We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude-no service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Palace to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto 70, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Boscolo Palace Roma)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Dallas,Tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rude-no service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We just returned from Rome we were to stay 4 nights at the Boscolo. We only stayed 2 and would have moved the first night if the Flora had been available. Went to get a drink in the bar the first night and once we found a person to wait on us it took him 20 min to find a glass. And he was annoyed we bothered him. This was the start, it went down from there. Everyone of the staff seemed like we were bothering them. I asked the concierge if she could get us tickets for Borghaese for the next week when we returned back to Rome. She looked at my record and said you are not staying here next week, you will have to have the Flora book that. I said but I am here now for 4 nights. Wow, they did not want to help with anything. Very modern. Everyone just Rude!! For $500.00 a night I expect 5 star service. Stay at the Flora it is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    134
    55
    18
    17
See reviews for
93
257
4
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I just spent 4 nights here, located on the upper end of the Via Veneto, across the street from the American Embassy. Situated close to so many sights, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Villa Borghese on a busy street (Hard Rock Cafe is next door) with many restaurants nearby. Our room faced the Via Veneto but traffic never bothered us and was always quiet. Modern furnishings which was a surprise but decidely refreshing. Our room was large with a very comfortable bed and the bath was large with a nice shower and nice amenities and was always very clean. We never had any problems with WiFi connections on our IPhone or IPad. The staff was professional and quickly gave suggestions when asked. The doormen were attentative, giving assistance when raining, opening doors, etc. I would have liked the hotel to have a "business center" so you don't have to rely on the staff to print out boarding passes, etc for you. The restaurant has a somewhat limited menu for dinner, which was good but not stellar. Would have no problem staying here again or suggesting to friends for a pleasant stay in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Situated in the upmarket area of Via Veneto and on a busy road, this hotel is very impressive but lacks that 5 star feel. Room was small and no tea or coffee making facilities. Bathroom was lovely with a great walk in shower. the hotel maid service was excellent. The very slow WiFi was hit and miss and dropped the connections regularly, it was free so I guess this could be overlooked. Breakfast was a basic offering of continental unless you wanted to fork out on cooked fare.

Personally, we wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I have spent the last 5 nights and would recommend Boscolo Palace. The location is superb, room was quiet and had a very comfortable bed. The staff was very accommodating (especially Aida and the breakfast staff). Although the bar could use a little help, overall our experience at the Boscolo was most memorable.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and it was certainly that. Although 103 was a bit small, it was what we a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is a 5 star European Hotel. You must always subtract one star when comparing European to American Hotels. It seems that most negative reviews are from people that have not previously traveled to Europe. I was upgraded to the 7th floor (gold status.) Modern furnishings are not for everyone but the room was always clean and smelled fresh. Outstanding toiletries in the bathroom. Breakfast was good if you arrived early. The staff does need to do a better job of replenishing foods.
As far as all the negative internet reviews; I never had trouble with the internet. Worked fine on my i-phone and i-pad.
For everyone reading this review. This hotel is not for everyone due to the modern design, however the location is good and the staff is professional although a little aloof.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We went here for our honeymoon, given that it was a Marriott and in a fairly good and "safe" location, we decided to book here. I asked for a higher floor and a quiet room, when we arrived, we were granted a room on the top floor, however it was the worst room on the floor with no shower! Yes there was a bathtub, but it was a bathtub for midgets. I'm 161cm tall and petite, yet could hardly fit or stand in the tub, let alone my 190cm husband.

We then asked for another room with a shower (gosh..isn't this standard?). We were then given the smallest room possible (barely 20 m2), which reeked of cigarettes (in a non smoking hotel). The man changing us declared we were lucky as they were "booked out".

This hotel should be ashamed by calling itself a 5 star, and a Marriott. I stay at Marriotts across the world for work and this is by far the WORST ever.

The good:
- if your room has a shower, the shower will be big and spacious.
- The bar downstairs is half empty, but makes a good banana pina colada. Yum!
- Free (but slow) wifi

The bad:
- The sizes of the room if you're booking the standard deluxe rooms
- The decor, it's cheap and tacky
- The room service was HORRIBLE and expensive. We had to send some soup back for being too salty
- The staff couldn't care less about you. The worst being the lady who checked us out, she didn't usher a word to ask us how our stay was etc. The doormen sometimes will open the door for you, other times they'll look at you as you open the door yourself.
- The room service was inconsistent, the bad smell from our room from the first night disappeared after the second night. Toiletries were often not re-stocked.
- NO GYM OR SPA like it advertised. If you wanted to walk up the road you could use another hotel apparently. Pathetic!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here after a Mediterranean cruise due to its excellent location and boutique status, and were extremely happy all around. We checked in pretty early, and even though our room was not quite ready they asked us to wait just 10 minutes as things were completed. Once we arrived at the room (escorted by the front desk), we were pleasantly surprised at the size, upscale decor, excellent bathroom, and our INCREDIBLE balcony overlooking the American Embassy. The hotel exceeded our expectations pretty much at every point. I even borrowed a corkscrew from the lobby bartender to open a bottle of our Tuscan wine we brought with us after a winery visit.

All the staff we encountered were very helpful and spoke English. However, special thanks go out to Mirko for excellent front desk service. I am Marriott Platinum, and we will certainly stay here again when in Rome.

Room Tip: If you can get a balcony room overlooking the Embassy and surrounding areas, you are in for a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Palace

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 70, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Boscolo Palace Roma)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#74 Business Hotel in Rome
#87 Family Hotel in Rome
#144 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Palace Roma Hotel Rome
Boscolo Grand Palace Rome
Hotel Boscolo Grand Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.