We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amalfi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amalfi Hotel to your Saves list
Amalfi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #144 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was a great little hotel to stay in for 6 days of sightseeing in Rome. Really helpful and friendly staff. Very clean room. Lovely breakfast. Good location. We highly recommend it and would return.

Room Tip: It's worth paying for a room at the front.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    235
    46
    13
    3
See reviews for
95
313
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a family operated Hotel about 10 minutes from the Termini Station and in the shadows of Santa Maria Maggiore Church. I stayed 8 nights, thru 4 May. My room was comfortable, well furnished and very clean. The staff is a delight. Mr. Cosimo and his son showed great hospitality. Mr. Emilio recommended a great restaurant in the area. If you are looking for a nice hotel experience in close proximity to just about everything, this is it. Bravo and Prego!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and it was fantastic experience, great location close to terminal station, metros, many restaurants and close to Santa Maria Maggiore, infact we had view of the square from our window, which was great!!!
Staff at hotel were very friendly and helpful. Entire hotel is impeccably clean.
I highly recommend this hotel, great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is well sited for walking to many of Rome's historical attractions as well as the bus and train station which are just a few minutes walk away. It is spotlessly clean and staff are very knowledgeable and helpful. Our room was 'compact' and I'm glad that my wife and I were there for only three days. Still, it was comfortable enough and nicely decorated. The breakfast room is clean and bright but the variety and quality of food and drinks is not very good. I suspect that the food was bought on price and not quality. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay at the Amalfi and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Amalfi for 4 nights in April 2013. The hotel is ideal for a short break in the city. It is only 5 minutes walk from Termini station and the train is the easiest way to get from Fiumicino Airport.
As previous reviewers have highlighted the rooms are quite small, however the bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean. The hotel will provide a kettle, but if you need any tea or coffee supplies these are not provided, as standard.
Breakfast was usual continental fare, fruit, cereals, rolls, cheese, ham, eggs, etc, so no complaints there.
All of the staff are very friendly and helpful with tourism advice and restaurant recommendations, there are a number of reasonable local restaurants within a few minutes walk. We did follow the advice of a previous Tripadvisor reviewer of a nearby restaurant (located right out of the hotel, down 1st small road on the right and short walk down on the corner on the left) and it was a disaster! So probably better following the hotels suggestions!!
I do not have any recent experience of similar hotels in Rome, but the Amalfi ticks all the boxes for a cost effective short break in Rome and if I return to the city will certainly consider staying again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Fantastic hotel - a haven in the city. Stayed for 3 nights with my family. Two lovely rooms next to each other. The staff were really helpful and breakfast was great! Handy location - not too far to walk to most of the sites. Absolutely wonderful restaurant nearby - turn right out of hotel, first right (down small side street) and it is on left (on corner). Real Italian atmosphere and great food and wine. Would love to visit Rome again and would certainly stay at the Amalfi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for five nights from 26th march 2013. Cannot fault the hotel. It's in a great location, a five minute walk from Termini and a ten minute walk to the colloseum. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. WiFi throughout the hotel. The rooms are very clean with clean towels every day. Plenty of hot water.
A special mention must be made to the fantastic lady who serves breakfast everyday. She is the nicest, happiest lady you will ever meet. She made our stay at this hotel.
Will definitely come back to this hotel when in Rome again.

Room Tip: 421-looks onto the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Hotel

Address: Merulana 278, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic building just few minutes walking from the Colosseum and with views of the Basilica and piazza Santa Maria Maggiore, Hotel Amalfi is a familiar, charming 3-star hotel in the historic center of Rome that welcomes its guests with all the care and attention that a small hotel can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Amalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalfi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.