We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese to your Saves list
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Ranked #85 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A good hotel. Helpful staff, comfortable bed, tasty breakfast, good view from the rooftop bar. The balcony was tiny and the view was of the street. Overall perfectly acceptable and reasonably located just 5 minutes up a slight hill from the top of the Spanish steps. Not one of the top hotels of the world, but definitely nothing to be upset about.

For Accor members: No problem with a 4pm late checkout, but no upgrade (le club Accorhotels platinum)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

I am most thankful to you for your kind words which are a true encouragement for the whole team.

Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    432
    109
    30
    18
See reviews for
318
883
47
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

One of the best hotels I've stayed. Great staff, excellent service, great breakfast at the basement , romantic bar at the roof top. Very upmarket location and beautiful architecture. We stayed at the VIp suite with a garden like a penthouse.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

I was truly glad to hear about your great experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

We do our utmost to enchant our guests and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim.

Service wise we try our utmost to indulge all of our guests as we have a passion for them.

We then look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The service in this hotel was amazing. Everyone was helpful and generous with their time and very helpful with suggestions. I was their with my organization for a conference and they handled the group very well. The breakfasts were amazing with French press coffee, a great selection of fruits, breads, cheeses, yogurts as well as a great hot buffet. The roof top lounge looks out over the Vatican in the distance and the hotel is just around the corner from the Spanish steps. Fabulous location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was great to read such positive a feedback like yours and I thank you for that.

We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction. This is the reason why my team and I were so happy to read your kind words.

We all look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Myself, husband and 10 year old daughter have just returned from a 5 day break in Rome, staying at the Sofitel. Please do not look for any bad comments in my review, as I will not be writing any. We saw some 'moaners' whilst there, 'can't please everyone all the time.' But the Sofitel sure does try.
The service is second to none and the staff friendly, welcoming and warm. The rooms, well I can only comment on the one that we stayed in. (Luxury Room) Almost perfect, perhaps needed a coffee machine of sorts for that early morning riser or the late night thirst quencher. Wonderful well stocked bathroom and large extremely comfy bed !!
The lounge and restaurant took my breath away with stunning views over Rome and the Vatican. The food it certainly above average in price but also in quality. My favourite restaurant is The Cliff in Barbados, for those that have not had the pleasure of this fine establishment, please google the view and menu, The Cliff and Sofitel are similar in wow factor of food and views. My 40th birthday was spent in the Sofitel restaurant and I can honestly say that there was no other place I would rather have been. The bar staff were the friendliest people I have had the pleasure of meeting.
Breakfast is also a pleasure to experience, pricey but again I think well worth it. If you want something cheaper, then stay at a lower star hotel.
Luxurious, friendly, stunning views and food, perfect location..... Would I go back ? You try and stop me.

Room Tip: If possible book a luxury room, it won't disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

I love to read such positive feedbacks about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Thank you very much for your kind words and for your pointing out many of our assets but the one we are the most proud of is our high standard of services!

The Executive Chef and I were very proud to hear that you have had a great food experience at our restaurant La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge in occasion of your 40th birthday.

We look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

Kind regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very nice hotel, friendly helpful staff, great rooftop bar with beautiful views to the west. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom had good amenities and a nice rainfall shower head. A good location with easy access to lots of the things you want to see in Rome. Taxis were easily obtained, and a metro station was only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is so pleasant to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you!

As a matter of fact our daily main aim is to make our guests happy and we genuinely put a lot into it to provide the highest standard of services. I am most thankful to you for your kind words which are a true encouragement for the whole team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

After taking a 14 hour flight, we arrived in Rome at 7:00AM and checked in at Hotel Sofitel. Since it was my first trip to Italy, I did not have any reference point, but in retrospective I can provide better comments.

The daily breakfast and service is excellent. The coffee is superb and the options range from eggs to fruit, cheese, breads. All of the food is excellent.

While some may feel that the location is off the beat and track a bit (up from the Spanish Steps), it means that it is not noisy. The area is nice as it borders the big park. While you have to walk up a bit of a hill to get to the hotel, we didn't find this to be an issue as we spent each day walking for hours.

Although the rooms were small, this is typical in Italy and certainly in major U.S. cities like NYC. But, the bed was very, very comfortable. The bathroom was very nice also.

On the top floor is a bar/restaurant which is a great way to end the day if you want a coffee or a drink.

When we returned back to Rome we stayed our final night at Hotel Hassler. While this hotel is quite lovely it is considerably more expensive. It's also a bit more formal. So, if you're looking for a high level of service, without the stuffiness, comfortable accommodations, friendly staff, we would recommend Sofitel. It will also save you a few bucks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Rome, Manager at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese and thank you very much for your pointing out many of our assets here at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese.

The central yet quiet location is one of them but the one we are the most proud of is our high standard of services.

Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely,

Laurent Hudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese

Address: Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Rome
#39 Family Hotel in Rome
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#68 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th-century palace on a quiest street, minutes from mythical sites and lively neighborhoods. Sofitel Roma is a five-star Rome hotel in the vibrant heart of the "Eternal City" - between Via Veneto, the Spanish Steps, and overlooking the Villa Borghese gardens. It offers 104 elegant guest rooms, including 4 suites with private terraces and balcony, as well as three luxurious meeting rooms. Start the day with an energizing selection of French and Italian specialties at the elegant Restaurant "Le 49".Enjoy delightful drinks and divine Mediterranean cuisine at the splendorous rooftop restaurant "La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge". French-style living and devoted personalized service à l'italienne. Treat yourself to this central Rome hotel - equally suitable for business trips and cultural travel experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Rome
Sofitel Hotel Roma
Sofitel Rome
Rome Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.