We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese to your Saves list
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Ranked #76 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Anacortes, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Sofitel Villa Borghese is a delightful boutique hotel, easily walkable to the Spanish Steps, the Via Veneto, Piazzo del Popolo and the Borghese Gardens. There are many reasonably (for Rome) priced restaurants within walking distance and the neighborhood is quiet with very little traffic. Beautifully appointed rooms with excellent beds, excellent air conditioning, and more room for luggage and clothes than expected. Their breakfast room on the lower level is charming, with excellent buffet or a la carte offerings. We paid for a breakfast /room package, and it was really a great start to a long day of sight seeing. The concierge and front desk staff were very accommodating and friendly, always smiling and willing to answer questions. The bathroom was beautiful, with lovely marble walls, floor and counters, a rain shower and bath tub, and good lighting. Couldn't have asked for more.
We arrived earlier than expected, several hours before check-in, after a mix up with our flight. Without any questions, we were warmly welcomed, and taken immediately to our room. The front desk staff had been contacted by our transport service to inquire about our arrival, as the airline had changed the flight number and arrival time. So they seemed genuinely relieved to see us and to learn that our transport had found us. We felt their concern was real and that we were really "home" for our six night stay.
We would definitely stay here again, would recommend it to everyone, and cannot say enough good things about the Sofitel Villa Borghese! After researching many hotels in this area, we were absolutely delighted with our choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front corner! It had views to "die for". . . St. Peter's dome o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was truly glad to hear about your great experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Indeed we are centrally located yet on the quiet Via Lombardia street which is an asset after a busy day of business or shopping in Rome.

It was nice to hear that the Concierge Service exceeded your expectations. Our Ambassadors work exceptionally hard to make sure that every guest feels special.

Indeed we pay special attention into details which are not as a matter of fact. Everything is important when you are away from home!

Moreover, the Executive Chef felt really proud when hearing that you have had such an enjoyable breakfast experience. Indeed, early in the morning, French and Italian cultures blend together to delight guests’ palates!

We then look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    400
    103
    29
    18
See reviews for
300
832
47
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I've stayed here twice and each time was perfect. The property is beautiful but the staff is outstanding. I recommend it to friends and family and look forward to staying there again on my next trip to Rome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I could not feel prouder of my whole team when reading your feedback. It is such a praise to our high standards of service. Thank you so much for mentioning it.

Indeed we pay special attention into details which are not as a matter of fact. Everything is important when you are away from home.

We were delighted to provide you with our undivided attention.

We then look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Sofitel is well situated in that it is close to almost everything but enough off the beaten track that you don't have to deal with street noise and all the negatives that go with it. And I cannot say enough about the staff and the service they provided from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. After having visited Florence and Siena where street noise was a huge issue, the front desk showed us two rooms and allowed us to pick which we thought would be the quietest. An added bonus is the restaurant which has a great view and fabulous food (this from a couple that rarely eats in hotel restaurants). We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we return to Rome.

Room Tip: Hotel is on a side street so almost any room will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank for your pointing out many of our assets here at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese. The central yet quiet location is one of them but the one we are the most proud of is our high standard of services.

The Executive Chef was also grateful to your praise regarding his cuisine. Indeed he only serves the freshiest seasonal products on the market.

We look forward to your next visit at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

A bientot!

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, well situated near the Spanish Steps. It's beautifully maintained and has a very nice bar on its roof and comfortable and well-designed rooms that are of good size. It's the kind of hotel one would be glad to visit anywhere in the world.

But I'll tell you what will make you remember this hotel long after you forget what the rooms look like: the staff, especially the front-desk staff.

It was our first trip to Europe and we arrived at 10 a.m.on a Friday, tired and grubby from a long flight. We were about five hours early for check-in and desperately wanted showers and a nap. With not much hope I walked up to the reception desk and while the concierge checked my papers I asked if there were a chance of an early check-in. He'd already started working on it. The hotel was pretty full, he said while working the computer, but our room was vacant and he'd have housekeeping bump it to the top of the list. If we'd care to have some breakfast in the restaurant he'd make sure the room was ready within an hour.

It was no big deal to him, and it might not seem like one to you, but at that moment it felt like a gift to us, and it was typical of the kind and thoughtful way the staff treated us throughout our visit.

We had a wonderful time in Italy, and we can't wait to return. And when we do, I know just where we will stay.

Room Tip: We had a standard double room. We had been nervous about the possibility that rooms would be small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese on your visit to the “Eternal City”.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

It was nice to hear that our Front Desk Ambassadors exceeded your expectations.

They work exceptionally hard to make sure that every guest feels special.

Thank you so much for staying with us.

We hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We checked into the Sofitel with high expectations due to the price of the room, however the service, room, and staff exceeded them. Unlike previous reviews, our breakfast and wifi were included with our room charge. The basic wifi included of 256kbs is a bit slow, but just fine for searching the web and booking activities. Higher speeds are available for a fee.

The buffet breakfast (30 euro if not included in your room rate) was exceptional. Fresh fruit, cheese, bread, cured meats, pastries and the best coffee were the perfect was to start the day.

Luigi the doorman greeted us each morning and was always very friendly. The rest of the staff were very helpful whenever we had any questions.

The location is about a 20min walk to the colosseum, 10-15 to the Campo de 'fiori and a 10 euro taxi ride to St Peters square. If you don't mind the walk its a great location as you can get away from the busy tourist area and go for a run on one of the recommended routes.

Of all our hotels stays in rome, this has been the best experience. If we return to Rome we will be staying at the Sofitel Villa Borghese.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am extremely thankful to you for pointing Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese out as one of the best hotels you have ever been to. This means a lot to the team and I!

We genuinely look after our guests and love to indulge them.

I thank you for mentioning Luigi in your feedback. It is extremely rewarding for our Ambassadors to get such gratitude from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A Bientot!

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

It is probably one of the BEST HOTEL IN EUROPE! From the first step you are filing home. Coming ... you are still paying bill to taxi driver hotel porter is opening door for you with a big smile . He got some tips it is ok, if no-no stress. Same with a luggage, even don,t dream to take it to you room. During you are speaking with administrator- you luggage already in the room. Personal ....they are like brothers and fathers to you. You can ask anything they are always ready to help. Rain-please umbrella , taxi-you will get cheap and clean . Fresh flowers everywhere . About rooms- just one word beautiful!
Very surprised that same atmosphere in all hotel departments. Bar- please with a glass of wine or sprits snacks , restoran on the top- it is a mazing ! View better that from Vatican. Cook is perfect very friendly waiters. Breakfast - incredible salmon, 5 kinds of strawberry's (with mint, ice, cream, ice-cream, strawberry salad ), some fruits what I even never so even in Turkish 5* hotels. After first breakfast next day waiters remember what kind of drinks you like (kind of juice , coffee with milk or without, with sugar or without- everything).
In the end I would like to replace that this hotel have a perfect location, mazing view and classic interior in side of hotel !

Room Tip: If you have possibility ask view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for praising Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese!

The team and I felt very proud while reading your extremely positive feedback. We were truly glad to provide you with our high level of services.

We love to indulge all of our guests and we do it in a genuine way. Indeed we pay special attention into details which are not as a matter of fact. Everything is important when you are away from home.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Sofitel, throughout the stay, and upon checkout everyone was friendly, helpful, and professional. The room was gorgeous and we had Champagne waiting for us as it was our wedding anniversary. The view and food on the terrace were spectacular and breathtaking. It is expensive but you get what you pay for. I can't wait to stay at this hotel again and would choose it if (and hopefully when) we return to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese and thank you very much for the positive review of our hotel.

Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention.

Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction!

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#33 Family Hotel in Rome
#67 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th-century palace on a quiest street, minutes from mythical sites and lively neighborhoods. Sofitel Roma is a five-star Rome hotel in the vibrant heart of the "Eternal City" - between Via Veneto, the Spanish Steps, and overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens. It offers 104 elegant guest rooms, including 4 suites with private terraces and balcony, as well as three luxurious meeting rooms. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant Restaurant "Le 49".Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant "La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge". French-style living and devoted personalized service à l'italienne. Treat yourself to this central Rome hotel - equally suitable for business trips and cultural travel experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.