We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a quiet neighborhood.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Duke Hotel to your Saves list
Duke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Archimede 69, 00197 Rome, Italy (Parioli)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a quiet neighborhood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Excellent hotel in a quiet neighborhood. The staff is wonderful and accomodating. Everyone at the hotel is helpful. There is a supermarket about two blocks away. This hotel is a nice oasis from the chaos of Rome, especially during the busy tourist season. Easy cab ride to the Spanish Steps or take the hotel shuttle. The staff treated my infant daughter like a princess, including setting up a crib in our room and a gift of a wooden music box. My husband and I were there for business for one week. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for room 310.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    311
    74
    41
    21
See reviews for
142
372
19
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Duke. The front office staff were extremely helpful and assisted us in making contact with the car company we had booked from Australia. The lounge bar attendant was very friendly and the services he provided were exemplary! Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Worldhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

The Duke Hotel is located far off the beaten path in a residential neighborhood with
few restaurants or shopping nearby. Though the personnel are cheerful and try to
satisfy guests, the lobby floor in all its areas is gloomy and in need of renovation. The
rooms are well-furnished and ours was large for Rome. But the restaurant food is so
terrible (we dined there one night) that only one other hapless couple was there. The
food was tasteless, lacking in imagination, poorly served; even the breakfasts were only
marginal, unless you retreated to the safety of small rolls.

The hotel might be a nice one again in the future but it needs investment and change.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I think all reviews of this hotel are acurate. The subjective part is related to personal choice to be near or away from city center. I travel alot for business, so when I am on vacation, I do not enjoy being in the middle of everything near the city only to be awaken by midnight party goers. I liked the quiet neighborhood feel and though there were some very interesting walks in the area albeit not tourist sights. The quaint neighborhood and really terrific service are a nice combination. I like the quiet nights of sleep followed by an amazing buffet in the morning. The only complaint is the distance from the city. You need to take a short walk (about 15 min) to the train station or use their coach service which takes you to the Spanish Steps. that was convenient but not as nice as being right in the heart of things. The trade off for me was worth it. People wanting the party atmosphere of Rome at 2:00 am should not stay here.

Room Tip: check travel sites and compare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Beautiful and elegant hotel in a lovely residencial area. Guests get to/from town in only 5 minutes with a great shuttle service. I had the most fantastic room !!! The staff is perfect and Massimo is the best...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Good hotel in the center of Rome, hotel has free drop and pick up to Piazza del popolo, which is a great advantage for people who want to explore Rome.

Staff are extremely friendly and nice, room service is good and i would go to this place when i travel to Rome next time

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

The hotel is beautifully appointed and the rooms are large, clean and modern. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood and offers a shuttle service to/from the Piazza del Popolo every 30 minutes. The Manager, Massimo, was extremely friendly and helpful. He went the extra mile, above and beyond the call of duty, to do whatever was necessary to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. The breakfast buffet is quite substantial and offers a lot of variety. Food prices are relatively inexpensive in the hotel restaurant and the quality of the food was outstanding. I highly recommend The Duke Hotel and would give it 5 stars for overall quality and service.

Room Tip: Excellent Service & Large Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Hotel

Address: Via Archimede 69, 00197 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in Rome
#93 Family Hotel in Rome
#95 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#147 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star boutique hotel The Duke Hotel allows you to enjoy the city at its best: art, culture, shopping and business. Nestled in the Villa Borghese area The Duke Hotel offers a quiet and private place to return to after a day of exploring the Eternal city's attractions or doing business. Just minutes away from the historical center, where the finest shops and historical sites can be found and nearby the new Auditorium Parco della Musica, Galleria Borghese, Olimpic Stadium and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art. The Duke Hotel will be an ideal place for single tourists, families and business travelers alike.The Duke Hotel has 78 comfortable rooms. The rooms are distributed over 6 floors and are different in shape and size. Some rooms have balcony or terraces. Several connected rooms. Four rooms are equipped for disabled guests. A smoking floor is also available. All these rooms are tastefully decorated with the furnishings further enhanced by coordinated flowers and offers all comforts and services of a 4* hotel. Authentic Italian cuisine is served in its restaurant "I Duchi". You may enjoy a variety of original menu creations and regional home-made pastries. The cuisine adds a touch of creativity to the traditional cooking with international specialties recommended by our Chef. The comfortable Polo Lounge Bar is a popular meeting place. The warm atmosphere makes it an ideal meeting point where you can relax, enjoy a large choice of cocktails and drinks and taste the traditional English Afternoon Tea. For business travelers or those hosting a social event while in the city The Duke's Meeting Rooms are equipped with all technical fittings as well as special technology for videoconferences such as ISDN lines. All the Meeting Spaces maintain the same taste for detail as the hotel with comfortable chairs and furnishings in delicate shades creating an elegant yet efficient atmosphere.If you are looking for a quality luxury hotel in Rome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Duke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Hotel Rome
Rome Hotel Duke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.