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking Via Lombardia or the Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

The team and I felt very proud while reading your extremely positive feedback. We were truly glad to provide you with our high level of services.

It is always a real pleasure to hear how happy are our guests when they stay with us.

Indeed we are centrally located yet on the quiet Via Lombardia street which is an asset after a busy day of business or shopping in Rome.

As you know, 'all roads lead to Rome!'.

We then look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Sofitel Roma at the end of our 3 week European holiday. Having stayed at this hotel in the past, we already knew what a wonderful hotel this was, and this stay did not disappoint. The rooms are very nice although our view was of the side of another building - make sure to ask for a room in the back. The bed was very so very comfortable you will have a great night sleep. While a little on the expensive side, the breakfast is wonderful. We received dinner recommendations (Ristorante San Marco which is in walking distance) and the food was so good, we ate there every night. Every one of the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. This hotel is highly recommended and I cannot wait for another visit to Roma as I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese on your second visit to the “Eternal City”.

It is so pleasant to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you for your kind words!

We genuinely look after our guests and love to indulge them.

We then look forward to welcoming you together with your family to our centrally located hotel.

Sincerely Yours.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

close to all attractions and museums,Very nice hotel,comfortable,friendly staff, good service. Always ready to help.
walking distance to all the restaurants and shopping .
taxis are easily available.
very close to bus station.
there is roof top restaurant with a beautiful view of the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank for your pointing out many of our assets here at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese. The central yet quiet location is one of them but the one we are the most proud of is our high standard of services.

Service wise we try our utmost to indulge all of our guests as we have a passion for them.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in near future.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

To be honest when we first checked in we felt that the hotel was a bit small and feared the worst. The rooms, though recently refurbished, still had some old touches. We soon realised however that all the finishes were well in line with the heritage of the building and surroundings.

The location is good but we did have to take a cab most times to catch our tours. Not too far though from the Colosseum (EUR10) and the Vatican (EUR15).

We took the concierge's advice on where to eat and both times the suggestions were fabulous.

The TV is a bit annoying (and small) as the multimedia software lags. No special views from the rooms but a very peaceful outlook.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am most glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention. I can tell that we have reached our aim.

It is always a pleasure to hear how happy are our guests when they stay with us!

We then look forward to your second stay at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sofitel Villa Borghese three nights in April--everything about the hotel exceeded our expectations--the room, bathroom, breakfast, location not to mention the staff which was very accommodating and professional. I would especially like to thank Angelo, the concierge---he always went out of his way to give suggestions, directions and make reservations for us. All in all this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

It was fabulous to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations.

All our Ambassadors work exceptionally hard and with passion for excellence to make sure that every guest feels special. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction!

Thank you so much for your kind words and for staying with us.

We hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Rome
#39 Family Hotel in Rome
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#66 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th-century palace on a quiest street, minutes from mythical sites and lively neighborhoods. Sofitel Roma is a five-star Rome hotel in the vibrant heart of the "Eternal City" - between Via Veneto, the Spanish Steps, and overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens. It offers 104 elegant guest rooms, including 4 suites with private terraces and balcony, as well as three luxurious meeting rooms. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant Restaurant "Le 49".Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant "La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge". French-style living and devoted personalized service à l'italienne. Treat yourself to this central Rome hotel - equally suitable for business trips and cultural travel experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.