We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the Crowds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese to your Saves list
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Ranked #73 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Bradford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Away from the Crowds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

On the map the Sofitel Rome Hotel doesn't seem that far away from Roma Termini rail station,
but walking there on a warm sunny April day wasn't an option, especially when you think that the hotel is on a hill.

The taxi seemed to go a long way around to charge nearly 10 Euro, but the area is full of one-way streets so that could be normal.

The Hotel is very clean and the reception staff were helpful speaking several languages.

We'd booked a superior room, which consisted of a king-size bed (two singles pushed together) and I must say it was very comfortable.

The room was clean and tidy had enough natural light from two large windows that looked out to the internal fire escape, but by other "superior" room 5* Hotel standards we thought it was relativity small. It did however include a small desk and coffee table and surprisingly an ash tray with complementary matches even though we'd specified a non-smoking room. Luckily there was not any stale cigarette smell noticeable.

There was no in room coffee/tea making facilitates so the only alternatives are in the Hotel at 7 Euro a cup or down the road at 2 Euro.

Wi-Fi at 256kb was free which is enough for emails and Social Networking. Higher speeds were available at additional cost.

The Hotel is located next to the Villa Borghese Park which is great to escape the city and see greenery. Away from the Hotel there's several restaurants and cafés which offered a wide range eating options at differing prices.

Spagna Metro is close by, 10 minutes walk and thus the Spanish Steps.

Overall, it's a nice hotel, in a non-central location which we liked, but having 5* tag, you'd expect a a bit more than just 5* prices. I suppose it depends on whether you're staying a couple days or a week. With longer stays, you start to notice differences compared to other 5* Hotels around the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are honored you chose the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese for your stay in the “Eternal City”.

Our commitment is to provide you with impeccable standards and the greatest comfort possible. Each guest’s visit should be an unforgettable experience.

We thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are always attaching high importance to hear about our guests’ experiences during their stay in our hotel. It helps us to better understand our clients’ wishes and to constantly improve what we are offering.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    395
    103
    29
    18
See reviews for
298
830
47
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the start of the month for 3 nights after we were married, this was our minimoon!

We checked at approximately midnight and had a smooth check in with excellent english being spoken by all staff we met. As we hadn't eaten and didn't want to wander around trying to find something to eat, we opted for room service and chose a lasagne and mixed salad to share with some wine. This came to approximately 40 Euro but the quality wasn't that great. The overnight room service was quick but choices were limited and as I mentioned, the quality wasn't great and for 20 Euro, the lasagne was at best, microwave quality!

We had a superior room on the third floor and it was well equipped, nicely laid out with plenty of storage space and very clean. Bathroom had both a shower and bath and was suitable for the size of the room. The one problem with this bathroom is that the toilet is immediately behind the door so the door banged on the toilet when ever we went in! It looked like there was a door stop once upon a time and the paint on the back of the door had worn off so it had been like this for some time. I would've expected a hotel of this quality to notice this and sort it out.

The room was facing the road (320) and we were woken up each day at around 7.00am when the bins were being emptied into the lorry and bottles crashing was loud! Not too much of an inconvenience as we were due to get up around this time but could get irritating if staying for long periods.

These points above are minor and I'm being fussy!

The hotel is in a quiet area and depending on how quickly you walk, it's 5-10 minutes to the top of the Spanish Steps and Spagna metro station. I should add that this is all downhill so walking back up might take longer. You can resort to bribery with gelati like I did.

Hotel is well presented with all staff being multilingual and speaking English to a high standard. Free maps were available at reception with the staff clearly explaining where you were in relation to everything.

We had dinner in the rooftop terrace and had a lovely meal and were lucky with the weather as it was clear and we could see across Rome towards St Peter's and the Vatican as well as the parks nearby. A nice touch was when I went out to take some pictures with my wife on the terrace, staff came out with blankets that had been prewarmed!

Would stay here again if I came to Rome and will recommend to others (minor points aside)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your positive feedback detailing your overall enjoyable stay at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

The Executive Chef felt really proud when hearing that you have had such an enjoyable dinner experience at our restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge as he uses only the freshiest products on the market.

Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention.

I am sorry however to hear that the room service was not to your full satisfaction. I thank you for your feedback and will discuss this with the F&B Director.

We thank you again for your constructive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A short break for my wife and I. From the moment we were collected at the airport by the Chaffeur the holiday was excellent. The service was attentive, the location was quiet and easily within walking distance of all major sights. Food in the rooftop restaurant was one of the best meals I have ever experienced.

Overall a brilliant trip, I thank all of those at the hotel who made it special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We do our utmost to enchant our guests and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim!

The Executive Chef and I were very proud to hear that you have had a great food experience at our restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge. Indeed he only serves the freshiest seasonal products on the market.

Thank you so much for staying with us.

We then look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Kind regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

good experience in general; service was good and the information given by the concierge or the lady in charge of providing help to guests on various topics very efficient (masses times in various churches and in French, restaurants, reservation for visting the Vatican...).May be less so, surprising enough, for the points of interest closest to the hotel like Trinité des Monts which we discovered the last day by chance including the nice restaurants which are there. Bathroom is quite tiny (room 402) although having a window is quite useful and the fact that the bath has been repaired quite visibly is not at the level of the rest of the services and equipment provided by the hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese on your visit to the “Eternal City”.

I am most glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I thank you for mentioning our Concierge and our Guest Relation in your feedback. It is extremely rewarding for the team to get such gratitude from our guests.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carefreeLondon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great location for seeing Rome...five minutes from Spanish Steps...I have stayed here many times...even walked as far as Trastevere this time.Staff at hotel are brilliant,always going the extra mile to help.Would recommend this place in a heartbeat...just a shame I can only manage two weekly visits a year...here's to next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was great to read such positive a feedback like yours and I thank you for that.

We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction. This is the reason why my team and I were so happy to read your kind words.

We all look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Regrettably only a rushed visit to the eternal city on this occasion but nailing the right accommodation is always mission critical. Have just spent 1 night at the Sofitel Villa B. and it hit the spot for me.
I have traversed all levels of accommodation in this town including a magnificent apartment 3 years ago and I can say this one is a good one. Location central, quiet and a bonus being so close to the Villa B. gardens and of course the Galleria Borghese.
Staff attentive and engaging, rooms neat, clean if a little tight in proportion. Comfortable once I had them turn down the excessive internal heating. Very competitively priced and I will return. WiFi is charged for and this is a little irksome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was lovely to read such positive a feedback as yours. Your compliment of Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese being one of the greatest hotels in Rome is our utmost reward. Thank you!

We try and provide an excellent service to all of our guests and I thank you for pointing this out in your lines above.

We then look forward to welcoming you back to our centrally located hotel.

A Bientot!

Best regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We loved our visit at the Sofitel Rome. The location is close to sites and restaurants, yet a quiet retreat from the crowds. Every detail was perfect. The housekeeping service was absolutely wonderful. By the time you finished breakfast the room was clean and fluffy towels were replace. The bathroom was large, modern and had an awesome bath tub. All the staff was friendly and went out of their way to make our stay special. Room service was fast and breakfasts (not included in our room) were good although the choices were the same each day. The restaurant was amazing with gorgeous views of the park. We all felt very spoiled and I guess we were spoiled!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese .

The team and I felt very proud while reading your extremely positive feedback.

We do our utmost to enchant our guests and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards.

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#28 Business Hotel in Rome
#33 Family Hotel in Rome
#67 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th-century palace on a quiest street, minutes from mythical sites and lively neighborhoods. Sofitel Roma is a five-star Rome hotel in the vibrant heart of the "Eternal City" - between Via Veneto, the Spanish Steps, and overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens. It offers 104 elegant guest rooms, including 4 suites with private terraces and balcony, as well as three luxurious meeting rooms. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant Restaurant "Le 49".Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant "La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge". French-style living and devoted personalized service à l'italienne. Treat yourself to this central Rome hotel - equally suitable for business trips and cultural travel experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.